We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel with sleek design features” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Menlo Park
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“New hotel with sleek design features”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Enjoyed our crisp, clean and simply appointed room at the Holiday Inn. This Express seems to have everything from a lovely sheltered pool, small exercise room, sauna, business center and breakfast room WITH the ever-popular pancake machine! Even in the fall good rooms are hard to come by in Santa Cruz, so book early. One other piece of advice, if you want a quiet breakfast, you best get to the breakfast room very early to avoid having to sit at the cafe tables on the entrance driveway. That pancake machine is quite a draw!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Greg B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. Our hotel is driven by our guests so it is so important to hear about their experiences. I am happy to see that your stay was so good and got to see our world famous pancake machine. Nothing says good morning like instant hot pancakes.

I hope that when traveling again you visit us and stay impressed with what we have to offer our guests,

Sincerely,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    145
    29
    14
    14
See reviews for
150
99
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I was just up there with my sister a week ago on our annual sister trip. The hotel was right off the freeway, so pretty easy to find. Our room was clean and comfortable, too. Breakfast both mornings was great. I've stayed at a few places who do serve breakfast as part of your stay, but this place had the best, by far. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Katrina stands out for me, however. I'm a bit of an airhead, and discovered, 2 hrs into our trip home, that I'd forgotten something very important to me in the room. She went right upstairs to look for it, found it, and mailed it to me that day. I would definitely stay here again on our next trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
LernieB,

Thank you so much for saying we are the Best Place to Stay In Santa Cruz! That is really amazing feedback and I am so happy my team and our hotel could inspire such a rave review. It looks like simply everything at the hotel exceeded your expectations and that can not make us happier to hear. I have already shared your comments with our team and they were ecstatic to see about how things went.

Just wow, and thank you SO MUCH for staying with us and sharing about your visit. Come back soon we can't wait to have you visit again.

Yours,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Recently stayed one night here on our West Coast trip, very impressed with front desk staff I met on check in and out, very helpful and accommodating. The room was bright and airy overlooking the pool, the large room was clean and well furnished with modern TV. My high lite was the fact of it not only having a fitness room but a dry sauna and a steam shower room, which was clean and big it could use a few more hangers or a shelf but other wise it was great, not often you find a HIE with such amenities. Would definitely stay here again and I recommend it for anyone visiting Santa Cruz or like ourselves just passing through. Parking was also covered with easy in and out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Harry S,

Thank you so much for staying with us! Our fitness room and and it's amenities are really awesome. We keep it like brand new everyday so that it can be a small oasis to weary travelers or adults who need some alone time from the kids. I am glad you were so impressed with everything from the service to the amenities. I hope we will be your preferred hotel of choice in the future!

Stay impressed,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The front desk clerk (Katrina) who checked us in was very good. She told us where to park with larger parking spaces, gave us directions to the Boardwalk and Wharf. Also told us it was cheaper to park at the wharf instead of the boardwalk. The room was clean and modern. The hotel can be a little hard to spot as no big sign outside that can be really seen in advance as approaching the hotel. The sign in the parking lot can be blocked by a vehicle in the parking lot. The morning breakfast is okay. It is enough to get you going in the morning. You will need a car to get to the boardwalk and/ or wharf. Not much as far as attractions to walk to from hotel. Hotel located on a main st.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear jjones4180,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and share your experience. Our Guest Service team is truly amazing and has all the information any traveler could want about Santa Cruz and the surrounding areas. We love sharing about our town and how our central location is worthy of always staying with us. Thank you for choosing us and I hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you very much,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Joe Bomgren guest services: Excellent! Had a King Suite in minutes after leaving the Scotts Valley Hilton dissatisfied as they 'lost our reservation'. Very happy that we tried the Holiday Inn Express. Clean and conveniently located. 5 stars.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Ksavel,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am glad that my team could turn around a bad day for you and that you enjoyed our hotel so much. A great team always pays attention to details and insures that reservations are honored. I am sorry this was not done for you at your first choice but you will always stay smart when choosing any IHG brand hotel and stay impressed after you stay with us.

Come back and visit soon, we look forward to another winning experience.

Yours,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. We visited this hotel 2 years ago. And the fact that we chose this hotel again was because of the good service, the very clean rooms, the big complimentary breakfest and the space in the rooms. In 2 years nothing has changed and its still as good as it was. Breakfest here is one of the most luxurious complimentary breakfest I've ever had in hotels. And the staff who would taking care off breakfest weared even hairnets to protect the food from hair!

We had a reservation for a double queensize room but by arrival we decided to do an upgrade for a suite and this was not a problem at all.

The location of this hotel might be a disadvantage if you havent a car and like to go downtown.
But by car everything is possible.

Extra asset: this hotel had a heated pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear M R,

So happy to have you stay with us again. Stay impressed is not just a motto, it is our lifestyle and you can always count on that consistency from our team. I will be celebrating your experience with our team. I know that if there is anything you ever need in your Santa Cruz home you can count on us. See you again soon, and thank you so much for your feedback and taking the time to share.

Yours,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esparto, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

we were attending a family wedding. the hotel is not in the best location however we walked the area for dinner and felt quite safe. There are local coffee places, family restaurants, and a great ice cream shop. The hotel staff was amazing. We had scrambled to get ready for the wedding and left rooms in a disarray. We requested clean towels and new linen only. However the staff completely put our room back in order. It was a lovely surprise after a long day. Breakfast was good. Pool area was nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear cme51,

Thank you for the amazing comments! I am so excited to see that we not only met your needs but truly exceeded your expectations. We take our guests experiences personally and want to see everybody leave feeling smart and impressed with their choice and of course inspired by our service.

Our rooms are always clean, fresh, and created so you can be you. Come visit us again soon as you preferred hotel of choice in Santa Cruz.

Yours,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Address: 1410 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.