We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Courteous and Close to the Boardwalk.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clean, Courteous and Close to the Boardwalk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Chris was kind enough to change our reservation due to travel delays. Its located right off the freeway across from Denny's so keep your eyes open for it or you'll miss it. Beautiful blue walls, smiles and a busy holiday weekend greeted us at the entrance. Housekeeping was still cleaning when we arrived. The king suite was super clean, extra roomy with a comfortable bed. New pillows would be nice. We walked 1.7 miles to the boardwalk instead of fighting traffic and paying for parking. We were granted a late checkout and missed the breakfast, but the dining area was clean and spacious. Loved the garage parking. The price was a bit high because of the holiday, but our government discount helped cut some cost. We would stay here again. It was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear BoogleFace,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us. I am excited to share with our Guest Services team as well as they will be very pleased to hear they truly helped make your stay pleasant and welcoming. I hope that you will consider us as your premiere choice when in Santa Cruz as my entire team and myself appreciate your loyalty and time with us.

Yours,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    136
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
144
94
10
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is new and clean. Beds are comfortable, too. Breakfast is included in your rate. The only downside is if you want to be by the water it's about 2 miles away. Other than that a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Lisa81818,

Your feedback about your stay helps us to continue to improve our services and amenities and I thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We might not be on the water but our central location to "Everything Santa Cruz" is truly a benefit to all guests and I hope you were able to enjoy that during your visit. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon so you can stay impressed with every visit to Santa Cruz.

Regards,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, NC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is not hard to see at all... right on the main road off of Hwys. 1 & 17. The problem is that (at least when traveling north on Ocean) the sign is not visible at all, and before you know it you're in front of the next hotel (and by that time you have to go completely around the block because of medians and traffic). Once that was figured out, we had a great stay. Nicely decorated rooms and convenient location to get on the highway, only a couple miles to the boardwalk/ocean. Lots of restaurants on Ocean. Did not care for the breakfast (the OJ was watery), so we went to Denny's across the street. But would still stay again. Parking lot under building is VERY tight if you're driving anything but a compact. But doable.

Room Tip: Ocean St is busy and lots of people on the streets in SC... ask for a quiet room toward the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Huntersville,

I do apologize for the difficulty you might have encountered in our locations signage. The city of Santa Cruz values residential views for the entire town and thus limits brand new buildings like our own to signage height restrictions. I am glad to see that you would return to us again and that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you visit us again soon as your preferred choice in Santa Cruz hotels.

Thank you very much,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The location and the property were excellent. I was very impressed with the service of Andrew and Joe (tall guy on afternoon/evening shift). They both were very responsive to our needs. Andrew was also a master with the hotel computer, so checking in was fast. we will stay in this hotel again. The staff that took care of the "breakfast bar" really take pride in that task. I appreciate their promptness and service!! (5 stars for them).

Room Tip: "dipping pool" is just that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear hdcii,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback about your experience. It is great to see that our team is always going above and beyond to create great hotels guests love. Our breakfast is a great feature for guests of all tastes and preferences and I was excited to see you it enjoyed it so much. Congrats on the graduation and I hope that we see you still each summertime.

Yours,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was great. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. The breakfast staff was full of smiles, and the guy who mopped the floors did his job in such a diligent manner. Our housekeeper Maria Chavez was excellent. She did a great job cleaning our rooms and I was touch because my mother stayed in the handicap room and she was sleeping, I told Maria it was fine to clean, and she was so sweet in her demeanor and the efforts she made to do it quietly. The rooms where good and the location excellent. But by far the thing that impressed me most was the Manager Andrew. He went beyond to make sure that our family was so well taken care of. At the last minute we decide to throw together a party in the party room. Andrew made sure that all our needs were met and even supplied us with bottles of sparkling cider for our toast. He was attentive, charming, and always had a huge smile on his face, and no matter what we asked for (and we asked for a lot :) He was right on it. We even heard other guests in the hotel talking about Andrew. I recommend this hotel, but if you are coming for the graduation, the hotel sells out so expect some delays in checking in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear KelliC,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was impressed by the outreach of our service staff and truly touched with how much you enjoyed your time with us. This shows me that our team is on track with creating Great Hotels Guests Love. I do hope you consider us again for any of your needs while in Santa Cruz as your home away from home.

Yours,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were charged for a broken TV AFTER we reported it was broken when we first turned it on? We were not told we would be charged until a $400 bill showed up on our Visa statement the next month! Management has said there was nothing else we could have done to have avoided the unjustly charge. We were guilty right when we walked in our room.

Room Tip: Be sure you have management with you when you first walk into your room. This way management can wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Steve A,

Thank you for feedback and we apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused during your stay. It is a priority of ours to make every guests experience at the hotel and in their room a truly inspirational visit. Part of that is the inspection and inventory of guest room amenities before and after each stay in the room. This is comprised of checks for all electronics and furnishings.

A few things to share so there is a better understanding

- Your check in was at 254PM, you reported the issue at 8PM of that day
- You were charged for the in room damage the day of your departure
- Staff made no comment about charges as you reported at front desk and left the hotel for the evening

I do apologize that we are not able to meet at an agreement but we take numerous steps to ensure our rooms conditions and make it a very serious priority that any room reserved for other guests receive the same amazing amenities as the one previous. We do hope that the many communications with yourself and your family have created a better understanding.

Sincerely,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have always stayed across the street at the Hampton Inn (the Holiday Inn was only built a few years ago so we started at the Hampton). But it was graduation weekend and the Hampton was over charging, as was everyone, but the Holiday Inn was a little cheaper so we stayed there. A good move for us. We had one of the suites, for less than what the normal room at the Hampton charges (which is all suites as i recall). The room was well appointed and the bed comfortable. WIFI worked fine. The bathroom was average size. A little tight on the counterpace. Others in our group had a regular room. I would say it was a little small but they liked it. If the price is not that much difference, opt for the suite. Our room faced the street, but they put in good sound proofing as i barely noticed any sounds. The hotel was built only a few years ago so its new. Staff was great and helpful, especially given all the craziness and crowd for graduation. Requests and problems were handled as if we were the only guest. Breakfast we one of the best I have had at any of these types of hotels. Not only did it have a machine that made pancakes, but they changed the other hot food each day. So one day it was scrambled eggs and ham, and the other it was omelets (which given mass cooking were actually really good and not dried out etc) and bacon. The photos on the website are pretty accurate of what you get. We did not use the pool but it looked a little small and in an inside courtyard. So don’t pick this hotel if you are planning on having a pool side experience. Location for us was perfect. Easy access on and off the highway, short drive to UCSC, and a 15 minute walk into town. Overall, I would definitely stay here next time I am in Santa Cruz

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Greg B,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback about your stay and our service team. I was glad to see that you enjoyed our central location to all things Santa Cruz. I am glad that we were able to make you one of our newest loyal guests in our Santa Cruz family. I know there are many choices out there when choosing where to stay in Santa Cruz but I can see we were able to make this an inspirational visit for you and make that decision easy for when you come back to your coastal home away from home.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Address: 1410 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.