We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, good value, good location, clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
REDMOND
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good hotel, good value, good location, clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

this might be one of the best values in santa cruz. close to the highway, wifi, free breakfast, safe parking, all for about $100-110. rooms seem to be updated. parking was free and the staff was very friendly and helpful. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear EricS,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so pleased to see that your experience was so amazing. We truly appreciate our guests and the feedback they give as it is our number one way that we can continue to improve our team and make sure we are on track to insure superior guest experiences for everybody who stays with us. Thank you for your time and sharing with us and I look forward to having you back in the near future.

Yours,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    157
    36
    15
    17
See reviews for
168
107
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The rooms are really nice and comfortable. Really clean. Nice view and location. Nice and quiet (optimal for a good nights sleep). Awesome employees. I'm very satisfied. Think everyone should stay here if they want someplace nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear BritniD,

Thank you for such a truly impressive review of us. I personally appreciate you taking the time to share with us about your stay, our staff, and how you recommend any and all Santa Cruz travelers stay with us. I will share with my team your kind and thoughtful words as they will love seeing that our goal of 100% guest satisfaction and creating an inspiring experience was achieved and is on track for all of our guests. We all hope that you get the chance to return again as I have no doubt you will stay impressed with every visit to your home away from home here at the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Cruz. Come back soon!

Yours,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Room was clean and seemed recently remodeled / updated. Parking in the garage was easy and free of charge, unlike many other hotels in SC. Noise level from pool in courtyard was pretty constant and loud, but they have a strict policy about no parties or noise I think after 10pm. Easy access (by car) to downtown SC, highway 1 or 17, restaurants, gas, drug stores, etc. Only complaint is the TV channels were a pathetic selection of bad cable. Premium stations on the room channel card were blocked out or non-existant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear PacSW,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I do have exciting news for you about the only thing you mentioned you would like improved. Santa Cruz is converting to digital cable finally and we are one of the first in the entire area to add a whole new lineup of HD channels and channel listings. We are even looking forward to summer as we will then have the largest channel selection available in the Santa Cruz area. I hope that you will return and see the changes you mentioned as your opinion was so incredibly important to us. Please let us know when you are back in town so we can share these added amenities with you and setup a truly VIP experience.

Thank you very much,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I experienced same feeling with Mr Greg R who wrote "Decent Hotel... Bad GM".
What I did was that I told front desk water cannot go out from drain after I stopped shower off and I went out for about 3 hours. When I came back to hotel, I got 1,000 dollars bill for extra cleaning pay. GM Michael Meredith 1) said I didn't stop shower so water flood with no evidence. 2) showed me the picture only damaged room and gravel, dirt which cause drain problem. 3) said water flood cause adjacent rooms and setting off alarm system, then fire department respond and hotel evacuation. I explained I stopped shower and I didn't flow such a big amount of gravel, dirt but he didn't understand. What I disappointed was his attitude to me was very high-pressure,disrespectful, and despising.
If you stay this hotel, you need insurance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Kintaro23,

I am sorry you feel that way. Let me outline again why you were charged for yourself and our TripAdvisor community.

1) Washing mountain bike gear in your shower and creating a clogged drain with gravel, sand, and excessive dirt as shown to you through multiple photographs of varying angles.

2) Leaving your shower running and flooding your room, the hallway, and the floors below you causing thousands of dollars in property damage again showed to you in photographs of varying angles.

3) Disrupting our guests stays which are so very important to us by having city services dispatched due to your flood setting off building alarms.

We thank you for signing and agreeing to the damage when you were given photo evidence as even your bike tour leader agreed that you must pay. I am sorry you might think the steps we took to protect our property and MOST importantly all other guests that were staying at our hotel that were affected was not to your liking. I can assure you when issues like this arise we take them very seriously. If you have any other questions you may direct them to me and we look forward to your groups return next season as I am sure these issues can be avoided moving forward.

Creating Great Hotels Guests Love,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here with high school daughter as first stop on CA schools visit, particularly to see UC Santa Cruz. Staff was very helpful with directions and dinner recommendations, both downtown and on the pier. Pool is enclosed in center of building - good sun, little wind. Breakfast buffet was standard continental fair, with twist for things like waffles. Be careful pulling into and out-of underground garage - very steep, both ways!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear WiltonOak,

Thank you for sharing your experience! I hope that UCSC is now a top contender for your daughter and we might see you many more times. I was happy to see that our staff was so outgoing and attentive to your needs while visiting and exploring what might become a frequent destination spot for you and your family. We hope that when you come back to Santa Cruz you will always consider us your first choice for staying in our town. We would love to be your home away from home.

Thank you very much,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
van nuys
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

super clean super staff service from the front desk to house keeping what a team breakfast is excellent a staff is surely trained to to give the best service to there gaust I felt right at home this is my second stay and will return for much more highly recomendet

Room Tip: I prefferd 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Charlesb,

It is great to hear that our team is making all of your stays feel like your right at home. It means alot to us to earn our guests loyalty and I am so glad that we are your #1 preferred choice for Santa Cruz. Thank you for taking the time to review us and share how great your many visits have been to our hotel. We look forward to making sure everytime your in Santa Cruz you stay impressed with our service and team.

Sincerely,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Express in Santa Cruz in July of 2012. The location is ideal, just off the highway but still within walking distance of downtown.

The hotel had very helpful and friendly staff. The breakfast buffet was so-so, but all around the property is clean, new and well maintained. The parking is very tight in the garage.

There really isn't a lot of good clean hotel options that I could see in Santa Cruz, so this is probably one of the best picks overall.

The area is a little rough looking, so I don't know if I'd walk the streets at night - but during the day I didn't have any issues.

Its approx. a 25 minute stroll to downtown; which is very nice with its palmed lined streets, cafes, surfer shops and small artisan boutiques.

From the down town kiosk outside the old theatre you can take a trolley bus to the Santa Cruz beach board walk and pier. Well worth the small toll. Also , its well worth it to go and see the surfing from up top the hillside view "Lighthouse Field State Park" just north of the pier.

I'd also recommend the heritage train ride from the boardwalk which will take you through a Redwoods forest and into Henry Cowell Redwoods State park.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you 1Thetimetraveler!

I am glad to see you enjoyed not only our great little town but you experience at the hotel. Thank you for sharing how convienant everything was, how friendly our staff was, and how clean and well maintained we keep the property. Your feedback is our number one tool to continue to improve our guests experiences and let our team know they are doing an amazing job. I appreciate you taking the time to review us and I hope that you consuider us as your number one choice whenever you return to Santa Cruz again.

Yours,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.6 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#14 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Address: 1410 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.