We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay, handy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Burlington, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent Stay, handy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel was a standard holiday inn express experience. At least for us teh staff were a little brusque in checking us in but very efficient. We had to find the breakfast room on our own , no description as we checked in. Perhaps we were spoiled by how amazing the Solana Beach HIE staff were. The energy saving no electricity in the room without a room key is just annoying when you want to leave items charging.
The room was large and clean, the hotel was near enough to drive anywhere in Sc within minutes. The hotel had plenty parking which made driving within the city to get to places stress free.
The breakfast area was clean, well looked after and had all the wonderful features which make a great start to the day.
A decent hotel that was very handy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear JaneinMa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share yout stay. I am sorry to hear that we scored high on efficency but might have missed a little on your check in. We will use that as a tool to improve our team each day so that our guests can always be impressed. Additionally I apologize for any confusion about the great new energy efficent feature for each room as it is only for the overhead lighting and a/c-heating unit. Charging for phones and other traveling devices is available at all times. When you visit us again in Santa Cruz we will be more than happy to share in depth each great feature our travel and eco friendly amenties our room has.

Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed staying with us and remember you are like family now so come back and visit us again real soon!

Happy travels,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    143
    28
    14
    13
See reviews for
147
97
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

pretty much your standard Holiday Inn Express and has everything you would expect. We would have stayed again a second night but decided to get a bed and breakfast in Monterey on our way down to Big Sur as a day trip. If you arrive late as we did, none of the restaurants were open after 9 or 10pm but we were recommended the pizza place (sorry cant remember the name) and it was delicious!! The breakfast was good, filled us up and the room was spacious also clean. They had 2 PC's in the lobby which we used before checkout and they let us leave our car underground so we could walk around and get a coffee after we checked out before leaving on our road trip. No complaints! I recommended staying here! If I go back to Santa Cruz this will be my first choice for a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear drock5280,

Excellence and Simplicty! We love that and may I say you are simply excellent for taking the time to share your feedback. It is awesome to hear that we will be your hands down first choice when coming back to Santa Cruz. So I say to you, come back soon, come back often, and just say hello because we appreciate you so much for making us your number one that you will always be #1 to us. Your loyality, your time, and kind words inspire us as we continue to create Great Hotels Guests Love!

Looking forward to your return,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Santa Cruz Hollday Inn Express is a very competent inn. It is clean, staffed with a pleasant staff and quite comfortable. The rooms are sufficiently spacious and well appointed. The price is reasonable. It is virtually in downtown SC. Near numerous restaurants, it is a good choice for business or pleasure travel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear rossbacher,

You are speaking my language my friend, business and travel... whatever your are in Santa Cruz for we will make you feel swept away with meeting all your needs! Thank you so much for your gracious comments and taking the time to share with our community. Santa Cruz has so many things to see and do that our central location to downtown is definately a great option for corporate or leisure travel.

Our team wants that 5th and final star so come back and visit us soon so we can make another great stay for you and earn that "score of perfection" it would mean alot to us to make your travels that enjoyable.

Wishing great travels,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our way through California on our honeymoon. This hotel was clean, comfortable, and the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly! The location wasn't the greatest, but we only stayed the one night. I think good quality can always be expected at the Holiday Inn Expresses.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Turkette,

CONGRATULATIONS! We love newlyweds and we are so deeply honored you spent such a special time in your lives with us. I am so glad to see you had such an amazing stay with us and that you enjoyed our superstar team at the front desk. We understand that when traveling you want to feel relaxed, yourself, and impressed with your surrondings. Our team knows that while the hotel is beutifully decorated, spacious, and centrally located we are equally invested in your time in Santa Cruz. We love to share everything we know and I hope you got some of that local culture from our teams suggestions. Swing back through one time and let us know when you are back so we can make another inspirational stay for you!

Thanks again for taking the time to share, it means alot to my team and me personally.

Wishing you much married bliss,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I recently stayed here for two nights. I am a loyal HIE customer so I can say with some experience that the property, furnishings, decor, etc. are all very nice and on the upper tier of what Holiday Inn Express offers. However, my travel companion and I both had to resort to wearing earplugs at night. We could easily hear the people talking in the room next to us, we kept hearing a banging sound like a door or drawer opening and closing (and, no, it wasn't THAT), and in the morning we were greeted by lots of getting ready sounds in the rooms near us.

Our second night there, we arrived after dinner at about 10pm to find no available parking spaces that would fit anything other than a motorcycle or a Prius. Thanks to pillars and poor choices of how to stripe the garage, there was a number of largely useless spaces. We were grateful that the manager gave us (and another guest having the same issue) permission to park in spots normally off-limits.

To end on a positive note, the breakfast was fresh, tasty, and had a nice selection of hot items including scrambled eggs, omelettes, and pancakes. My travel companion is also now a huge fan of the cinnamon rolls. I would stay here again but would definitely wear earplugs every night and I'd try to rent a smaller car.

Room Tip: To reduce noise, ask for a room facing NOT facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear ToniPortland_OR,

I greatly appreciate that even with some issues you were able to have a great stay. In Santa Cruz we do have limited space due to our local geography but our team is always there to find creative ways to wow each guest. I am sorry to hear about the noise issue and as a loyal Holiday Inn Express guest I greatly appreciate your loyalty and taking the time to give your feedback. Please do contact me as i would love to discuss your last visit with us and create a VIP experience for you in the future.

We strive to have every guest leave feeling inspired and I would love to create a winning story for you and all your future stays with us here in Santa Cruz.

Thank you very much,
Michael Meredith
mmeredith@hiesantacruz.com
831-466-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night while we were passing through Santa Cruz. Upon arrival, we were required to sign a "no party" policy. The person checking us in, Andrew, said it was a bit out of the ordinary that they required this to be signed, but it would ensure us an "absolutely quiet night of rest". Well, that didn't happen.

We returned from dinner to tons of noise outside our window. We opened the curtains to find out the pool was literally 5 feet from our window!!! No wonder the curtains were closed when we first entered the room. There was a high school swimming team at the hotel while we were there and they were incredibly loud in the pool area. That all stopped around 10:30, but then all the other noises started.....slamming doors, toilets flushing, people running in the halls, etc. The walls are really thin, so you hear everything. We tried to turn the fan on for white noise, but there wasn't an option for it to run continuously it kept shutting on and off. It's ironic that they make you sign a noise policy when their own building isn't designed to be quiet. Why on earth would you put a pool that close to the rooms??? When I checked out, I was asked if everything was OK. I complained about the noise level and her response was "Oh, that's because we had a swim team staying here". That shouldn't matter, especially if you had them sign the same policy we had.

The rooms are large with big, modern bathrooms. That was a plus.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room AWAY from the pool. Most rooms face the pool and it's very, very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Morgan88,

I deeply apologize that this was your experience at out hotel, it is not typical to receive this complaint because we do take our guests satisfaction so seriously and especially wish for anybody staying with us to feel like they can be themselves at all times in a quiet, calm, and relaxing location like guests usually do during their time with us. Your experience is very valuable to me and my team and we will certainly be using it to improve our standard of excellence. Please contact me directly as I would like to discuss this with you further and help to correct this experience and offer my personal apologies.

Thank you very much,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
831-295-6001
mmeredith@hiesantacruz.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My two teens and I stayed here while attending a swim meet at UC Santa Cruz. Conveniently located near fwy, but quiet ( we were on the ground floor next to pool). Clean, newish rooms, granite bath counters, excellent heater, nice linens (soft & firm pillows), flat screen tv and roomy enough for 3 of us. Breakfast area was clean, and complimentary breakfast included omelette, biscuits,bacon, yogurt, cereals, muffins, fruit, and automated pancake maker. Not gourmet, but good enough to fill 2 hungry swimming teens and dining area was constantly being refilled with hot food because another swim team was staying here as well. Everyone was well- behaved because 1) they were tired at 6 am 2) they make you sign a no-party policy at the check in.

Hotel employee, Shannon was very helpful with our stay, and I would give her a ten for her kindness.

This is the third Holiday Inn Express that I've stayed at, and I feel that they give you a lot for your $. Improvement? Could use a mini- fridge( prob. not included because they are an Eco-conscious hotel) and a safe in the room.

I did not try them, but they had a small pool, sauna and fitness place.

Room Tip: I stayed on a ground floor next to pool. It was quiet, but it was also February !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Jennifer,

We certainly do strive to meet all of our guests needs, and I am glad that we were able to do that for you and your group. I hope that your time with us was memorable and that your family comes and visits us again soon. Thank you for taking the time to share with me your great experience and your suggestions for growth of our hotel. Your feedback is essential and I really appreciate you taking the time to share with us.

Thank you for the great note on our Guest Service team I will be sure to share with them as they will no doubt be super excited to see they made your stay great!

Cheers,
Michael Meredith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Address: 1410 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.