We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going that extra mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1410 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
LA, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Going that extra mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We've stayed here a number of times before. It is always clean, large rooms, great beds, TERRIFIC staff. This last time, husband left his jacket behind--when we called, they located it, and then shipped it to us. Astounding, service oriented place. Our place in Santa Cruz!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear canyonlady,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for continuing to stay in Santa Cruz any time you visit. You are very important to us. Please say hello on your next stay. :)

Best Regards,
Angelica Rivera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    152
    32
    14
    15
See reviews for
162
102
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Sea Ranch, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We made our second stay at this hotel in October 2011 (first stay in April 2010). Simply put, this hotel is the benchmark hotel in its class (moderately priced but modern hotels). Though located on a busy street, we've found the hotel to be very quiet and affording a great night's sleep. (We did have rooms on the interior courtyard, away from the street.) Modern and up to date, the hotel is clearly very energy efficient and affords all the expected amenities with class. I'm sure we will select this hotel on our next visit to Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Ashley25NorCal,

We are delighted that you stayed with us a second time. We do hope to be your number 1 choice for hotels in Santa Cruz. We will continue to strive to have a hotel that our guests LOVE and provide you with the best service in town. Thank you for taking the time to review us. If there is anything I can do for you, please contact me at 831.295.6001.
Regards,
Angelica Rivera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed only one night but we were very impressed and will return. The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast had quite a few items available. Excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Kathleen C,

I have shared your comments with our hotel team and we all want to thank you for writing about your experience. We stive for excellence and it sure feels good when you notice. :)
We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Angelica Rivera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

A very clean and attractive property just outside the downtown area. The lobby, rooms, service and breakfast food are all above average. The pricing is reasonable and it includes free parking. On a leisure visit to see family and visit the Santa Cruz area, our intent was to find a clean and comfortable room and we were impressed by this hotel. We asked for a quiet room away from Ocean Street and we had a perfect room on the first floor, far from any noise. The hotel sits back from Ocean Street and the landscaping hides it from view.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Writer48,

Thank you for sharing about your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad we were able to accommodate your requests for a quiet room and exceed your expectations! Thank you, I hope you stay with us again soon!

Best Wishes,

Angelica Rivera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Sept. 2011 - This two year old hotel looked new, smelled new and was extremely clean. We stayed in a King Executive room on the third floor. It was selected for us at the time of our reservation because of difficult sleeping issues. There was plenty of room and we could get fresh air by opening the windows 6 inches.

I am uncomfortable in hotels so I always clean when I arrive. There was no dust on anything. The bathroom was spotless - not even one hair anywhere. Carpets were dark but I could find no stains. The linens were fresh and stain free. We use our own pillows, but there was a choice of firm or soft. The furnishings were modern and new looking.

The breakfast had a large variety. The staff was friendly and quickly met each request
with efficiency and a smile.

The front desk person greeted us with a big smile and she even remembered my conversation with her when I made the reservation. Each of the desk clerks were ready to accommodate any needs we had.

Amy did an exceptional job with the reservation. When you have an employee that makes you, the employer, look really good it is rare. Better hang on to this employee.

See you next time we are in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear K M,

I want to thank you for taking the time to let others know about your experience. I got to share your comments with the entire team during our monthly team meeting earlier this month. I have to tell you, the entire housekeeping team was all smiles. They felt so proud! We also recognized Amy infront of the team for her great service. Thanks again for sharing your comments with us. It means the world to us! We hope to see you every time you visit Santa Cruz!
Best Regards,
Angelica Rivera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in September because my husband was participating in a race that weekend. The hotel was very clean and our room was clean and spacious. There is a pool and gym and covered free parking for guests. The hotel has free wi-fi as well. The continental breakfast was one of the best I've had, with hot eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, and freshly made pancakes!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Santa_Cruz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear jlyee,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing about your experience.
Feel free to stop by for breakfast next time you are in town! :)

Regards,
Angelica Rivera, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This place had one room left when we called for a day of reservation. It was a handycap accessable room, it was at the front of the hotel, no view which didn't matter to me, our view was a wall. But the doors there are so heavy that all night you could hear doors opening and slamming shut which made it difficult to fall asleep since I was waking up every 3 hours to feed my baby, and having to go back to sleep to slamming doors. I don't know if it was just because of our location or if it was that way throughout the hotel. The staff is very helpful, not horribly far from board walk if your driving. All in all a good stay I would just recommend a different room since we were right by where breakfast is heald so in the morning it could get kind of loud. I would recommend puting and mechanism to stop doors from loud slamming.

Room Tip: Dont get the room right next to the pop machines on bottom floor, it is a handycap room, nice a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz

Address: 1410 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can relish the comforts of home when you choose to stay at our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Santa Cruz. Our hotel's location offers easy access to the Boardwalk, picturesque beaches, towering redwoods and terrific shopping. Our new Santa Cruz, CA hotel is the perfect starting point for a trip to Northern California.Corporate guests appreciate our business amenities and the location of our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA. We are located near local businesses such as Plantronics, Santa Cruz County Offices and UC Santa Cruz. We offer free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center, so you can stay productive while you travel. You can enjoy a barefoot stroll along the beach, thrill rides at the historic Santa Cruz Boardwalk or a visit to the Surfing Museum because our Santa Cruz hotel's location is perfect for a California vacation. The family might love a ride on the Roaring Camp Railroad through the Redwood forest. It's easy to take a vineyard tour, indulge in shopping at the Capitola Village or take a stroll along the Santa Cruz wharf.Our hotel in Santa Cruz, CA has outstanding amenities like a well-equipped Fitness Center, a Sauna and a sparkling, outdoor pool and guest patio. Our contemporary rooms pamper you with HDTV and iPod docking stations. There's even a free, hot breakfast. Discover why we're the best choice among hotels in Santa Cruz, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Holiday Inn Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.