We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little Inn by the Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea and Sand Inn

Save Saved
You added Sea and Sand Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea and Sand Inn
201 W Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Olds Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cute little Inn by the Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a great stay and it's a cute little Inn as well. Very helpful and friendly Staff. A short walk to the Boardwalk and Amusement park on the beach.All the rooms have great views of the ocean.
We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    69
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
44
97
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Now this is oceanfront!! It doesn't look impressive from the front. As you enter to check-in - the office feels like a nod to the past. It is quaint and had a small room to the back that I eventually learned was used for the continental breakfast. Once you reach the back of the property - you realize why this is prime property. There are little tables and seating areas everywhere. Even though the King room was small - I felt like I had an entire outdoor living area. The property is walking distance to the Boardwalk as well as the trails for running and biking. Sea and Sand is properly maintained with a beautiful landscape. This is a very comfortable place to hang your hat. They are extremely busy during the summer months so book ahead of time!

Room Tip: I had requested an upper floor room but the first floor rooms walk right out to the "yard"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We enjoyed very much our overnight stay at this very carefully kept property with friendly service. All the rooms face the ocean and have a nice view. The garden is very nice with roses and a lot of flowers. There is plenty of room to sit outside and enjoy the area. Afternoon refreshments and a nice complimentary breakfast round up this very good accomodation option. The hotel is walking distance to downtown and close to the pier with good restaurants. We can recommend this hotel very much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This would have to be one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. Superbly located above Cowell Beach in the middle of Santa Cruz, it is a short walk to many of the town's amenities and at the beginning of the lovely West Cliff walk. The hotel is very pleasantly appointed and is extremely comfortable in a delightful, understated way. the bed was extremely comfortable and the other aspects of the room were thoughtfully applied. The afternoon tea and the morning breakfast at no cost made a great stay outstanding. Breakfast was varied and most filling and begs the question why other places cannot provide this when the rates at this hotel were so reasonable. The staff were most friendly and helpful and the hotel was very clean; the gardens were excellent too.
So all in all this would have to be one of the very best values for money we have ever had. truly brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We recently stayed here for one night on a last minute trip to Santa Cruz. We were really happy with our room which included a fireplace and a view of the ocean! We also had a patio, and we spent the evening drinking wine and enjoying the view. The boardwalk and many restaurants are in walking distance if you don't want to drive. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing stay by the bay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Small and simple motel style property with one of best views in Santa Cruz that is close to the beach, wharf, and boardwalk. I was pleasantly surprised because I had booked the least expensive room and I could sit on my bed and look at the beautiful view of the ocean! There was a common balcony but hardly anyone ever went by while I was there. Breakfast was simple: hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, bagels, etc. There are several lovely sitting areas on the patio and lower terraces where you can have breakfast and gaze at the view. I researched several places in Santa Cruz before settling on this place and after seeing the other ones, I was happy I'd picked this location. Suggestion: walk to The Picnic Basket on the main street along the beach (a short walk) and bring your lunch or dinner back to the hotel to enjoy on the terrace overlooking the beach.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were super excited about our room with a view but when we got there they did not give us the room with the fireplace and jacuzzi that i ordered. We were told it was booked and thats not what we had ordered which i knew what was ordered but never got a confirmation by email. I called to have one sent and who knows what happened in the meantime. Then my fiance went in the bathroom and the sink was broken. We called and they never fixed it just unplugged it for the night. The view is nice and you can enjoy the ocean but a heater furnace ran all night. Limited parking so we walked everywhere which was okay. We will not stay here again. Way to much money for the mistakes we endured.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea and Sand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea and Sand Inn

Address: 201 W Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ocean-front Sea & Sand Inn has always been popular with savvy out-of-towners, but a major renovation in 2009 has added a whole new “wow” factor. Three new luxury king spa rooms with ocean view balconies were added; two spacious family cottages with private hot tubs and three other spa rooms were also upgraded. All 22 rooms have a fantastic ocean front view of sparkling Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sea and Sand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea And Sand Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Sea And Sand
Sea And Sand Inn Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea and Sand Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;