We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea and Sand Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Sea and Sand Inn to your Saves list
Sea and Sand Inn
201 W Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
BERKELEY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a cottage suite, had a great hot tub, private deck, and fantastic views of the ocean. Took long walks along West Cliff, watched the crashing waves. Wonderful place, friendly staff, wine & cheese happy hour, and pleasant breakfast. Would give it a 5 star but the couch was one of the worst couches I have ever encountered, awful sagging mess.Loved hearing the crashing ocean all night.

Room Tip: get the private cottage suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    69
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
44
97
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed midweek in November. A great time to visit Santa Cruz (the Boardwalk will be closed midweek). Walking distance to lots of local restaurants. Excellent walking path/bike trail along the coast of Santa Cruz that was north of the Sea and Sand Inn.

Rooms were surprisingly quiet although the back was on West Cliff drive.

Free continental breakfast, free wine and cheese in the evening (good wine I may add). Nice places to sit at tables on the bluff of the beach. A good "base" for visits to Monterey too (about 40 minutes away). Much less expensive than staying in Monterey may add (almost half of the average price).

Room was spacious (we got the lowest price room). Bathrooms are really large in size (enough for a wheelchair if you need it). Wireless WiFi in all areas.

I highly recommend the Sea and Sand Inn and we will be back.

Room Tip: Bottom rooms have small patio. Top rooms (only 2 floors) have walkway in front but no sitting area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the he Sea and Sand Inn last week. It sits on a hill overlooking the ocean and has beautiful view of the water and the Santa Cruz Boardwalk, as well as a lovely area for you to eat your breakfast outside, weather permitting, and sit watching the birds and sunset. That said, some of the rooms are no better than those you would find at an older Motel. Be careful not to get stuck in one. Look at the room before you take the key. Do not take room 105 under any circumstances. It is right next to one of the large gates, and the maid's station. They leave their cart right in front of that door, talking and so on all morning. 107-109 and the second floor as well, are nicer rooms, newer and more attractive. The breakfast is continental, nothing to write home about but pleasant enough. I especially enjoyed the classical music first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are no better than those you would find at an older Motel. Be careful not to get s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

So many have written great reviews about this property and I don't want to be redundant, but when you find a place that makes you happy, you've just got to share the love! All of the staff were helpful and wonderful, especially Cecilia, who we found out has worked at the Sea and Sand for 21 years! She is a shining example of service with a smile. There were thoughtful little touches--a small note on our table to remind us to set our clocks back one hour before we went to bed (spring forward, fall back!) and gifts of salt water taffy. Yes, the full ocean views are incredible, as are the sunrises. Yes, there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance (the pier comes to mind--try Fire Fish), and you'll find a nice little binder in your room filled with what is happening in and around Santa Cruz in addition to restaurant choices. Yes, the rooms are on the small side but they are tastfully decorated and so very clean. If you forgot your hairdryer (I did), you'll find they supply one in a black bag in the closet! The rooms could use a little soundproofing, which would be my only gripe, but I almost feel bad saying that because our stay was just perfect at the Sea and Sand!! We will definitely return to this little gem.

Room Tip: If you crave an unobstructed ocean view, you can't go wrong with a second floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, South Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the Sea and Sand Inn in December of 2011 on Christmas Eve. We had flown into San Francisco and rented a car to drive down the Pacific Coast Highway. It had been a very long day and we only made it as far as Santa Cruz when we decided to stop for the night. We had not made any prior reservations and were being free spirits! I had read about the Sea and Sand Inn before coming to California and so I wanted to check it out. As it turned out, they had rooms available! When we checked in we were warmly greeted by Deeder who booked us into a room on the bottom floor of the hotel. I really don't like the bottom floor as I can almost always hear people walking above me.....this was no exception! I asked my husband to go and ask if we could be booked into another room on the top floor. When my husband returned, he had a huge smile on his face and said, "Wait 'til you see this!" He led me upstairs to a suite that had a fireplace, a private balcony and a whirlpool tub for two!! It was beautiful! I asked how much he had to pay for it and he said, "Nothing". Deeder had simply upgraded us and said, "Merry Christmas!" How wonderful!! I awoke in the morning to the sound of sea lions barking.......a fresh cup of coffee in my hand as I stared at the beautiful ocean on Christmas morning! I have been dreaming of the Sea and Sand Inn ever since!! We are hoping to be back this Christmas!

Room Tip: Absolutely pay a little extra for a suite....you will not be sorry!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed midweek. It was quiet on the beach and so we slept with the windows open listening to the waves. Pretty nice. I can imagine, on a noisy hot weekend, feeling like some previous reviewers, but it was a great last night in California for us. Loved it.

The place is right next to some pretty pricey bijoux hotels and it offers (free) evening wine and cheese and beachfront tables & chairs on the grass while they don't. Chatty front desk staff,, good sized rooms, clean and decent bathrooms. The only downside is a long (30 mins plus) walk to any restaurants above diner level.

We'd certainly return - at least off season.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We checked in at 2am when we got tired of looking for the perfect place to stay. Woke up to find that we were in the perfect place! Fabulous views across the bay, comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms, friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: All sea facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea and Sand Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea and Sand Inn

Address: 201 W Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ocean-front Sea & Sand Inn has always been popular with savvy out-of-towners, but a major renovation in 2009 has added a whole new “wow” factor. Three new luxury king spa rooms with ocean view balconies were added; two spacious family cottages with private hot tubs and three other spa rooms were also upgraded. All 22 rooms have a fantastic ocean front view of sparkling Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sea and Sand Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea And Sand Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Sea And Sand
Sea And Sand Inn Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea and Sand Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.