We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some things don't change” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Cruz Main Beach

Santa Cruz Main Beach
Along Beach St. west from San Lorenzo River, Santa Cruz, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 29 Attractions in Santa Cruz
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Beaches, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular beach, with killer waves, is known as one of the top surfing spots in the world.
Walnut Creek, Califonria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Some things don't change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Since 1981 neither Santa Cruz or Capitola city has had an antinudity statute, and attempts to pass them have been unsuccessful, so you may see a topless gal or two. The city cleans the beach and does a good job. You will get your fill of homeless soles and free music!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    38
    9
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's a beach”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Dirty, crowded, worst beach in County besides Boardwalk. No access to this filthy excuse of sea. At least it keeps the tourist away from OUR good beaches,

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always a great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Being born and raised in the SF Bay area, I've been visiting the beach boardwalk since I was a kid. Then as a teenager and into my 20's, made many trips with husband and friends. We always have a great time on Main Beach and find it to be clean and safe. Over Labor day, a few families got together for a picnic and everyone enjoyed the mid to high-70's, which is hard to get on the coast. Even the breeze was pleasant and not too windy for the umbrellas all over the beach. Our toddler enjoyed playing in the sand, which was free from debris and trash. There are trash cans placed well in every section and for the most part, people use them. By the end of the day; however, these cans were overflowing and the seagulls made a good mess carrying trash out of the cans. Throughout the day, the beach police made their presence, riding around to make sure it was safe, no alcohol, etc. This added a sense of relief knowing that they were around, especially with so many kids on the beach. Since I am reviewing the beach, I won't dwell too much on the traffic gridlock making our way out of town in the evening. But it is a small town and expected holiday weekend traffic. Overall, had a wonderful time and would return again and again!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumpton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“space and sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Liked: lots of room even in high season, short distance to many cafes bars and restaurants, nice clean sand and good views
Disliked: medium distance from parking places, hard to get a free volleyball court

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice large beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very crowded and a good place to people watch. If you like a cool day at the beach then this is the place to be. We did not go in the water - much too cold for us!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Cruz Main Beach also viewed

 

Been to Santa Cruz Main Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Cruz Main Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.