We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atrocious.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pacific Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Pacific Lodge to your Saves list
Ocean Pacific Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Atrocious.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Noisy. No AC. small, messy, crappy room. Nasty/drunk owner/ reception. NOT CHEAP! We stayed only long enough to find another hotel and beat feet out of there.

Would like to give this 0 stars but I don't see a way to do that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    108
    49
    26
    14
See reviews for
69
102
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

They really have done some work to improve this space and it is really cute. It made a big difference to us after looking for hours, and for the price my wife and I were really happy. Double heads in the updated shower. Great location. Within blocks of the boardwalk but kinda nice because its not right in the middle of everything and doesn't cost a fortune

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Basic Motel setting, nothing super special. Room was well worn, but clean and had a bit of an odor of disinfectant. Hot tub, and pool but we did not partake. Breakfast is danishes, and cereals, fruit etc and not super appealing. The location was amazing! Walked just a couple blocks to the Fisherman's Wharf and a couple more down is the Boardwalk.

Room Tip: Parking is limited if you arrive late, but the Clerk allowed us to park in the Check In area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading the reviews. I was pleasantly surprised.

I got into Santa Cruz early in the afternoon, probably 3 hours before normal check in. The gentleman at the front desk called housekeeping after I arrived, and he let me check in 2 hours early----which was great since I didn't want to keep wandering around until 4 pm.

The bed was clean and the room was very spacious. The TV seems a little dated, since they have not upgraded those to flatscreens yet. The rest of the furniture was OK.

The bed was very comfortable, although there was some noise from the adjacent rooms and the traffic outside.

The location is perfect. You are walking distance to the Boardwalk and the wharf. Hwy 1 is close, so you can take a day trip up to Pigeon Point or Half Moon Bay. There are some amazing beaches just north of Santa Cruz.

The room was sort of pricey, but it's competitive with other similar hotels in the area.

The wifi connection was sort of hit and miss------No luck in downloading a movie to my i-pad.

Overall a very good experience and an enjoyable 2 days in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

On our 10th day of vacation arriving from Monterey, we decided to stop for one night in Santa Cruz. Hotel is conceniently located, rooms are very clean and spacious, beds are super comfortable, walls are thick so we did not hear our neighbors at all and slept like babies. Breakfast is generous. Our first day was so pleasant that we decided to stay another night! Strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, CT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from Santa Cruz and a stay at the Ocean Pacific Lodge. It was chosen for its proximity to downtown Santa Cruz, the Boardwalk and the Wharf. It is an easy walk to the many stores and restaurants, and it is at the foot of beautiful West Cliff Drive, where you can see wonderful homes and views of the Pacific. We stayed on the second floor overlooking the pool. We had a lovely room, newly renovated and very clean. Our room was generally quiet, a bit noisier on the weekend, but not a bother. Even though some rooms are pet-friendly, we never heard a dog and only saw one all week. The breakfast was a terrific convenience and value, with make-your-own waffles, hot and cold cereals, croissants and pastries, plus yogurts and fruit you can put in your mini-fridge for lunch. We found the staff to be friendly, efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood,CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a couple times. This time we got a room with two king beds and it was 2 rooms, so was nice to have that extra room. The personnel seemed nice and accomodating, and the room was clean. It was also nice to have an extra couple sinks outside the bathroom when you have a whole family. The location is just a couple blocks from the boardwalk, close to the area where all the surfers go, and a few blocks from the downtown area, so we could walk almost everywhere. The breakfast was sufficient and seemed to have plenty of food, although I didn't see anyone restocking. The pool is nice but closes a bit early so we weren't able to use it much. All in all, it was a good value, and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Would probably ask for an upper floor just less parking lot and street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pacific Lodge

Address: 301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Pacific Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pacific Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Pacific Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Pacific Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.