We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pacific Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ocean Pacific Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Pacific Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Dortmund, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Much better than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there one night on my way through CA. Had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the street. The room itself was big, with fridge and coffee maker. There were a lot of good TV channels, although the TV itself was a bit outdated. Everything seemed clean and worked properly. I found the location good as well - it took me 5 to 7 min to the beach and about the same to downtown. The breakfast was ok as well - 2 kinds of juices (cranberry and orange), some pastries, bananas, waffle making station, bread, etc. They even have a breakfast room which was the first for me. Internet worked, even though they told me it was just enough to check e-mail (which is all i actually needed), i was able to watch a movie online! All in all, it is a very good deal for the price in the area, i would definitely stay here again. And if they change TVs, i'll give them 5 stars next time :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    96
    38
    26
    16
See reviews for
61
86
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soquel, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Ocean Pacific Lodge--which we've done many times before. We had a room with a king size bed. Everything was clean. Was Very impressed with the shower--a huge shower! (I'd love to have 1 at home!) Like the fact that the Motel is so close to the beach and the Boardwalk and restaurants. The staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: A room on the 2nd floor facing the pool is always night. The king size beds are always cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is the best hotel we have stayed in whilst looking for a home here. There is tons to do if you come on holiday and all the staff we have encountered have been very helpful indeed. The rooms are clean and there is maid service every day if you want it. If not you can just go and ask for a fresh towel or what ever you need. The pool is great too (they supply the towels)
The walls are a little thin but as there is a no noise policy after 10 pm and they make it work. Its nice to support a family -run business too. The parking is a bonus - its free.
We will be staying here again I see people complain about the noise here - all they had to do was call the night porter and he stops it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room smelled bad. Carpets were worn. The furniture was stained and beat up. The heater didn't have a grill and was full of debris/the knobs were clearly filthy.
When your neighbor showers, it sounds like a jet plane landing in the building. The walls are thin. (they do provide a set of ear plugs, though). Ha.
On the flip side, the girl that checked us in was friendly and patient until we requested to move after the first night because of the odor. She had a little melt down and said THIS IS THE LAST TIME...(our first and only request to move) I guess because the room had already been cleaned and she assumed they would have to clean again but we weren't even in our room all day so there was no need to clean again. Good location. Close to beach and boardwalk.

Room Tip: We looked at several rooms which is what you need to do. The 1st floor has lots of pets. The 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at Ocean Pacific Lodge on a road trip. We had a room with two queen sized beds. When we walked in, there was a faint smell of paint so it seemed the room had been recently updated. The room was clean and fairly roomy. The big thing was a very large shower with two shower heads. It looked new and was very nice. However, if you need a tub, there is none. The sink is outside the shower/toilet room. It seemed low, however. Otherwise the room was great.

My one big concern was the free breakfast being offered. It is held in a room at the back of the hotel. My concern is with sanitation. The bread is left in the bag so you reach in to grab what you want wondering whose hand had been in there before. Worse was the big peanut butter jar that people had to stick their hands in to get peanut butter from as it was nearly empty. I hope the management will make appropriate changes soon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Decent decor and room not too cramped. We had two small carry-on-sized suitcases, if we'd had two full-sized suitcases, I am not sure where we would have placed them. Microwave and refrigerator were great. Good TV channels (including HBO). Room service took care of our room well.

Noisy upstairs neighbors. Of the three nights we stayed there we were awake past 2 am due to an incredible amount of noise directly above us. It sounded like they were playing hop skotch above us. I wonder if this was one of the rooms with a hot tub and people were jumping in and out. Either way it was intolerable. Lots of sudden loud crashes that literally shook our walls and headboard. I was ready to cry from exhaustion and frustration after hours and hours of trying to sleep with no luck.

On day two we returned to our room after some outings and found that our keys were deactivated. Apparently the front desk checked us in for the incorrect number of days. We also had an issue with the Keurig coffee maker, it broke on our second day (wouldn't brew the entire mug and was spitting grounds into the cup). When we requested that it be replaced the front desk acted a bit put out. Nonetheless they said they'd replace it before the end of the day, and then failed to do so. Oh well, for the our last morning we took the weak coffee from the continental breakfast instead.

Breakfast is okay, not the stellar deal that I expected from some other reviewers. There was: make-your-own waffle station. Dry cereal, granola, oatmeal packets, bananas, fruit juice, coffee, toast, yogurt. That's it. And you need to get there before the last hour since they don't seem to re-stock. Our first day there we arrived to breakfast at 9:00 (it goes until 10:00). We'd been up until about 2:30 due to loud neighbors, so slept in. The waffle mix was out, the fruit was out, there were two yogurts left, etc. So arrive early if you want all of the breakfast selections.

Overall I'd say this could be an okay place to stay and a pretty good deal for the price, but only if you don't get someone loud above your room. What should have been a relaxing getaway turned into an exhausting weekend due to lack of sleep.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the top floor as that may minimize sounds traveling into your room at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our daughter goes to UC Santa Cruz and we have been staying at the Ocean Pacific Lodge since day 1....actually before...we stayed here during the "touring" colleges and now she will graduate in March 2013. The value has been great, the location...right next to the beach but also close to downtown. In the last year they have added: new bedding, plantation shutters, Keurig coffee makers and have repainted the entire location. They have always had: microwave, refrigerators and free wireless. We will miss the Ocean Pacific Lodge as our daughter leaves UCSC but we will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pacific Lodge

Address: 301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Pacific Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pacific Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Pacific Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Pacific Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.