We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pacific Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ocean Pacific Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Pacific Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is the best hotel we have stayed in whilst looking for a home here. There is tons to do if you come on holiday and all the staff we have encountered have been very helpful indeed. The rooms are clean and there is maid service every day if you want it. If not you can just go and ask for a fresh towel or what ever you need. The pool is great too (they supply the towels)
The walls are a little thin but as there is a no noise policy after 10 pm and they make it work. Its nice to support a family -run business too. The parking is a bonus - its free.
We will be staying here again I see people complain about the noise here - all they had to do was call the night porter and he stops it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    95
    41
    25
    14
See reviews for
61
90
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room smelled bad. Carpets were worn. The furniture was stained and beat up. The heater didn't have a grill and was full of debris/the knobs were clearly filthy.
When your neighbor showers, it sounds like a jet plane landing in the building. The walls are thin. (they do provide a set of ear plugs, though). Ha.
On the flip side, the girl that checked us in was friendly and patient until we requested to move after the first night because of the odor. She had a little melt down and said THIS IS THE LAST TIME...(our first and only request to move) I guess because the room had already been cleaned and she assumed they would have to clean again but we weren't even in our room all day so there was no need to clean again. Good location. Close to beach and boardwalk.

Room Tip: We looked at several rooms which is what you need to do. The 1st floor has lots of pets. The 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at Ocean Pacific Lodge on a road trip. We had a room with two queen sized beds. When we walked in, there was a faint smell of paint so it seemed the room had been recently updated. The room was clean and fairly roomy. The big thing was a very large shower with two shower heads. It looked new and was very nice. However, if you need a tub, there is none. The sink is outside the shower/toilet room. It seemed low, however. Otherwise the room was great.

My one big concern was the free breakfast being offered. It is held in a room at the back of the hotel. My concern is with sanitation. The bread is left in the bag so you reach in to grab what you want wondering whose hand had been in there before. Worse was the big peanut butter jar that people had to stick their hands in to get peanut butter from as it was nearly empty. I hope the management will make appropriate changes soon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Decent decor and room not too cramped. We had two small carry-on-sized suitcases, if we'd had two full-sized suitcases, I am not sure where we would have placed them. Microwave and refrigerator were great. Good TV channels (including HBO). Room service took care of our room well.

Noisy upstairs neighbors. Of the three nights we stayed there we were awake past 2 am due to an incredible amount of noise directly above us. It sounded like they were playing hop skotch above us. I wonder if this was one of the rooms with a hot tub and people were jumping in and out. Either way it was intolerable. Lots of sudden loud crashes that literally shook our walls and headboard. I was ready to cry from exhaustion and frustration after hours and hours of trying to sleep with no luck.

On day two we returned to our room after some outings and found that our keys were deactivated. Apparently the front desk checked us in for the incorrect number of days. We also had an issue with the Keurig coffee maker, it broke on our second day (wouldn't brew the entire mug and was spitting grounds into the cup). When we requested that it be replaced the front desk acted a bit put out. Nonetheless they said they'd replace it before the end of the day, and then failed to do so. Oh well, for the our last morning we took the weak coffee from the continental breakfast instead.

Breakfast is okay, not the stellar deal that I expected from some other reviewers. There was: make-your-own waffle station. Dry cereal, granola, oatmeal packets, bananas, fruit juice, coffee, toast, yogurt. That's it. And you need to get there before the last hour since they don't seem to re-stock. Our first day there we arrived to breakfast at 9:00 (it goes until 10:00). We'd been up until about 2:30 due to loud neighbors, so slept in. The waffle mix was out, the fruit was out, there were two yogurts left, etc. So arrive early if you want all of the breakfast selections.

Overall I'd say this could be an okay place to stay and a pretty good deal for the price, but only if you don't get someone loud above your room. What should have been a relaxing getaway turned into an exhausting weekend due to lack of sleep.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the top floor as that may minimize sounds traveling into your room at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our daughter goes to UC Santa Cruz and we have been staying at the Ocean Pacific Lodge since day 1....actually before...we stayed here during the "touring" colleges and now she will graduate in March 2013. The value has been great, the location...right next to the beach but also close to downtown. In the last year they have added: new bedding, plantation shutters, Keurig coffee makers and have repainted the entire location. They have always had: microwave, refrigerators and free wireless. We will miss the Ocean Pacific Lodge as our daughter leaves UCSC but we will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our daughter goes to school at UC Santa Cruz and for the last 4 1/2 years, we have been sampling the good and bad motel and hotels of Santa Cruz. Basically, the majority of the motels are old, tired and not maintained at all and we couldn't tell you of a good one. In addition, the families and owners actually think that run down tired old, rusty and dirty is the norm in the world. It would be nice if they got out and tried their competition in other major cities to see they are living in a alternate universe.

The OPL is somewhere in the middle but we are going to skip staying there again and just keep searching for a motel that just has someone who can communicate and resolve problems at its front desk, which this motel does not. Since our daughter will graduate in 2013, we will not have to worry about this for long.

The things the OPL has going for it was it was clean and the owners try to make it look up to date. with little things such as bed coverings, fresh paint and the exterior of the buildings are well maintained. However, that is where it ends. The beds are left overs from another era and you will not have a peaceful night. Their web site states free internet access. There is none and none is expected soon per the front desk.

The hot water was the key issue with our trip, there was none in the shower. There was in the sinks. This is the odd thing.

There was a bit hotter than medium hot and then all of a sudden went to icy cold in the middle of a shower. Oh that was thrilling. When I spoke to the gentleman at the front desk and asked for a discount for there being no hot water in the shower plus the water changing in the middle of the shower, he said the owners do not allow him to change rates. He then stared at me. Verbal communication was not his strong suit. This is another issue at the OPL. If you have an issue, there is no one to take care of it except a "care taker" who is more of less just sitting at the desk to take credit cards and check you in. I gave him my business card and asked for someone to call me about this issue and I am still waiting.

We will skip this place on our next visit to Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Don't count on hot water for your shower and there is NO INTERNET as stated on the OPL web site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel, because it claimed to have wireless internet, breakfast, etc.. I just needed a place to crash as I was on a quick business trip. Their website lies! There is no wireless internet! When I spoke to the front desk manager he said it was down, I asked for how long, he chuckled back "forever". He didn't seem to like it there too much. There were fruit flies in the room, the room also smelled like rotten pickle juice every time I turned the ac/heater unit on and the muffins at the breakfast were disgusting (completely stale).

I would stay here again, but only in a Santa Cruz LAST RESORT situation. The beds were comfortable and parking was very convenient. The young woman who checked me in was friendly, however I don't know how they manage working in that office- it wreaks w/ that rotten pickle juice smell.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pacific Lodge

Address: 301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Pacific Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ocean Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pacific Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Pacific Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Pacific Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.