We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pacific Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Pacific Lodge to your Saves list
Ocean Pacific Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Corte Madera, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Within walking distance from shops, the boardwalk and the wharf. I had what was probably the noisiest room, since I was on the corner next to the round about and for me, it wasn't as bad as other "quiet" hotels have been. Nice room and decent breakfast. Ended up as a solo trip so I ended up going for lots of walks, which is a good way to learn about the area.

Room Tip: Look online for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybear_4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This place is fab. We booked on the day and got 50% off the rack rate. Easy parking. Cheap DIY laundry facility. Decent breakfast - they have a waffle iron (not my thing but cool if you like making waffles!) and loads of syrup to go with it. Easy walk to the wharf and the boardwalk. And super efficient and helpful reception staff. Also, they let us keep our car parked on site until 3pm (4 hours after check out). That was helpful because the Cool Water Classic was on and parking was a bit tight in the township.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank streetfighter1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

my title says it all: its a good hotel if you want to spend some time with your friends or family. We came by car, had a good parking space and the rooms were ready. Only the water in the whirlpool was brownish, so not that recommendable. But since its close to the ocean (5min walk) its worth the money spent - i would go there again.

Stayed November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Raphael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in early October 2012. Our room was upgraded to 2 King bed room which ended up being 2 seperate rooms which worked out very well. All for the same price. It is very close to the Boardwalk. Accomodations and staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marjorie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The room was clean and big enough with basic amenities. Walls were a bit thin, though we were prepared for that as this is a lodge. The breakfast got the day started. Nothing special, except the waffles that were a nice addition. A big minus for me was that the WLAN did not work. After 1-2 minutes it stopped functioning claiming that I had used P2P applications, which was not true. The reception was not able to assist me, but I did hear that many other visitors had had problems with the connection, too. Yet the issues remain unfixed. If I wouldn't have really needed a functioning WLAN, my rating would be 4 out of 5. Tip: Found the cheapest offer from their webpage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J00nas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed one night in Santa Cruz and I am very happy with our stay. We had a newly renovated room and for the price, we were very happy with the quality of the room. Excellent value for the accommodations. I would recommend that you ask for a room away from the breakfast room because it was a little loud in the early morning. The front desk staff was very nice and the breakfast was good for it being included. Overall, we were very happy with our room and would plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the breaskfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincy45209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, Ca
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Ocean Pacific Lodge has a simple but attractive lobby with a beachy, Woody surf wagon themed mural & pictures . The office staff was friendly and efficient. There is a PC in the lobby but we didn't use it. Most of the parking spaces in the lot are quite narrow but there are a few wider spaces.

The breakfast room is next to the pool area. It's fairly large space with plenty of room to get food without running into other people. The food was fairly basic but the bread was better quality than at most basic continental breakfasts. There were 3 types of Orowheat bread instead of the usual generic white/brown bread. On Sunday morning, when there were a lot of kids eating breakfast, there was a lineup for the 2 make your own waffle machines.

The rooms are being renovated a few at a time. We walked by some rooms that still had blond wood furniture and old style TVs but all the rooms seemed to have updated bedding.

Our renovated room was on the 3rd floor and we didn't have any problem with noise. We were expecting a standard room with 2 beds but ended up in a unit with 2 rooms with a king bed in each room.. In addition to the bed, the front room had a chair, dresser, microwave and refrigerator. The dresser had 3 drawers but they were very shallow and wouldn't store much. The 2nd room, with cathedral ceilings, had a table with a desk chair and a closet. Both rooms had large Panasonic flat screen TVs mounted on the wall.

There was a full bathroom with a good amount of counter space and an additional vanity/sink area across from the bathroom between the two main rooms. The bathroom fan was very loud but there was a switch to turn it off when it wasn't needed.

The refrigerator, with a small separate freezer, was larger than the ones in most hotels . It was turned off when we checked in. It was hard to see the temperature control markings so we accidentally turned it up all the way. It froze everything in the fridge. After we turned it down, the fridge cycled on & off a lot & we realized how loud it was.

Wi-Fi in our room was ok in the afternoon and kind of slow in the evening. The air conditioner was fairly loud but it did a good job of cooling down the room. We didn't need it at night. The rooms had white shutters on the windows instead of curtains or blinds. The drinking glasses were actually glass (rather than plastic cups) and there were also 2 glass wine glasses, which was a pleasant surprise. The beds were ok.

Direct TV was the cable provider for the TVs. There were no instructions for using the TV. We are unfamiliar with Direct TV and had some initial problems finding the programs we wanted but we figured out how to use the onscreen guide. There were a lot of TV channels available & the hotel did provide a list of channels in each room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.7 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#24 of 54 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.3 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.2 mi away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pacific Lodge

Address: 301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Pacific Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pacific Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Pacific Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing