We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in a renovated room...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Pacific Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Pacific Lodge to your Saves list
Ocean Pacific Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Benicia, Ca
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“We stayed in a renovated room...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Ocean Pacific Lodge has a simple but attractive lobby with a beachy, Woody surf wagon themed mural & pictures . The office staff was friendly and efficient. There is a PC in the lobby but we didn't use it. Most of the parking spaces in the lot are quite narrow but there are a few wider spaces.

The breakfast room is next to the pool area. It's fairly large space with plenty of room to get food without running into other people. The food was fairly basic but the bread was better quality than at most basic continental breakfasts. There were 3 types of Orowheat bread instead of the usual generic white/brown bread. On Sunday morning, when there were a lot of kids eating breakfast, there was a lineup for the 2 make your own waffle machines.

The rooms are being renovated a few at a time. We walked by some rooms that still had blond wood furniture and old style TVs but all the rooms seemed to have updated bedding.

Our renovated room was on the 3rd floor and we didn't have any problem with noise. We were expecting a standard room with 2 beds but ended up in a unit with 2 rooms with a king bed in each room.. In addition to the bed, the front room had a chair, dresser, microwave and refrigerator. The dresser had 3 drawers but they were very shallow and wouldn't store much. The 2nd room, with cathedral ceilings, had a table with a desk chair and a closet. Both rooms had large Panasonic flat screen TVs mounted on the wall.

There was a full bathroom with a good amount of counter space and an additional vanity/sink area across from the bathroom between the two main rooms. The bathroom fan was very loud but there was a switch to turn it off when it wasn't needed.

The refrigerator, with a small separate freezer, was larger than the ones in most hotels . It was turned off when we checked in. It was hard to see the temperature control markings so we accidentally turned it up all the way. It froze everything in the fridge. After we turned it down, the fridge cycled on & off a lot & we realized how loud it was.

Wi-Fi in our room was ok in the afternoon and kind of slow in the evening. The air conditioner was fairly loud but it did a good job of cooling down the room. We didn't need it at night. The rooms had white shutters on the windows instead of curtains or blinds. The drinking glasses were actually glass (rather than plastic cups) and there were also 2 glass wine glasses, which was a pleasant surprise. The beds were ok.

Direct TV was the cable provider for the TVs. There were no instructions for using the TV. We are unfamiliar with Direct TV and had some initial problems finding the programs we wanted but we figured out how to use the onscreen guide. There were a lot of TV channels available & the hotel did provide a list of channels in each room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    107
    49
    26
    14
See reviews for
69
101
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I booked a 2-double suite & was upgraded to a 2 KING suite! Very nice!
The guy @ the desk was courteous & helpful
The place is "older" and is being upgraded (front doors all blue-taped & ready for paint). Some of the upgrades are not good quality, skimping on the details (like in the bathroom; check out where the shower rod attaches to the wall & peeling wallpaper corners...the little things).
The bathroom has been re-done but still has an OLD, stained tub but i can forgive that because of the 4 hotels we stayed at over 4 nights, this had the BEST water-pressure.
Decent breakfast, not the best but it's included.
You're only a block or so from the beach... a nice walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here midweek where it was excellent value ($89). Our room was newly renovated and was beautiful. The shower was huge and had two heads which was the highlight!!

The breakfast was very extensive with everything from oatmeal and granola to waffles and pastries!!

It's only 5 mins walk to the wharf or downtown. But we were there for surfing and next time we would probably position in pleasure point, but if ever in Santa cruz again we'd only stay here!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have had wildly divergent experiences staying in the Santa Cruz area and have generally found that for a mid-range hotel, the farther you are from the Boardwalk, the better the experience. However, since we were only going to spend one night on a quick jaunt to Santa Cruz to go to the Boardwalk, I decided to try a hotel within easy walking distance.
This hotel fits the bill perfectly. It's extremely conveniently located near the Wharf, which is on the West side of the Boardwalk, near the Cocoanut Grove and arcade area. As has been stated, it has no view, but we saved $250/night by not staying in a location with a view.
Check in was extremely quick, gracious, and helpful. Peter at the front desk gave us a choice of floor, either 1 or 2, and we chose the first floor. We were given a room next to the pool gate. Since this slams loudly, we were relieved that the pool closed at 9, and that was strictly enforced. Our requested room configuration was for two queen beds, and we found them to be comfortable. The room was immaculately clean, though there is wear and tear (scuff marks, chipped off paint on the trim) but I expect that in an area that gets a lot of use. The room had the sink externally to the bathroom/shower (with tub), that makes it convenient, but since the room was small, it was like brushing your teeth in the bedroom rather than a bath. We were amused by this, and it wasn't a huge issue. The closet was sufficient to put the single suitcase we had, there were hangers, and plenty of bath towels for our family of four - we didn't have to hunt down extra linens. Extra pillows were also in the room. There was a good sized mini fridge and a microwave, a coffee maker with K-cups, along with a small table and chair. There were some drawers for storage of clothing. DirectTV is provided for the room's flat screen TV.
The room is very small, but we were there for one night and this is not a 4 star resort where you expect a lot of floor space, so I mention it, but I'm not complaining.
I mentioned service, and Peter, for a reason. When we checked in, we were greeted as though he was very happy to have us as guests, and he made it clear that he was available for questions or assistance. This was evident when we returned from a stroll along the Boardwalk in the evening and all the power was out in the hotel. I stopped in the lobby to see what was up, and he handed us candles, matches, and had a box of snacks he encouraged us to dig into (cookies, crackers, popcorn). He apologized profusely and explained he'd been told the power would be back on at 10-10:30. It was back on within 15 minutes, but it was clear that the comfort of the guests was foremost on his mind. We needed additional shampoo, and he delivered it promptly once he had the power issue dealt with.
The rooms are somewhat noisy, in that you can hear guests above you as well as through the connecting door, as well as plumbing. Fortunately, the folks above us went to bed early and were either extremely quiet in the morning or were not up yet. The guests next door were unfortunately up late and talking, and somehow also managed to get up early. Remember, for some folks, this is a party town, and you cannot pick your neighbors. The hotel clearly knows the limitations of the building and the lack of soundproofing, and provides earplugs for guest comfort.
Other amenities include a pool, with what appears to be a chair lift for wheelchair-bound guests. The pool area was clean, the pool itself was refreshing, and there were towels available at the lobby. There is a continental breakfast in the morning, in a pleasant large room. Pickings were slim when we first got there in the morning, but a cheerful staffer restocked the muffins and yogurt, and we were fine. There is a waffle maker, juice, coffee, packaged oatmeal, cereal, bread and a toaster, as well as yogurt, so you can get off to a good start.
We were also told that we could move our car to an adjacent business parking lot for the next day, when we were planning on spending the day at the Boardwalk, so that we could park for free with a pass the hotel would provide. I found that to be a nice offer, and another plus for this property.
I consider this quite a find. I really liked the attentiveness and it was clear to me that they genuinely appreciate their guests. I have found so many properties in desirable locations tend to take their guests for granted, so this is notable. I would stay here again, knowing exactly what it is and what we'd be getting.

Room Tip: First floor - pet friendly - do not choose if you have allergies. Best floor if you don't. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I did not have the experience that the other two prior reviewers did. We stayed in room 105 and it was very clean. Actually the hotel has done renovations since our last stay (we've gone to this hotel now 4 times in 6 years) - new paint, new bedding etc and it does make a difference. Yes, it is loud at times if someone was above you - but it's an older hotel. This is not your apartment. We brought our two terriers and for $30 a day - it's the cheapest pet fee around S.C. that is in a decent hotel. The start of the board walk and pier is 3 blocks away, so I don't get the review about everything is "far." It was totally worth the stay and we plan on staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just remember if you get a room on the second floor the rooms above have spas in them and there is no insulation We stayed for 2 nights and both nights I had to ring reception because the upstairs people were having a spa after the cut off time of 10.00pm which I might add is way too late for us weary travellers.Santa Monica has lost its mojo the place itself is old and full of homeless beggers The hotel was OK as hotels go but it is still a walk to anything.Breaky was standard plastic as per most these days nothing jumped out about our stay so consider your options

Room Tip: do not get 2 floor eg rooms starting with 201 noisy spas above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

After reading all these great reviews we decided to give it a shot this past weekend when we had an opportunity to spend a Friday night down there. Well, you know you're in for trouble when you find earplugs on the bedside table. I only wish I had found them the night we checked in and not the next morning but more on that in a second.

We're familiar with the area and knew what a great location it is but that didn't make up for the fact that the room (114) was downright dirty with black marks on and around the doors and doorhandles and badly in need of renovation, also right next to the hot tub and an adjoining room with the thinnest walls ever. We got in around 9pm and tried to put the kids to bed right away but even though I requested a crib on our reservation, the hotel staff informed us there was only one crib for the entire hotel. What? That's a joke. Santa Cruz is a family friendly town and so is this hotel. One crib for how many rooms? So we made do with some extra pillows instead. Unfortunately, the location of the room right by the hot tub meant we had to deal with people yelling over the sound of the jets until the hours for the pool were over (10pm). Then, we got to listen to the people upstairs and all around us pounding around above us, taking showers (it seemed as though every pipe in the building ran right behind the headboards of our beds) and late comers at 2am felt free to giggle and act crazy for another hour outside of their rooms on one of the floors above us. Everything echos in that little courtyard. And obviously they know about this problem since they put out one set of earplugs on the bedside table. I just wish in our haste to get the kids to sleep we had seen those and been able to use them! Also, I should mention that the beds were uncomfortable. They seemed really thin and I could feel the springs. Probably none of these things would have made me write this review on their own but in combination I felt like it was worthy of a "steer clear" kind of piece.

The absolute only positive thing I can comment on is the service. The guy at the desk was super friendly and very apologetic about the lack of a crib and delivered the extra pillows promptly.

The bottom line is that when you're paying close to 200 for the room you expect to get a decent night's sleep. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless we could be guaranteed a third floor room facing the street to minimize any of the other room, courtyard and pool noise.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms are super noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pacific Lodge

Address: 301 Pacific Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Pacific Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pacific Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Pacific Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Pacific Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.