We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LOVE THE DREAM INN!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exploration Vacation
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WE LOVE THE DREAM INN!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

My husband and I have been staying at the Dream Inn since college (1986). We have vacationed ther since i was pregnant with my youngest. We are so impressed with the new management. The location is perfect. Try Rivas on the pier for the best calamari ever tasted!!! Cant wait to return...our son has a college football game in the area in September..we'll be there again... great place for babies and toddlers...perfect for HS and college kids! Get a room at pool level.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    287
    98
    18
    26
See reviews for
328
371
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
silicon valley, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Wow. Stayed at the Dream Inn for my boyfriend's birthday and it really was a dream. From the moment we arrived and were greeted outside the hotel to the moment we sadly had to leave, it was fabulous. AWESOME location - right on the beach in santa cruz very close to the pier and beach boardwalk. Our room had a balcony, which I think all rooms have, and the view was breathtaking. Very clean rooms and I loved the bathroom with the risen, tiled shower and glass shower doors. Rooms are bigger than you average hotel with all the amenities, except our didn't have microwave or fridge. The pool is really nice - they keep it heated well, and there's a snackbar/ cabana by the pool with music playing until around 7pm everyday. Didn't try the hot tub but looked nice. Private beach access from the pool area. I would recommend getting on the highest floor you can - the view is much better, and the bottom floor hallways are very dark (which you have to walk through to get to the pool). A bit pricey, but for the view and pool, and location, it's worth it. I can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I loved the quirky decor. It fit right in with Santa Cruz all around. The room was big and clean and the staff were very helpful. The location was perfect. With a private balcony overlooking the beach, I left the door open so I could sleep to the sound of the waves on the beach and wake to the 'barking' of the seal lions on the wharf. I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billyar
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This Hotel simply has everything required for a very good hotel: Service, Location, Food, Style and Comfort. It would be nearly impossible not to have a good experience here.

Located on a broad beach, between the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Pier and the Bluffs each room has a postcard view of all. Surfers, Sea Lions and all manner of swimmers and aquatic toys populate the water. One can easily walk to the pier or Boardwalk, or go the other direction for a 2 mile stroll along dramatic ocean cliffs and past two parks and one Lighthouse. Think the La Jolla shores walk with a much more eclectic crowd. Downtown is just over the hill past the great old homes.

The service was astonishingly good. I mean really, really good. We were there for 3 days on the weekend and had valet parking (complimentary), food service at the pool and in the room and ate at the restaurant several times. In addition we had a room change. Everything was done perfectly and the staff were relaxed but uniformly cheerful and efficient. I love places like this that just put one in a good frame of mind.

The rooms are modern and very well designed and decorated; just do not come expecting traditional. This hotel was constructed in 1964 and the tower added in 1970 The decor is very well considered and fits with the setting and era of the hotel. Instead of fighting with the bones of the hotel, it embraced it and the result is comfortable and great to look at. Snaps to the Designers, this place is unique, not just another W overlay.

Flat screen TV with loads of channels, good hook ups, wireless internet, good linen and robes. Small but modern and very functional bath, I Home radio and a brilliant coffee maker. Plenty of places to store things. Newspapers were available at the front desk. And a small fridge was provided. Nothing was missing.

Each room has balcony with two chairs and a table and a perfect view of the Pier, Boardwalk and the Bluffs. Bring your binoculars. And have breakfast there.

The Restaurant was a surprise; it was exceptional for a hotel and the prices were fair. Good Local wines and innovative food. Try the sliders and happy hour drinks in the bar if you are on a budget. I like the hanger steak in the dining room. They have a pastry chef and all the desserts rock. Same for the great view. Room service food was way above average as well.

The salt water pool was busy and noisy, but pool service was fine.And it looked good with high quality furniture and orange umbrellas. It is quite a mix of families, hipsters, party types etc. Much like Santa Cruz itself. I would recommend staying away from poolside rooms if you are bothered by noise.

I think the rooms are a great value and there is no resort fee, or valet fee, or internet fee. Just the rate quoted and I very much appreciate that.

There is no fitness center, but it is easy to get plenty of exercise outside the hotel. Be sure to visit the redwoods in the hills and take a bike ride around town.

I would have loved this hotel just for the view, location, hip design and great food. But the friendly attitude backed up with real concern for customer satisfaction puts the Dream Inn over the top.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Our family of five decided to take a quick overnight to Santa Cruz, we live in San Luis Obispo, and choose the Dream inn because of previous reviews. It did not disappoint. The rooms were quirky and fun, extremely clean and had great beds. ONLY downfall was that our 3rd child had to sleep on the floor, because the rooms with two queen beds are not equipped to handle a roll-away. Other then that it was great.
Best location if you want beach and boardwalk access. Pool is small but the kids loved it, poolside drink service was appreciated by the adults, and the restaurant was a bit pricey, but delicious food!!! SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT. Sean C. Showed us the room before we signed on, gave us all the options available to us, with our 5 people, and gave us recommendations for dinning. Every time we walked by the desk, they called us by Name!!!
Yes, the hotel is an older hotel, but it has been redecorated wonderfully. LOVED the little touches, like green tea infused scent in the air as you walk the halls!!!! Krups coffee in the rooms, reasonably priced mini bar items and nice robes and great FREE valet parking_ VERY valuable in Santa Cruz :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

I should preface my remarks by saying that I prefer traditional decor. This hotel seemed like an old, rather ordinary hotel that someone had tried to rejuvenate by redecorating in a 1965 pop culture theme, including brightly colored plastic chairs and light fixtures that bordered on silly. Our suite had what looked like an old orange sofa from someone's dorm room, with frayed upholstery. The balconies have a beautiful view, but are really too small and too plain concrete to really enjoy a meal out there. Overall, it was expensive and not a good value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We went for one night (we live nearby) and stayed in a "poolside" room. This made it easy for the kids to skip down to the pool, and for us to enjoy the great views, setting up our little outdoor table by the railing so we could watch them swim. The pool is a bit small, but it is heated to a very warm temperature. the kids swam until 9:30 at night.
This hotel was renovated recently and its great. It looks out over the Santa Cruz portion of Monterey Bay, with the Wharf and the boardwalk featured prominently in the view. They are walking distance. The best walk though, is the other direction towards Lighthouse point. Its a great place to walk, jog, or ride bikes.
Watch for foggy weather in July and August.
Since we had young children we did not go to the restaurant, but it looks beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. We're getting ready to make a splash. Our beachfront pool area will be closed for renovation from December 1, 2014 through March 12, 2015. We look forward to reopening with upgraded amenities and design, plus a hot tub more luxurious than ever before-all steps from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Groupon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.