We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE place to stay in Santa Cruz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is THE place to stay in Santa Cruz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

This ia a fun and funky (in a good way) place. The decor is very 70's w/ lots of bright colors and geometric designs - but it's all new and clean and very well done. My 13 year old loved the retro look. And the location is perfect. Right on the beach. All rooms have an ocean view. You can hear the waves crashing at night - even with the sliders closed. If you turn left out of the hotel there is a great 5 mile (out and back to state park) running path along the ocean. You can walk to downtown in 10 minutes. The staff was great. The gave us a late check out with no problem and after we did check out they offered a key to the pool/hot tub deck for the rest of the day and said we could keep our car in the parking lot for the rest of the day too. We didn't even have to ask.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    260
    88
    16
    26
See reviews for
305
341
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed at The Dream Inn on a recommendation from a friend. I was hesitant because another friend told me that hotels near the boardwalk were kind of seedy and not very nice. We went ahead and tried this hotel. I called ahead of time and told them it was for my son's birthday. The ended up having a birthday card for him at check in, then brought us milk and cookie turn down service. They gave us room 106, which is right near the pool, but you are still 20' above the beach, so have great view. I highly recommend 1st floor if you are going to use the pool. They even gave us some goggles when I asked since I forgot to bring my boys' goggles with us. They were new and not great, but worked regardless.

The hotel was very clean inside, nice decor with coffee maker, fridge, etc. It literally takes 5 minutes to walk to pier. The only place we ate there was Riva's and the food was fair, but the gelato is excellent. Then the boardwalk is about a 7 minute walk. We went whale watching with Stagnaro's and they were great and professional. We saw 3 whales even though end of season, sea otters and sea lions galore. A friend took us to an ice cream place called Marianne's, which has been around for about 50 yrs and was really good, but can't remember the street it was on, but worth the find. It was like an old 50s diner. We ate at Woodstock pizza one night too, which was really good. They have a fire pit outside you can sit and eat near, which was nice because it was cool out. Also, the breakfast we ate at Aquarius at the hotel was really really good, so would recommend them too. We ate another day on Pacific at Zachary's, which was great also. The Roaring Camp train in Felton is worth the short drive for the kids, so check out their website too.

I had never been to Santa Cruz and yes there are homeless people and a lot of beggars, but we still enjoyed visiting the ocean and just relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorba linda ca
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

The Dream Inn is a delightful hotel right on the beach. It is decorated with an ultra modern decor, so it is not cozy. However, the rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. We paid extra for a room with high ceilings and large window. This made the room feel larger, but the only problem is that the light streams in as the sun rises, so the room is bathed in light as early at 7:30. Net, don't get this type of room if you want to sleep in at all. That said, the sound of the waves will lull you to sleep and the proximity to the wharf with all its restaurants and shops makes it easy to go out and not drive. We appreciated the free internet and utilized their business center, which was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We had rooms with ocean views which were incredible. The rooms are a decent size and very clean. The decor is also fun- 1970-ish with bright oranges, greens and yellows.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacifica,ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We stayed at the Dream Inn and it was wonderful. The ambience and newly renovated rooms were a delight . The staff was so courteous and they never said "no" to any of our requests. The hotel let us use the pool and parking (all day) after check out. The Boardwalk is about 1 block away and an easy walk. It was so nice.
Aquarius,the restaurant was tastey! Views while we were eating and excellent customer service.
It cost $300 for the cathedral room but it was worth every penny. GO!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

The Dream Inn is the only nice place to stay near the Boardwalk in Santa Cruz. Our room was nice, our bed was comfortable, the pool was warm and family friendly, and the ocean views were top notch. Easy beach access and walking distance to the pier and Boardwalk. Free parking. The only down side is the rooms do not have a microwave.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

The location is fantastic with all rooms having a view of the beach and pier. The rooms are clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. The two times we have stayed have been in the tower and the view is great. There is a lower part of the hotel near the pool which could be noisier. The pool is nicely heated because in Santa Cruz it can be sunny but still cool.
At night you can hear the ocean waves which is nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. Room service for breakfast is reasonably priced. There is free valet parking, free wi-fi, and it's an easy 10 minute walk to the downtown shopping area or out to Steamer Lane. They have free storage for surfboards by the front desk so you don't have to bring that kind of stuff to your room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. We're getting ready to make a splash. Our beachfront pool area will be closed for renovation from December 1, 2014 through March 12, 2015. We look forward to reopening with upgraded amenities and design, plus a hot tub more luxurious than ever before-all steps from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.