We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream room with a view to match” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dream room with a view to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

This hotel is nice. The rooms are roomy, modern with balconies looking out onto the ocean. We stayed here before heading home and it was so relaxing. From the huge comfortable bed, great TV with on demand films, huge bathroom with power shower and a great coffee machine. The mini bar was reasonable too. You listen to the sound of the ocean outside your window and feel instantly relaxed. We went to the hotel restaurant Aquarius and would recommend this also. The food and wine were very good and we had another great view of the ocean. The staff were attentive but just enough. As we were flying to the UK the next day we requested a late check out which was no problem and was appreciated!!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    230
    76
    14
    20
See reviews for
278
299
32
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We were welcomed by very friendly staff at the valet parking and check-in; the view from the room is really breathtaking, since the hotel is located right above the beach. The sunrise is also very spectacular to watch from the balcony; the modern room is very comfortable. We felt a bit less comfortable with the crowd of (homeless?) people next to the hotel. Since it was a bit windy on a weekday there were not so many other people out on the streets; would probably have been better on a weekend when the boardwalk is open.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. It is located right on the beach with fabulous views and is the ultimate experience if you are going to be in Santa Cruz. The pool area is gorgeous and you walk right onto the beach from the pool area. Just a few feet away is the pier and you can walk down and see sea lions barking. It's really an incredible destination. The hotel is perfectly designed for an upscale artistic crowd. It's colorful, yet soothing. I was given a beautiful room on the 10th floor and could not have been more pleased. The staff was exceedingly gracious and they all seemed to take great pride in the hotel and the area. I felt important and like a welcome guest. I would definitely highly recommend this hotel as a first pick for anyone visiting Santa Cruz to have the ultimate in enjoyment and casual luxury.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

The hotel's location is great -- right on the beach. It's easy to walk to the wharf, or the Boardwalk. The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms are nice, clean and have cool, modern decor.

In term of amenities, the pool was nice and warm though on the small side. They also have a small children's pool about 2.5 feet deep. Service is good throughout the hotel. Room service menu is somewhat limited but food taste and quality are great. We had a suite and the extra room was nice since we had two kids - ages 2 and 4. But there was no tub in the bathroom -- just a shower, although it did have the hand held shower head that we could use to rinse off the kids.

Overall it's a nice hotel. The prices are a bit steep -- we got a good last minute rate. I don't think it's worth $400 that they command in the summer, but for $200-$300 it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

My mom (90 yrs. old) and I stayed 3 nights here for my nephew's wedding. Nice, spacious rooms with a private balcony overlooking the boardwalk, pier and ocean. Rigt on the beach. Very convenient to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, ca
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is a very updated and modern hotel. I really enjoyed the view and the location. On thing is it was very noisy for some reason. We think the door tot he bathroom may be the reason. it is a sliding door and I have a feeling the other rooms were slaming theirs during the night. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed at the Dream Inn with our two daughters, ages 8 and 3. We booked directly with the hotel at the last minute because we knew it would be a great beach weekend weather-wise.

Every room looks out onto the beach and the views are terrific. Check-in was smooth and the valets were helpful and prompt. Definitely join the Joy of Life Club before you go. As a Joy of Life member, I was presented with a chilled half-bottle of Chardonnay at the front desk.

I loved the direct beach access from the pool area. The beach directly in front of the hotel is less crowded than on the Boardwalk side, which is nice. The Boardwalk is only a 3 minute walk away.

The pool is heated to a very comfortable temperature and we spent most of the afternoon playing with the kids in the pool. Pool service for drinks and snacks was quick, even on a busy day. Room service from Aquarius was yummy and fast. Breakfast at Aquarius the next morning was delicious. When it took our server a while to get to us to take our orders, he comped our first round of drinks. Nice!

The beds are comfortable and we all had a good night of sleep. We were fortunate to have a room at the end of the hallway on the same floor as the pool and didn't get a lot of noise from other guests walking up and down the halls. We were missing a few things which were remedied by Housekeeping (only decaf coffee capsules for the coffee maker, not enough paper cups). We're looking forward to our next weekend getaway at the Dream Inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;