We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Drove into Santa Cruz late and found this great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exploration Vacation
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just Drove into Santa Cruz late and found this great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We were driving around Northern California, drove into Santa Cruz around 8PM and stopped at this hotel because it looked large enough to have an opening and we are so glad they did!!! We got a 1st floor (still 1 floor over the beach) ocean view room for about $280. We LOVE boutique hotels and this although much larger than most boutiques this is very modern and boutique-y feeling. There is beach access from the pool area - you are totally within walking distance of the wharf (many restaurants) and Pier/Amusement Park. The pool was salt-water and the perfect temperature for a chiily Nor-Cal day. The pool area has a cute bar that opened later than I was there - and there seemed to be plenty of chairs facing the ocean/piers for a great view at any time.

We slept with the balcony door open to listen to the waves and had only a few problems with the noise of birds - we saw bugs flying over the beach, but none of them entered our room at night. Loved the toiletries - LATHER. Tempting minibar foods left on counter were distracting, but still great. The only negative would be the bell staff seemed greatly understaffed, they need more bellman to handle the large # of people, but still a great stay and will return if going back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    287
    98
    18
    26
See reviews for
328
371
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

The Dream Inn provided a terrific way for our family to experience Santa Cruz. One of the biggest benefits of Dream Inn is its location. Dream Inn is right on the beach and right beside the pier. No streets to cross, you just walk out the back of the hotel and you are on the beach. The pool area is also very nice. When we were there the restaurant had not opened yet but we headed out to the pier and there were several great options there as well as some very tasty gelato for dessert.

The hotel itself is very nice with comfortable beds and quality linens. We splurged for the suite and were pleasantly surprised to find that the suite had two nice size rooms with a great view of the ocean off the parents' room. The service was excellent and we'll definitely return next time we want to head down to Santa Cruz for a weekend. You can see more about Santa Cruz on my blog: http://www.99places.com.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

This is an excellent beach hotel that is perfect for families with a little sophistication. You can't beat the location in Santa Cruz or as a base for exploring the Central Coast. Complimentary valet parking is a great feature. Pool and hot tub area are great. We did not eat any food or drink here so cannot comment, though speaking of such make sure you check out Rebecca's for breakfast. It's downtown and is awesome, just ask for directions. Stick with the basic rooms as all the rooms have awesome views, and our basic king was reasonably spacious. Bed was comfy but linens could have been of a higher quality; there were a bit scratchy. Biggest disappointment was the shower, and I am very picky with my hotel showers. The advertised "rainwater shower" is not correct; either you have a wall mounted unit which sprays out water so hard it hurts your body or an annoying handheld wand. This needs a redo. Otherwise, I couldn't fault it. Great choice!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We love the newly remodeled Dream Inn. It's so modern and hip. The pool area is fantastic with a cool pool side bar. You can't get any closer to the beach than this. We just love the views of the boardwalk, the pier and the beach from every balcony. The only complaint we had (if I had to come up with one) would be that the airconditioning is substandard and although the air outside is cool, you can't leave the windows open because of the sand flies. Also, they need to have a Continental Breakfast option on their room service menu. This is the first 4 star hotel that I've seen that doesn't offer some kind of pastries for breakfast. Other than those minor issues, we love the Dream Inn and plan on returning again and again.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

I traveled with small children. They had a great time. The location is wonderful very close the the pier. The beds were comfortable and the weather was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Fun hotel on the beach. Rooms are nicely decorated. Fantastic views from room. Will return. However, restaurant experience was horrible. Very slow service. Having waited tables to put myself through college, I rarely complain about restaurant service. But this was too much. Slow, rude, unhelpful. They wrote off most of our bill and my wife and kids said "no" to free desert. We all wanted out as quickly as possible. But we did go back to a room with a nice view and discovered other fun places to eat in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shingle springs
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

my husband and i stayed here for 2 nights. it was really nice. we love the fact that it had a beautiful view of the beach and that you can walk the beach late at night. it was really close to the boardwalk as well as the warf. we also like the fact that it was pretty private. one thing i can agree on some people is that it does smell like smoke if you leave your balcony open when someone else is smoking next door. also the restaurant was very pretty and romantic but the food was not that great and it was pretty expensive. we will not be going back to the restaurant but for sure the hotel...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. We're getting ready to make a splash. Our beachfront pool area will be closed for renovation from December 1, 2014 through March 12, 2015. We look forward to reopening with upgraded amenities and design, plus a hot tub more luxurious than ever before-all steps from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Groupon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.