We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the ocean view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Yosemite
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the ocean view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

I went to spend a weekend getaway with my best friend. We loved being right on the beach, being able to hear the ocean so clearly as we sat in our room.
It was nice to take a walk to the pier and get a bite to eat because it's so close.
We both loved the art deco look of the room and one of our favorite things was the iPod docking station on the clock radio!
The beds were nice, but a little overstuffed, didn't get the best nights sleep.
The price was pretty steep, but I would definatly stay again if I could afford it.
The staff was super friendly and helpful!

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the room
  • Disliked — the overstuffed beds
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    259
    88
    16
    26
See reviews for
304
341
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

Fabulous location right on the beach at Santa Cruz overlooking the ocean, Santa Cruz pier and Santa Cruz boardwalk (slightly in the distance).

While the building is older the management has done a fabulous job of redecorating the rooms in a very clean, contemporary style - if you like Art Deco you will love these rooms. Perfect bed and the down pillows.

The king room was not large but because of the balcony it doesn't really matter as the ocean is about 300' from the room. Great fun watching the surfers.

Reasonable value but not inexpensive - we loved the room! The front desk personnel were very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

We just got back from a weekend at the Dream Inn. It is a great location, the hotel is clean, and the furnishings and beds like new. Bathrooms updated. The views are fantastic; we woke up to sunrise over the bay. It has a great location next to the pier, which has restaurants and other fun stuff to do. Free valet parking was appreciated as well. Pool looked really good. Restaurant is being renovated and due to open soon. Santa Cruz is, by its very nature, a little funky, and not you plastic coated Disney type of experience. We love it!

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

This was our second stay. We had a suite (separate sitting area, with fold out sofa), great ocean, pier and beach views. You can hear the seals when you open the patio doors, but not when they are closed. Comfy bed, robes, just a terrific place.

Right now, their restaurant is closed, but we found some good restaurants in town. The only thing that we needed that we did not get is a blanket with the sofa bed. Our son was a bit cold that night as he slept on the sofa. They have promised to include blankets in those rooms now.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

This is a 'boutique' hotel - i.e. the rooms are large, quirky and modern. We found it clean and comfortable but slightly over priced for the area which is on the beach at the end of a run-down funfair. I certainly wouldn't feel safe walking around the area at night. The people at the desk described it as romantic which is really the last word I would use. If you must stay in Santa Cruz then you may as well stay here, but I wouldn't make a special trip.

  • Liked — Rooms are clean, bright and comfortable
  • Disliked — Area is terrible
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

The Dream Inn is a perfect place to unwind. Their private oceanfront balconies provide a perfect tranquil and romantic setting. The Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and the Santa Cruz Wharf, with its many shops and restaurants, are just outside your door. No need to get in the car, everything is within walking distance. There is no better place to stay for the proximity of the beach/boardwalk and all of the nearby attractions than the Dream Inn. Their staff is very polite and treat you like a VIP. This is the old West Coast Santa Cruz hotel. The rooms have been newly renovated and the beds are extremely comfortable. Kick back and enjoy all the oceanside hotel has to offer--you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Ocean Front Setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Valley Lake, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

We have stayed at many 4 star hotels throughout California and Oregon and this is by far the cleanest, nicest hotel we have stayed in. Service was spectacular. We asked for a refrigerator and it was running in our room within 5 minutes. The weather was uncharacteristically warm for January, so we were able to keep the patio door open to hear the waves crashing during the night. The room had a fabulous view, we were on the fifth floor. We could watch the surfers to the right, families playing in the surf below us, and see the boardwalk to the left. Be sure to bring binoculars, the birdwatching was great too. The room was extremely quiet, we never heard another guest. Very comfortable beds and pillows too. We are looking forward to our next stay again soon. Next time we will stay for more than just one night.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. We're getting ready to make a splash. Our beachfront pool area will be closed for renovation from December 1, 2014 through March 12, 2015. We look forward to reopening with upgraded amenities and design, plus a hot tub more luxurious than ever before-all steps from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.