We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Santa Cruz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Santa Cruz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The ocean view see through private patios in the tower are incredible, we were able to fall asleep listening to the ocean, the pool was a perfect way to spend an afternoon sipping from the poolside bar, and the banana pancakes from room service were yummy! You can't get any closer to the pier either so everything Santa Cruz is nearby.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    304
    111
    22
    26
See reviews for
355
397
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

With expectations set high - dream inn was the perfect location to soak in the Santa Cruz spirit.

The walk to the boardwalk was ideal and the pool service was a slice of perfection!!!

The Resturant is perfect for families of all sizes and ages! Thanks Jacob and Cali for the wonderful service!!! Much appreciated!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

The position of this hotel is amazing with stunning views over the ocean. The rooms are a great size and the beds very comfortable. Bathroom was a bit small but the shower was good. With each room having a balcony it is the perfect seaside hotel. We ate in the restaurant which again overlooked the sea. The food was excellent. I would give this hotel a top rating but for the fact that they messed up our reservation. We had asked for a double room and a twin room for our two boys. The hotel denied that we had been guaranteed a twin room and would not honour what we had in writing. I think the problem was that the hotel was over booked and had made a mistake with our reservation which they would not admit to. It was disappointing that at no time did any manager make an appearance to talk to us about the problem. Despite this issue I would certainly recommend this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Clean hotel with no specific interest. The pool is crowded and is loud.the ballet parking is obnoxious and of no interest. Rooms are clean but have no charm. No kind attentions. There is no life in this hotel which is a sleeping place with a nice view. Too bad

Room Tip: Rooms in the new part of the hotel are more quiet but are far away from every thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

as others have noted, it is the only beachfront hotel. Adjacent to the wharf and close to the bustling amusement park. Nice and friendly welcome. Our room, a Cathedral King, was spacious with a lovely high ceiling, and exceptional views of the bay and the Wharf. a warning to those who need a dark room - - these rooms do not have curtains or blinds to cover the "cathedral" part of the windows. Bathroom on the small side, but quite functional and with an excellent magnifying mirror. Comfortable bed from which you can listen to the sounds of the crashing waves all night long. hotel has a good bar and a very good restaurant. Parking is not included and is $24 per night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My fiancé had a wonderful time at the Dream Inn in Santa Cruz. The view from our cloud king room was magnificent. We sat out on our balcony and listened to the waves crash all night. From the moment we pulled into their reception area, we were greeted by fantastic service from the valet person and the front of house staff that helped us check in to our room. The valet gentleman was so kind to take our bags to our room and even fill our ice bucket and deliver me a wine opener for our wines from Napa. This was above and beyond. It really started our stay off in an extremely positive manner. I then realized that we did not have any red wine glasses so I called the front desk and they had them delivered to us from someone in the restaurant. The hotel staff were so pleasant and made us feel like we owned the place. Thank you very much , Dream Inn, for making our visit to Santa Cruz the best that it could possible be.

Dream Inn is in the perfect location; right next to the wharf, the boardwalk, a close walk to downtown Santa Cruz and right on the scenic bike/walk path up the coast. Just perfect.

One of my favorite dinners was served in their restaurant(Aquarius) our last night there. I had the ceviche for an app and it was out of this world. Surprisingly generous portion that had tons of flavor. My fiancé had the locally caught albacore with the cilantro risotto and I had yellowfin tuna with the same risotto. The yellowfin was delicious and the albacore was some of the best and freshest fish I have ever had. Great job. Then the Nutella cheesecake for dessert was one of the best desserts I have ever had.

Fantastic stay that helped make our engagement trip a very special experience. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: If you have children, stay by the pool. If you are there for a romantic getaway, stay in the cloud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

By far this hotel is the only one right on the beach with the best views. It is adjacent to the Wharf and short walk to a great Amusement Park. The hotel restaurant has a beautiful view of the ocean and the food was fresh and delicious. We appreciated the heated pool because the ocean is a bit rough and cold. The only downside for us was our room was right above the pool so you could hear the kids at 7am jumping in making some noise. Downtown Santa Cruz is a short drive which was also a great...nice to change it up once in awhile. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families looking to travel along the coast for day trips...great home base.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.1 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Cruz
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. We're getting ready to make a splash. Our beachfront pool area will be closed for renovation from December 1, 2014 through March 12, 2015. We look forward to reopening with upgraded amenities and design, plus a hot tub more luxurious than ever before-all steps from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.