We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Cruz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Santa Fe, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Santa Cruz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We came here on a whim.From Santa Fe Texas. We changed plans and ended up here .The service ,room were awesome .I do not take the the time to write about a place but these guys are on it !!!!!!! Everything you need is there walking distance views etc

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    252
    87
    15
    26
See reviews for
299
329
34
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked a king room at the Dream Inn and were pleasantly surprised to find that we had an ocean front room overlooking the wharf and Cowell's Beach. The view was breathtaking! We were able to hear the waves crashing and enjoy the sunshine on our private balcony. We were even able to see a pod of whales passing by in the distance (look for the spray!). SO amazing! The bed was huge and comfortable. Bathroom was decent- stand up shower no tub. Big flat screen tv. My only complaint was that you can hear noise from your neighbors like doors shutting/slamming, etc. Maybe because it is an older building? Nothing we couldn't handle however. Staff was more than helpful recommending restaurants, providing directions, etc. Everyone was always cheerful and smiling. You definitely cant beat this location with its close proximity to the wharf, amusement park, and ocean front volley ball courts!

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor if possible for less noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

While attending the 4th annual Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk's Chili Cook Off, we decided to stay at the Dream Inn after a horrible night staying elsewhere in town.

The Dream Inn is located very near the Boardwalk along West Cliff Drive and looks out towards the water above Cowell's Beach.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The beds are a nice mixture of firmness and comfort. The in room snacks are pricey, but barring that, the rooms are nice.

WARNING; The hotel does charge an extra $25 a night for parking on top of the price for the room.

The room featured heating and air conditioning. A/C is a rarity on the Northern California Coast, so it was nice to see that they didn't skimp.

The balcony and view is nice. It overlooks Cowell's beach and the Wharf. To the left alongside the beachfront is the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk.

We slept soundly with our patio door open just listening to the breaking waves. We were thankful for a nice bed and clean sheets, and we both slept like logs. We truly enjoyed our stay here with the only exception being the surprise $25 added parking fee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We loved our stay at the Dream Inn and would go back. Nice "tower" room, nice heated pool and spa, beachfront view, good room service food! BUT: we know our toddler's special blanket that she's had from birth(!) got left behind in in our hotel room (yes, parent fail). Of course we called, and Dream Inn staffers told us they had not yet found it -- that was two days ago. It is hugely sentimental: Dream Inn, please please please send a search party to Room 729!

Putting aside the Lost Blanket Factor that has semi-marred our stay, we have no bad things to say about the Dream Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Reception was chaotic when we arrived and we had to wait a while to check in. When we did check in the member of staff was helpful. Our room was on the first floor. It was clean and like all the other rooms in the hotel, had a balcony with a fabulous view over the ocean and pier. We had free WIFI, coffee machine and a fridge in the room. We had breakfast in the restaurant, which was lovely overlooking the ocean, with a good choice and helpful staff. Overall, a good hotel, not quite the luxury promised on their website.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here when visiting the University of Santa Cruz and it was a nice hotel. I ate breakfast in my room every morning on the balcony, which had a beautiful view over the ocean and went for a morning swim in the pool (this visit was in February), which was nicely heated. The staff was friendly and room service was fast and good for breakfast. I would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Dream Inn several times over the years and it is getting better all the time. We used to come here before they remodeled, and if you haven't been since the remodel I highly recommend it. They've done a really nice job! The rooms are great and all (I think) have an ocean view balcony. We love to sit with our coffee and listen to the sea lions barking. Plus, you can walk out the doors and along beautiful West Cliff!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.