We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little overpriced, but the rooms are directly on the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Little overpriced, but the rooms are directly on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Dream Inn is an interesting hotel. It seems confused sometimes on what it wants to be. Does it want to be a full 4 star hotel, or a rambunctious family hotel or a romantic getaway or a funky quirky hotel. They seem to try to do all of those things but some fall a little short.
The hotel is funky, with a fun interiors, our room was comfortable and colorful. Everyroom has a terrific view of the bay and of the Santa Cruz municipal wharf. We also could see the boardwalk amusement park. View was hands down the greatest thing.
This is an expensive place to stay, but you are paying for the location and view, not necessarily the service. There were a lot of families, which is fine with us, the pool however can get very busy and very overrun with kids. The services falls a little flat starting with your car. It is very confusing and chaotic when you pull up. There were cars parked every which way and people running around with no idea on what they are doing. But once that was taken care of things got better. The other very strange thing was the pool. They have a pool attendant, however they were hardly ever there. They were always out of pool towels and even when we asked the front desk they said they would drop some off, they never did.
The restaurant was okay, the drinks were fun and seasonal and expensive, but it was nice. the food was good and our breakfast was terrific.
You have to pay for parking, which was expected, it is 25.00 a day. all in all it was a fun trip. There are lots of family's which was fun, but can be overwhelming if you want it more quiet and romantic. The beach is literally steps away and the view was worth it all.
There is a near by trolley that runs in the summer that takes you down town. it is 25 cents one way. It was very easy to get downtown to eat and shop then return to the beach for the rest of the day.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool could be very loud and have little privacy. We were in the tower and had terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your extensive review! Great call taking the trolly downtown-- for 25 cents it is a great way to get around Santa Cruz and enjoy the views! We hope to see you soon, and let us know if there is ever anything we can do to make your stay truly extraordinary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    243
    79
    15
    23
See reviews for
285
317
33
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is the only Hotel in Santa Cruz, CA that sits right on the beach. You don't have to look past the flow of steady cars between you and the ocean. The pool was warm and popular with an awesome view of the surf. The Bartender (Jackie) was fun and very personable, spicy Bloody Mary's! I will be back.

Room Tip: ask for 6th floor or higher for the killer views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha O, Public Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We do love Jackie! Thank you so much for posting this review :-). We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights on a business trip and slept every night listening to the waves. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was always helpful and polite. Just after checking into my room, the front desk called to ask if I was satisfied with the room or needed anything. I was on the first floor and asked if there was a room available on a higher floor, "No Problem, We can do that". Within 10 minutes I was in a room that had the same great view of the ocean, just higher.
We held our meeting at the hotel and found the staff to be very responsive to our requests for AV, lunch and room temperature changes.
Will definitely stay here again if I get back to Santa Cruz for work or play.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha O, Public Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We love to hear this! Thank you again for choosing us to house your corporate meeting. Don’t hesitate to contact your sales rep. for your next visit. Happy Travels until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay at the Dream Inn with my family this past week and could not have been more pleased. A few additional specifics.

Location: You can drive to the Dream Inn and literally not move your car for the duration of your stay - like we did. The boardwalk is a 5 minute walk as are the restaurants on the wharf.

Rooms: We stayed in the tower building on the 7th floor with sweeping views of the boardwalk and beach. The rooms are tastefully appointed and have a beach casual yet modern feel. We had our twin girls with us and we still had plenty of room to spread out despite the addition of two cribs. The room and bathroom were spotless and all the typical amenities are included: Krueig coffee maker, snacks and a small mini-bar.

Pool: The pool is rather small but since we there during the week there were not a lot of people. I can imagine it gets pretty crowded on the weekends. There is a small bar that offers a variety of drinks and a small menu offers pool-side snacks. Plenty of lounge chairs are available with a number of them offering full ocean views. If you want to head to the beach, there is access via the pool area.

Overall, I couldn't have been more pleased with the Dream Inn and look forward to making this an annual visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha O, Public Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for painting such a perfectly detailed picture for any of our future guests. We truly value your review and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The best spot in Santa Cruz. On the beach, great pool, and staff was terrific. It is right next to the wharf and the boardwalk, so you will have the noise that accompanies that, but the view is amazing and you won't find a better access to everything. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We look forward to helping you "Book it!" the next time you are in town. Until then, enjoy the beautiful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had one night in this hotel, and was very happy with the level of comfort and location. The rooms were very modern and it was great to have a balcony overlooking the sea. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant at night, which was good. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! Even though your stay was only for one night, I am happy to see that you were able to utilize all of the benefits of staying at the Dream Inn. Next time hopefully we can have you for a leisurely and extended stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Beautiful view of the ocean from our room on the 10th floor. The room was perfectly sized for two people and the balcony was a decent size with a table & two chairs. Great hotel!

The only thing that the we didn't realize about Santa Cruz is that the beach is very kid-focused. Not much for nightlife. Next time, we would stay closer to downtown Santa Cruz so we could walk to more bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;