We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Livin' the Dream Package
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My Husband made reservations for the Dream Inn this last weekend, 3-15-13, and we booked a king-size bed with an ocean view. We arrived Friday night at about 7pm, and everything was as stated. We were on the ninth floor, and had a great view of the ocean, so the only noise we heard was the tide going out and the seagulls in the morning, which was great. The service was great, and at one point we wanted to watch Netflix one night by connecting our laptop to their flat screen. Someone from Guest Relations came up to our room with a whole basket of cords and hooked it up for us. Her name was Katie, and she was very friendly and helpful. I have to say that after reading some of the reviews that were negative in regards to the staff, it was not the case here. Everyone was polite and helpful and we had a great time.
In fact, we had such a great time that my Son is now going there this weekend with his wife and little 10 month old Daughter to experience what we did.

Room Tip: Room 928 is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding review. Katie is our Guest Relations Manager and in charge of making sure every guests experience was a great as it sounds yours was. We look forward to having you back again sooner rtather than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    314
    112
    23
    26
See reviews for
367
401
38
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaver Lake, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just got back from a 3-day trip to Santa Cruz (from our home in the CA High Sierras) where we stayed at the Dream Inn. This was a Travel Zoo deal - $139./night with $50. DAILY restaurant credit and free valet parking. Our room was on the 6th floor in the Tower - a GREAT view, as all other reviews have stated. Located right ON the beach. This time of year is very quiet and not crowded. We walked to the wharf, down the street to the Arcade where we played 18 holes of miniature golf and across the street to bowl a couple games. We drove over to UC Santa Cruz and what a beautiful school/setting!! We enjoyed the Grateful Dead museum-quality display in a room at their library. Also, we loved downtown Santa Cruz - some great shops and great eateries (with outside dining) - and movie theaters!
The staff at the Dream Inn is very friendly and hospitable. The restaurant was great and a great staff! We had lunch the first day, breakfast the second, and dinner the third and final night. Every meal was outstanding. Great clam chowder.
Can't wait to return and we'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Tower 6th floor or higher and away from pool (noise in summer) and elevators (c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for the detailed and fantastic 5 star review! Our TravelZoo promotion was certainly a great deal, and we look forward to having you back throughout the year and providing the same level of exceptional service you enjoyed on your last stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We decided on a quick getaway to Santa Cruz. Dream Inn was the perfect choice for a hotel. The location is perfect! It is right on the beach with beautiful views of the boardwalk. The hotel itself is clean, beautifully decorated, and well maintained. The staff was friendly, courteous, and responsive. They took very good care of us as they made sure we were comfortable and satisfied. We asked the valet for directions to a restaurant we were interested in trying and he offered to take us there in the hotel car since things were rather quiet in the hotel at that time. The room was clean and comfortable. We also enjoyed the time we spent at the hotel bar/restaurant.

Definitely a place I would recommend to anyone and most definitely a place I would love to go back to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised on the decor of the hotel a retro 60's feel and very well decorated. We booked the Junior Suite and this is a beautiful room with a large table and couch with pull out bed. The only thing that would make it better is if the vanity was outside the bathroom. The view overlooking the beach was breathtaking and it also overlooks the salt water pool and spa. The pool was heated up to 85 which was nice after going into the cold ocean. The room had a single serve coffee maker but you may want to buy a large water from the liquor store across the road to make your coffee. Walking distance to the pier and the boardwalk. Wish we had known that the Beach Boardwalk was only open on the weekends during the spring. We still found plenty to do. Will come back again and stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Picked hotel because it was recently renovated and right on the beach. Had a beautiful balcony that overlooked the Santa Cruz pier. On the 4 th floor, so had no trouble with the noise from the beach, but did deal with noise from fellow travelers. The thin walls and very small bathrooms reminded us that it was built in a different era. The decor was retro late 60- early 70's, but very sharp and clean lines. Our only disappointment was the staff. The valets were friendly and helpful. But the front desk buried their heads in their computers every time we waked by. If you stared at them long enough, they would say "hi." When we asked for directions, the front desk person was very confused- instead of looking it up, he blundered on. We would stay here again, but the staff needs a bit extra training in hospitality.

Room Tip: Pick a suite for the balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place is right in the heart of the Santa Cruz action! We stayed one night in February, and it turned out to be a wonderful trip-we wished we had longer. From the very friendly and speedy valet staff to the helpful check-in staff, everything was perfect. We got a 3rd floor room, which was perfect! The room is full of bright colors, cute furniture, and a nice mini-bar. The view from our room was amazing. The wharf right outside our door and the pool right below. It was a gorgeous, sunny day and the pool is heated. We spent most the day lounging on the pool deck, enjoying the pool and hot tub. You can even have food and drinks delivered to the pool if you don't want to got back to the room. It was great! I would highly recommend this beautiful property!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We also hope that next time your stay is a longer one! As we head into our peak season, come check out our newly rennovated pool bar-- great food, heated pool and ocean views-- what could be better?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed overnight on a Saturday and the staff, hotel and view were awesome! The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable, including giving us an early check-in. They offered directions and suggestions on things to do in the area. We were on the 8th floor and the view was fantastic. We didn't get a chance to check out the pool but it looked great. The rooms are very modern and clean. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We can't wait to have you back! Thank you for your 5 star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.1 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. We're getting ready to make a splash. Our beachfront pool area will be closed for renovation from December 1, 2014 through March 12, 2015. We look forward to reopening with upgraded amenities and design, plus a hot tub more luxurious than ever before-all steps from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.