We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a beach hotel in Santa Cruz, this is the place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exploration Vacation
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
los angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“If you want a beach hotel in Santa Cruz, this is the place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great location, especially for families. Surf lessons, boardwalk rides, white sand beach and ice cream cones on the wharf are all within walking distance. Excellent staff in all areas of the hotel. Room was clean with nice amenities. The decor has a fun retro vibe. Felt more like a place for young couples or families.

We were on the second floor (street level), right above the pool. The exterior hallway was somewhat open to the public and quite noisy. We could hear suitcases and housecleaning carts rolling across the tile floors at all hours. I would recommend trying to stay in rooms not directly over the pool, where the hall is enclosed. The pool was in use in March from 7:30 AM until 11 PM and a bit noisy in our room. The bed was quite comfy. The cushions on the sofa, which had a pull out sofa in it, were always sliding all over the place and not very comfortable to sit in. Just enough room for the two of us to sit on the patio and enjoy our wine with the sunset.

Santa Cruz is a fantastic place to play with your kids, but there is a seedy side to it too. Twice our neighbors were smoking pot on their patio, which was quite annoying. Two security guards were strolling the pool area periodically, which made me a bit concerned about the area. I ran down to the liquor store across the street at 8 PM on a Saturday and there were quite a few drunks getting loud out front. Not sure I would want my teenage kids hanging out here alone at night. Two very attractive and quite made up young ladies were knocking on our door at midnight. I didn't open the door, but they ended up going in next door. Thought that was a bit strange too. I should have probably reported all of this to the management, but having spent numerous summers here as a kid, I just took it as part of the Santa Cruz experience.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from rooms above the pool. We were in room 211 and would not recommend this room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    287
    97
    18
    26
See reviews for
328
370
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Superb staff. Goes out of their way to make you comfortable. A truly wonderful location ... right on the beach, fall asleep and wake up to ocean waves. Just can't beat it. Walk along the beach sunrise or sunset. Sales staff worked extra hard to be sure our group of 13 were accommodated and comfortable. Went the extra distance to be sure maps for the campus where the meeting was to be held was available for each traveler. Staff is kind, courteous, and efficient. This staff is a perfect example of how customer service should be ... you care about the customer's decision to stay with you.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean .... don't like the ocean, don't stay here :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We certainly hope to provide the same level of exceptional service on your next stay. Until then, enjoy the memories of the ocean views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A wonderful location for a hotel in Santa Cruz. Close to downtown and right by the wharf with a great view. Can't beat the view. The sound of the waves provides a great white noise for a comfortable sleep. Rooms are nice and efficient. They seem to have what you need in a hotel room. Service is great and hotel restaurant is a very nice plus.

Room Tip: Have a cup of coffee in the morning in the room balcony and enjoy the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
I wanted to thank you for your recent 5 star review! I myself can't seem to start the day without a cup of coffee, and there is no better way than watching the sunrise over the Monterey Bay, cup in hand! We hope to have you back again soon to provide the same level of exceptional service. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
526 reviews 526 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have no reason not to give this property an excellent review except I liked the property next door better...hence a very good rating.
Rooms are modern and stylish. View and location is outstanding. Sounds of surf to lull you to sleep. Service is professional.
If you can't stay next door...Stay here and you won't be disappointed.
Easy walk to downtown. 15 min walk to steamer. Well above average but not excited about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback. Certainly the Sea and Sand located next to us is a fine hotel, and we look forward to working with our neighbors to accomadate you (if they can not) on your next trip to Santa Cruz. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were at the Dream Inn for three nights the end of February. Our room was very comfortable, well-designed, roomy, and the color scheme and furnishings were interesting - not cookie cutter feeling at all. The sound of the surf through the balcony door was wonderful. Beach views from every room - we were on the seventh floor and the morning gulls whirling around were a treat. The pool and hot tub were nice amenities. All in all a really pleasant, relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: I imagine the rooms facing the pool and hot tub area would be rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review! We hope to have you with us again soon to share that rarified air. On your next stay, ask us about our Cloud Rooms which are reserved on the 8th, 9th or 10th floor-- Don't let the gulls have all the fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I travelled all the way from Australia to visit Santa Cruz. It wasn't easy to get there, as i didnt want to drive in the USA, but was well worth the visit. I'm sorry now that i didnt stay longer. The Dream Inn Hotel was an absolute delight to stay at. in all my lifetime of hotel visits, this hotel went above and beyond to make my experience in Santa Cruz a memorable one.

I had excellent and prompt communication on my lead up to departing Australia with Stephanie who is an absolute asset to the hotel, and offered great advice on local attractions - boardwalk etc.

My purpose to visit Santa Cruz was to see the boardwalk also because it's where the 1987 movie, Lost Boys was filmed, and always had a fascination to visit. The hotel is extremely close to the board walk and a nice casual walk to the light house.

I'm visiting the USA in 2014 and will come back to Santa Cruz just to stay here again, it was fantastic.

I ordered a steak from the restaurant (room service) and it was one of the best steaks i have ever had.

Cleaning staff did a top job to make up my room each day..

The only gripe i have that left a bit of a bad taste in my mouth was, i was charged for parking even though i didnt drive a car. The hotel were happy to refund the parking however, i was advised that they assume that people drive there and so the charge is automatic. I would recommend mentioning this to them when you check in so you are not charged parking.

Apart from that, i will be back 2014!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
As a world traveler, we wish to give you an extra thank you for your extremely positive review! As Stephanie's manager I will pass on your kudo's and wish to thank you personally for going out of your way to mention her! We hope that we have you back soon to enjoy another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We are Joie de Vivre members which we were told that you are guaranteed a up grade at no additional cost if available. Well not true. Hotel was empty and the front desk clerk was anything but helpful. Im being kind.... He must have been having a really bad day.

But, this will not stop us from coming back again and again. We have stayed hear several times and we love it. The pool is unbeatable and rooms are comfy and super cool. The view is a added plus.

We have also dinned in the restaurant and have ordered room service. They are both not your standard hotel food. Everything we have eaten has been amazing!!!

We only live down the coast in Monterey and The Dream Inn makes us feel like we are far from home and we can't wait to visit again. We're just gonna stay away from that one front desk clerk!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback. While we never aim to disappoint, I am sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations on your recent stay. You are absolutely correct that being a Joy of Life member comes with a complimentary upgrade based on availability. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss the issues you experienced if you are comfortable with doing so, as I am hopeful to make a personal apology for the shortfalls you experienced. Warm Regards, Sean Hadley Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. We're getting ready to make a splash. Our beachfront pool area will be closed for renovation from December 1, 2014 through March 12, 2015. We look forward to reopening with upgraded amenities and design, plus a hot tub more luxurious than ever before-all steps from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Groupon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.