We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Getaway Package
Ranked #5 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
Turlock, ca
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Highly Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We took advantage of the incredible low winter rates and stayed at the Dream Inn on Dec10-13, 2012. It had been many years since our last stay and we were very impressed with the personal attention we received by the staff. The night before we arrived I was surprised to receive a personal call at home from a staff member welcoming my arrival, that has never happened before at any hotel. Upon our arrival the staff was very helpful and ready to help in any way. Our room on the fourth floor was decorated in an art deco style, with lots of light and pleasant colors. The room and bathroom were very clean. Of course, the signature of the Dream Inn is the great view of the beach, warf and boardwalk. Everything was done perfect and the Aquarius is a great place to eat (see my review). One more thing, if you are lucky enough to get to Santa Cruz on a week day in the winter you will find the beach, eateries and shops mostly empty and if you like to get away from the usual mob beach scene, it is so pleasant and slow pace.....Hope you have as nice stay as we did, as my title says, I "Highly Highly recommend".

Room Tip: We had a choice of any floor and the guest rooms start on the fourth floor. We like the lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
I am glad to see we exceeded your expectations on your recent stay! We hope to welcome you back for the same level of exceptional service sooner rather than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    211
    68
    13
    17
See reviews for
257
283
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is located on the north end of Santa Cruz beach next to the Wharf. Arrival was handled well although getting into the hotel drive is tricky. The drive appears suddenly and is flanked by bicycle lane barriers. Ample self parking is located across the street. All rooms face the Ocean giving fantastic views of the Wharf and the Bay. The Bay is shaped in such a way that the Hotel rooms face south east with the sun setting on the Town side of the hotel rather than over the Ocean. The Hotel does not allow dogs but are very tolerant of Service Dogs. The surrounding area is busy with the coast drive to the north and the town down a hill below the inn. The Amusement Park is 3 to 4 blocks from the hotel, the road in front of the Amusement Park is One Way going away from the Hotel. If driving, getting back to the Hotel takes some work. There is a small beer store across from the Wharf entrance that has most of one’s immediate needs. There is a café/bar on the far side of the Wharf entrance. Stay away from this place, their mission in life is to take your money in any way they can. The Wharf area attracts transients so expect them to be part of your experience.
Our room was on the 10th floor, the elevators were modern, fast and usually available. The room was large with a nice balcony. The balcony railing was constructed in a way that it was open at eye level while sitting, this is one of the first hotels that I’ve found that provides this consideration. The Balcony contained two chairs and a round table. The sliding glass door worked smoothly and if left open would allow the sounds of the surf to enter the room. The room contained a refrigerator and a safe. The safe was wide enough to hold a lap top computer. The Wi-Fi codes were on a card but they weren’t needed as the Wi-Fi connected when the computer was started. The Wi-Fi was free and worked well. The bathroom was a nice size with a fair amount of counter space. The tub had a large shower head and a hand held wand. All the bathroom features worked well. On the outside of the bathroom entrance was a coffee bar that provided extra storage drawers and extra counter space, across from that was a closet.
The pool area was nicely located between one end of the hotel and the beach. The area was large and clean with tables, chairs, and umbrellas. The pool area also provided a hot tub. This area was isolated from beach traffic.
The hotel had a Restaurant with a beautiful view of the sea. They also provided a bar with slightly better prices and happy hour drinks. The food and the service were very good in both the restaurant and the bar.

Room Tip: The rooms at pool level share a large patio. The rooms in the tower give spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your extensive, enthusiastic and positive review! We look forward to seeing you hopefully in the New Year if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel is all about location. It is right on the beach and they had a great pool area where you could actually walk downstairs to the beach if you wanted. However, the wait staff at the pool was horrible, I asked 2 different people to try and order food and they both said that they couldn't help me because their shift was almost over; they didn't even send someone else over to help me. When I finally got someone to help me, they were rude as well. And then when I closed out my bill and went back to my room, an hour later I got a call and they said that they forgot to add something to my bill so I had to come back down and sign for it, they wouldn't even bring the bill to my room even though it was their mistake! I was shocked! The front desk staff was nice and the rooms were nicely updated. But for the price I paid; management needs to seriously work on their customer service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback. We obviously endeavor to provide a level of service second to none, and as we fell short in this department, please accept my sincerest apologizes. We encourage guests to provide feedback during their stay so that we can proactively address any issues in a satisfactory and timely manner. Please feel free to contact me directly as I would be happy to undertand any further details you may be able to provide regarding your stay this previous May. We hope to impress you with a higher level of service on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I chose the hotel based on the location on the beach in Santa Cruz and the heated pool. We had a a really good experience and would certainly return. We checked in early. The staff was friendly and accomodating.
Our room was on the 10th floor and had a great view of the wharf, boardwalk, beach and cliffs. I liked the room's fresh, modern design and cleanliness. We were able to walk everywhere: the wharf, the boardwalk, West Cliff Drive, the beach. The only downside: It was a busy weekend with lots of families so the pool was a bit crowded and it took more than 30 minutes for our drinks to be delivered. Then we were charged for someone else's order, so double check your food bills. We spent most of our time on the beach, accessible directly from the pool area, which was convenient. Tip #1: Watch out for the seagulls on the beach. They stole my son's unopened cereal bar from my beach bag. Tip #2: Try the fish and chips at the restaurant at the end of the wharf: The Dolphin. The best we've had in a long time (better than the others we tried on the wharf). Tip #3: Get lunch to go at the Picnic Basket. The turkey sandwich was delicious.

Room Tip: I recommend the higher floors if you want to enjoy a great view. Also, you may want to ask for one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! As we are heading into winter, I might recommend a breadbowl of clam chowder from Stagnaro's on the wharf in lieu of the Fish and Chips, but either would be great to watch the waves as we get into Storm Watching season! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you would like a nice view of the water in Santa Cruz, this is the place for you. We had our own private balcony overlooking the beach and pool. The rooms were nice, retro, but a tad dated. Yet they were clean and comfortable. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! Having rennovated recently in 2008 we look forward to celebrating the Dream Inn's 50th year of business in 2013! We hope to see you again sooner rather than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here (having never been before) for our wedding night. Knowing that this was a special occasion for us, the staff of the Dream Inn went out of their way to accommodate our every request to make sure everything went perfectly...and it did! Beautiful view, great room and comfortable bed. We will definitely be back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a romanic room, the Dream Suite is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am glad we were able to make your special night especially memorable! We'll look forward to hosting your anniversary for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great views of the water and the amusement park. Was wonderful to sit out on the balcony and sip a glass of wine and enjoy the great outdoors.

Great staff. Great walls - so you don't hear the people next door. Yes, it's rather expensive.

Go for it!

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors to get a greater view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your positive review-- Upon your next stay we will do everything we can to get you booked on your higher floor preference-- To ensure your request if you book in our superior room type, you will be awarded the 9th or 10th floor-- Complimentary turndown and chocolates await in addition to the beautiful views and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.