We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a beach getaway and fabulous view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Save Saved
You added Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Getaway Package
Ranked #5 of 51 hotels in Santa Cruz
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great place for a beach getaway and fabulous view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I chose the hotel based on the location on the beach in Santa Cruz and the heated pool. We had a a really good experience and would certainly return. We checked in early. The staff was friendly and accomodating.
Our room was on the 10th floor and had a great view of the wharf, boardwalk, beach and cliffs. I liked the room's fresh, modern design and cleanliness. We were able to walk everywhere: the wharf, the boardwalk, West Cliff Drive, the beach. The only downside: It was a busy weekend with lots of families so the pool was a bit crowded and it took more than 30 minutes for our drinks to be delivered. Then we were charged for someone else's order, so double check your food bills. We spent most of our time on the beach, accessible directly from the pool area, which was convenient. Tip #1: Watch out for the seagulls on the beach. They stole my son's unopened cereal bar from my beach bag. Tip #2: Try the fish and chips at the restaurant at the end of the wharf: The Dolphin. The best we've had in a long time (better than the others we tried on the wharf). Tip #3: Get lunch to go at the Picnic Basket. The turkey sandwich was delicious.

Room Tip: I recommend the higher floors if you want to enjoy a great view. Also, you may want to ask for one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! As we are heading into winter, I might recommend a breadbowl of clam chowder from Stagnaro's on the wharf in lieu of the Fish and Chips, but either would be great to watch the waves as we get into Storm Watching season! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    211
    68
    13
    17
See reviews for
257
283
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danvers, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you would like a nice view of the water in Santa Cruz, this is the place for you. We had our own private balcony overlooking the beach and pool. The rooms were nice, retro, but a tad dated. Yet they were clean and comfortable. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! Having rennovated recently in 2008 we look forward to celebrating the Dream Inn's 50th year of business in 2013! We hope to see you again sooner rather than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here (having never been before) for our wedding night. Knowing that this was a special occasion for us, the staff of the Dream Inn went out of their way to accommodate our every request to make sure everything went perfectly...and it did! Beautiful view, great room and comfortable bed. We will definitely be back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a romanic room, the Dream Suite is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am glad we were able to make your special night especially memorable! We'll look forward to hosting your anniversary for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great views of the water and the amusement park. Was wonderful to sit out on the balcony and sip a glass of wine and enjoy the great outdoors.

Great staff. Great walls - so you don't hear the people next door. Yes, it's rather expensive.

Go for it!

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors to get a greater view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your positive review-- Upon your next stay we will do everything we can to get you booked on your higher floor preference-- To ensure your request if you book in our superior room type, you will be awarded the 9th or 10th floor-- Complimentary turndown and chocolates await in addition to the beautiful views and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Started with Jeremy. I had a credit card issue and he made it so much less embarrassing. Thanks! Set me up with an excellent room. Got up and was floored. It was beautiful. The ocean view room I had was breathtaking. I could see clear to the other side of the bay! The bathroom was well done, flawless shower! Loved all the decor in the room. During the night we needed silverware and it took 5 minutes after our call. Quick. Also I couldn't get the tv to work and when engineering came up about two minutes after we called, fixed in a Jeff. The engineer was very pleasant and made us laugh. Amenities were wonderful, pool area was perfection and access to all the facilities was easy. The restaurant was very pretty although I didn't get a chance to eat there. Next time for sure! AND I got to see Dick VanDyke who happened to be staying there! How cool is that? All and all a really wonderful stay. I cannot wait to go back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, and while we can't guarantee celebrity guest sightings every day, we can guarantee our attempt to provide a level of service commensurate with the reputation you have given us with your review! Perfection! Can't ask for a better review than that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I came here with my boyfriend and we absolutely loved it! We had a deluxe king room on the 6th floor and had an amazing view of the beach, ocean, pier and boardwalk. We had a nice small balcony and we kept the sliding door slightly open so we could hear the waves crashing on the shore. The room was clean and I liked the decor both in the room and in the lobby. The staff at the front desk was very courteous and friendly.

The location of the hotel was also perfect because it was close enough to the boardwalk, pier, lighthouse, Natural Bridges, and downtown area.

Room Tip: Anything on a higher floor. The view is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback and 5 star review! We look forward to having you lulled to sleep by the crashing waves soon, and until then, Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Immaculate, modern hotel, amazing beachfront location and five mins walk from the boardwalk park. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. We had to change plans and leave a night early and they not only permitted us to do so without paying for the final night, but helped us get it resolved via the booking agent. Extremely impressive place and personnel. Heated pool actually was heated, and the in-room dining we had was high quality. Only tiny drawback of the hotel - sometimes noisy because walls are thin. But overall, definitely somewhere to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and great review! We strive to provide a level of service second to none and it appears as though we succeeded on your recent stay. Until next time we hope you enjoy a festive and fun Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel
Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.