We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Awesome Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Exploration Vacation
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What an Awesome Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Dream Inn, located right on the beach, is THE hotel to stay at while visiting Santa Cruz. This was my first stay at this hotel and I was not disappointed. From the moment I called the hotel to set up my reservation to the moment I checked out, I had absolutely stellar service. The valet attendents made sure my car was exactly how I wanted it (top up or down), the front desk receptionists greeted me by name with smiles every time I passed thru the lobby, and the room was really beautiful and modern with a wall of windows and doors. All the rooms face the ocean and have nice patios to sit on to enjoy the sights of the beach, the boardwalk and the ocean. Very relaxing! The bed was very comfortable and I let the sound of the surf lull me to sleep. The hotel sits right next to the famous Boardwalk too. This will be my Santa Cruz hotel and I will return again very soon. Thanks Dream Inn for a wonderful week!

Room Tip: I loved having a room in the Tower on a higher floor because I had a wonderful view of the Pier and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    287
    97
    18
    26
See reviews for
328
370
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Dream Inn is a great place to stay by the beach. You won't be disappointed with your choice here. Here are a few pros and cons.

PROS:
- Extremely helpful and friendly front desk staff. We were very impressed.
- Great view of the pier, beach and ocean
- Excellent location
- Very clean
- Updated, nice decor

CONS:
- Heater was very noisy. We had to turn it off to be able to sleep.
- Bed was on the hard side
- Both valet and self-parking were expensive at $22 per night

All in all, the pros greatly outweighed the cons. The friendly front desk staff stood out the most as the best part of the stay. We were especially impressed with the Front Desk Manager, who went out of his way to ensure we had a great stay. We would not hesitate to choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stay at the Dream Inn a couple of times a year. Every December we attend a fairly large party here and the service we receive it above and beyond. To be honest, we really like the Joie De Vivre hotel experience! The service we have had at every single JDV hotel we have stayed at has been stellar!

The staff = simply fabulous. It seems as if they select only the best of the best = perfection!

The rooms are unusually delightful and there are always special little touches. At this Inn there are Keurig Coffee Makers, wonderful photos (Surf and boardwalk inspired) the lamps, furnishings and shutters are very appealing. If you open your curtains everything just flows... the room just connects to the outdoor view.
At the Dream Inn ALL of the room face the ocean...simply breathtaking. The hotel is right next-door to the famous Boardwalk as well.

Room Tip: *The only tip I have is to ask for a room at the end of the hall since outside hall noise can creep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Walking into our room, we were met by a wall of glass windows and doors looking out to the ocean and beach below. It was really beautiful. The sound of the surf lulled us to sleep and was a lovely background sound when we were in our room. The bed was very comfortable. The valets were very nice, efficient, and helped us to navigate Santa Cruz. This was our first visit to this part of California and we really enjoyed it. Breakfast at Zachary's was delicious!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have three small children and my family and I stayed her fourth of July weekend. This is the best hotel for that weekend because you can still go there to enjoy the holiday but are away from the crowds at night and have your own little private beach in front of he hotel. The hotel is beautiful! Most of all it's clean. I'm a germ freak and I was happy that the room was spotless and very clean The beds are so comfortable and we left the sliding door open all night and fell asleep the sound of the ocean. There is a pool at this hotel with pool service which is nice. Now that Iv'e stayed here I cant stay anywhere else. Even if its more expensive I don't care because it's worth it!

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure all rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This is by far the best hotel in Santa Cruz. Yes, it is also probably the most expensive, but hey, you get what you pay for. Each room has a private balcony overlooking the ocean. The hotel also has its own private entrance to the beach. Doesn't get better than that.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

For many years growing up, my family would always stay at the Original Dream Inn. It was like a landmark when you pulled up to the wharf in Santa Cruz. Well, the magic is back and better than ever at the New Dream Inn. After nearly 6 years of skipping past Santa Cruz, my wife and I stopped into town with our boys to try out the New Dream Inn. Wow, what an amazing experience we had! From the moment we arrived and the help at the front desk to the awesome service we received at the pool. This is the only place to stay when visiting Santa Cruz! I will be returning again and again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 175 W. Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (Formerly Coast Santa Cruz Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fun culmination between the beach and the slightly offbeat town of Santa Cruz, the Santa Cruz Dream Inn is the ideal destination for a weekend escape, corporate event, family vacation or a romantic getaway. We're getting ready to make a splash. Our beachfront pool area will be closed for renovation from December 1, 2014 through March 12, 2015. We look forward to reopening with upgraded amenities and design, plus a hot tub more luxurious than ever before-all steps from the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Monterey Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Groupon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel Santa Cruz
Dream Hotel Santa Cruz
Coast Santa Cruz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.