We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I saw it on the internet - so it must be true!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Crest Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cliff Crest Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Cliff Crest Bed and Breakfast Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   407 Cliff Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I saw it on the internet - so it must be true!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

I stayed here recently with my wife and kid for one night. The place is radically different from what I was expecting of a BandB in this price range and from the pictures on the website. The couple that runs it is very sweet and friendly but the place is in disrepair. There were cobwebs and SPIDERS above our four poster bed as well as in the bathroom. The toilet in the bathroom is wedged between the shower and the door leaving just enough room for someone to squeeeeze in! The breakfast was a joke. There was no menu - just some storebought bread, cheap coffee and eggs. The worst part was the heat was turned off in the middle of the night, leaving us and more importantly our 4yr old really cold and upset.
Don't be fooled by the pictures at the website - this place is unfortunately very different from any reasonable expectation for a BandB in this price range!

  • Liked — Friendly old couple that runs it
  • Disliked — Everything else...
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    8
    9
    7
See reviews for
14
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2007

The location is convenient, and we really appreciated the owners' child policy since we were traveling with our infant and many other B&Bs prohibit kids, but otherwise were disappointed with our stay. The innkeepers were nice enough but the amenities (towels, toiletries that were half full) left something to be desired, and the breakfast was especially disappointing. A great breakfast is normally one of our favorite aspects of staying in B&Bs, and this one consisted of our choice of store-bought bread from a basket and cooked eggs. It was the same both mornings we had breakfast. Sad for us because we always look forward to a breakfast that is a little more special. Overall, we found it a bit pricey for what was offered and wouldn't stay here again. For travelers looking primarily for a historic house filled with memorabilia, Cliff Crest Inn might a better fit than it was for us.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

Wow, there must be a lot of history in this home! The decor consists of many antiques. Our only disappointment was that we would have loved to have heard more about the history and house but the innkeepers were new owners. Adriana and Constantin were very warm and welcoming, especially as we were last minute guests arriving unexpectedly at 3am! (Thanks again!) We stayed in the Rose Room, which offered an amazingly comfortable bed next to open windows with the cool sea breeze coming in. Street noise was a little bothersome but we did not have trouble sleeping. It was said that our across-the-hall bathroom was private, but it seemed that the other guests occupied it. For breakfast, Adriana and Constantin prepared an apple pastry, scrambled eggs and potatoes. It was not really a gourmet style meal, if that is what you're going for. It was more like what you would eat at grandma's house. Service was good. Pricing was a little high, we thought and they could use new carpeting. We appreciated the history of the house, but probably would not make it a point to return.

  • Liked — The comfortable bed
  • Disliked — No opinion... It was an experience. I would not say anything was terrible.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

The B & B is old with alot of charm and history. The couple that own the B& B were so nice and sweet they tried their best to make us feel welcome., The food was home style and our room clean. The price was good for the area. We liked it and would go back just because the couple that ran it were so sweet.

Ana

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclefield UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

A mixed experience. We booked directly with the B& B having not read any reviews except the positive review in our Rough Guide.
We thought the house was lovely and quirky and we had a super comfortable 4 poster bed. The shower was good. The bathroom and toilet were old but functional which added character.
Breakfast was chaotic - we had no idea what was coming next and were offered raisin bread before eggs - it was a strange breakfast experience.
Overall the bed was great and the setting added character to our stay in Santa Cruz but it was priey for the experience.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — breakfast and price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

Approximately a half hour out of town we called the owner direct after finding the facility listed in both AAA and a California B&B
book. Rooms were available and a credit card was required to hold the room. Upon arriving, we did not get a good feel for the home and after being shown to our room, the feeling continued but we did not speak up, having committed with credit card. The carpeting was soiled, the bedding tacky and towels thread bare. Traffic noise in this front bedroom was heavy. We did not have a pleasant evening and opted out of breakfast.

A lesson...I would not feel obligated in the future if the facility were not up to our standards. The price was one of the highest paid on a 10 day trip.

  • Disliked — Poorly maintained, not clealn
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

Switch of reservation, no harmony. They just do not have a clue as to what a B&B is. It should be a boarding house. We went there because there was nothing else available and had stayed there 8 years ago when it was the real thing.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliff Crest Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Crest Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 407 Cliff Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cliff Crest Bed and Breakfast Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cliff Crest Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Crest Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.