We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, clean, new” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff to your Saves list
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
21305 East Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, clean, new”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

Much research showed that many of the hotels in Santa Cruz are rowdy motel-style beachfront shacks. Thankfully, we discovered Bella Notte. It is a family-run, newly constructed oasis of cleanliness and hospitality in Santa Cruz. It is centrally located and has ample parking. We stayed there for the first night of our trip on our drive down the coast, and it was very comfortable. The rooms look exactly like the pictures on their website. Everything was very clean, and there were ample amenities such as free water in the room, HDTV, plush bedding and robes. We had a fireplace in our room which was very nice. Since this hotel is fairly new, all of the furniture in the room was new as well, and it had tile floors which we prefer to carpet. Our rate was $179 for a Monday-night stay in October, and we felt that was fair.

  • Liked — Newness, cleanliness, family-run
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    29
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
71
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

My wife and I stayed here recently for two nights. The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. Excellent bedding, shower, TV, lighting, and fixtures. My only issue was that the shower was a bit noisy from the upstairs room. And there was road noise from the fairly busy street.

We would stay there again. Maybe we'd try to get an upstairs room.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and style of the rooms.
  • Disliked — The noisy shower from upstairs room.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

I stayed for only one night for a quick trip to Santa Cruz. After seeing the other hotels Santa Cruz had I didn’t want to stay anywhere! Most looked like motels and the rest actually were.
I decided to book with Bella Notte because the pictures looked good.
Once I arrived I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very large with high ceilings, a walk in closet and large bathroom with heated floors (a very nice touch)
The room felt more like a master bedroom than a hotel room and I slept like a baby.

This was my first visit to Santa Cruz and the Bella Notte will be my reason to come back for a relaxing getaway close to home.

  • Liked — Large Room, Heated bathroom floors
  • Disliked — Outside room entrance - No indoor halls
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vyp
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. It was lovely. The bath was awesome. I am tall and never find bathtubs that are the right size. Here they were perfect with room to spare. And did I mention the bubble jets? Relaxing. Michelle was fantastic! Alan and Susan were
great! This will be a number one stop for me!

  • Liked — The Tuscan feel.
  • Disliked — The rug.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

The Bella Notte Inn, meaning 'beautiful night' in Italian, is the place to stay when visiting Santa Cruz. Initially, I was apprehensive about booking 2 nights/3 days for the lady and myself because the price seemed too inflated. Once we arrived on site, our stress levels faded as Michelle cordially allowed us to select a room.

Michelle presented us 2 rooms and we selected room 4 as it contained a bubble bath; the other room was much larger but was reserved for the handicapped.

From the duck down pillows by Pacific Coast to the romantic ambience created by the room's light features, we will definitely stay here again.

Our favorite features:

*ample parking: although if the inn was full, I don't think there is enough stalls for every guest (even with 1 car space per guest)

*cordial welcome: Michelle allowed us to select our room and suggested local restaurants; Al, who I believe is the owner, was also friendly

*room amenities: heated bathroom tile, bath tub with jet feature, romantic lighting, wet bar, fridge, mirrored closet with robes, sandals and safe with keypad, very comfy pillows and bed...everything was simply wonderful

*breakfast: boxed cereal, Costco muffins, fruit, english muffin, apple or orange juice, and other selections

**location: Mexican restaurant approximately 250 feet, Twin Lakes Beach in just 7-10 minutes walking, and a quick drive to the boardwalk, downtown and other local attractions

*the lobby also has a DVD library which we failed to utilize

Please review our images for your consideration.

Thanks,

A_and_V_Jimenez

  • Liked — Amenities and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Booked this hotel for my elderly parents. Staff bent over backwards to accommodate their needs. The room was perfect for them. The walk in shower and heated floors made the experience so pleasant. They were in town for their grandsons wedding and were delighted with the hotel, staff and the town of Santa Cruz. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

I stayed at the Bella Notte last week for two nights. The room was lovely, new, clean, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. While on a moderately busy street, I heard no street noise because I had the air conditioner on. The bathroom and room are very large and the wireless internet is fast and free. There was an in-room fridge, little cocktail sink and closet safe.

In addition to the bed, my room only had one little straight back desk chair. There is ample room to put a reading chair and footrest which would add to the guests' comfort.

The continental breakfast downstairs was a little sketchy (there were guests sitting and eating right in front of the little sideboard where they had the food. To get food, I had to nearly put my rear in their faces). I didn't even realize there was a refrigerator with yogurt and juices. The continental breakfast doesn't start until 8:00, which is way too late for most of us over who rise early. When I checked in, there was no offer of help with my bags which would have been a problem had I had a larger bag ( I certainly would have asked). I did not see an elevator and I was on the second floor, so I lugged my bag up the stairs. For $200 plus per night, you expect to receive the little courtesies.

The above are mostly comments and not complaints-the innkeeper can fix a lot of these.

I will stay here again in a heartbeat since I will be visiting Santa Cruz regularly.

  • Liked — fast internet, lovely rooms, in-room safe
  • Disliked — lack of seating in room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Address: 21305 East Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Notte sets a new standard for Inns in the Santa Cruz area. Completed in December 2007, Bella Notte features ten spacious and well appointed rooms. We offer eight king rooms and two double queen rooms. Three superior king rooms also feature a fireplace and walk-in closet. All rooms feature imported marble bathrooms and heated bathroom floors. Bella Notte also provides free in room Wifi and cable TV with premium channels as well as free parking and complimentary hot breakfast. Bella Notte is located in Santa Cruz's Live Oaks neighbourhood, just two blocks from Twin Lakes Beach and close to several great local restaurants. The Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor is a short walk away and the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, lively downtown Santa Cruz and the popular seaside village of Capitola are all just a few minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Notte - The Inn At East Cliff Hotel Santa Cruz
Bella Notte Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.