We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff to your Saves list
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
21305 East Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at Bella Notte for 3 nights, was much quitter that I thought it would be. In Room 2, we were in a corner, so did not hear the street noise (cars driving by), and had 3 great nights of sleep. Room was clean, nice, and the hotel was wonderful. The owners, Lam and Darrell, were pleasant and easy to talk to, was easy to ask them for direction to places around the area. Breakfast was good, even had pastries from Gayle's in Capitola, which were very good.

Would stay there again, and that is the highest compliment I can give a place.

Room Tip: If street noise (cars) is an issue, try a corner room (Room 2 on first floor, and whatever the numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Scarlet, thank you for staying at Bella Notte and taking the time to write a review. Many of our guests have commented how much they enjoy our breakfast (served March - October). We cannot take all the credit as the hot breakfast comes from our friends at the Britannia Arms and the pastries from Gayle's in Capitola. Two of our favorite places locally that we are happy to introduce to our guests. We hope you'll come see us again. Sincerely Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    37
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
89
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great little hotel with lovely rooms and friendly staff. The beds were comfortable and the shower was good, everything felt high quality. Breakfast room was compact, but the food was great with lots of fresh fruit and juices on offer as well as the usual cereals, yoghurts, etc. The beach is a 5 minute walk away across the street. Great place to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Claire, thank you for sharing your experience at Bella Notte. We hope you'll come see us again if your travels bring you back to Santa Cruz. Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Metuchen, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was a little worried because there weren't as many trip advisor reviews as I had hoped, but this place was great. The rooms had high ceilings, super clean. The fridge made a loud noise but the staff was quick and responsive to help with it. Great location, quiet area (asked for quiet room away from the street) with a few restaurants down the road and just a few blocks from a beautiful beach. Really enjoyed and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Sharon, thank you for staying at Bella Notte and taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you liked your room and our location. We are sorry about the fridge noise issue and happy it was resolved quickly. We are now having all the in room mini refrigerators serviced and as needed replaced. Regards, Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

we had some family come into town and upon word of mouth we suggested the Bella notte . well it turned out to be a great choice . first of all great location ,close to everything and very easy to give directions to sites in Santa Cruz and capitola . close to a great ''locals'' beach . the staff couldnt be better and even up-graded the room to a larger one that was vacant until the weekend . all and all a great experience that we would defiantly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for your review of Bella Notte. As a local your opinion means a great deal to us as we try to contribute in a positive manner to the local community. We are happy to hear your out of town guests enjoyed our location, two blocks from the beach and centrally located between downtown Santa Cruz and Capitola. We hope you'll keep us in mind for any future guests coming to town. Best wishes Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My son's wedding party stayed here. The staff is friendly and very helpful. I needed to find a pharmacy and the directions were simple and straight forward. One of the party was handicapped and they carried her luggage to her room.

We used the larger room for the cosmetologist and to change into our suits. I asked if we could have more coffee than the small brewer produced. They provided the coffee, creamer, sweetener and also cookies and scones!

THe rooms were fairly large, even the smaller ones and were decorated as it you were in an upscale high end hotel.

The breakfast was more than continental with scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, pastries, juice and coffee.

Truly a great place to stay. I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Tbuckeman, Thank you for taking the time time to share your experience at Bella Notte Inn. We are honored to have hosted part of the wedding party and that you enjoyed your stay. Congratulations to the bride and groom and best wishes to them for a long and happy marriage! Sincerely Bella Notte Staff and Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caiif. Bay Area
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a dozen fellow HD bikers. The front dest was welcoming and friendly. We had a beach fire, just a few block away. The rooms were great, with flat screen TV mount high on wall with HBO. There was a mood fireplace. Very clean room. Sink, refer, large closet, & Wifi. Would stay here again.




Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Pfergy, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bella Notte. We always enjoy having your group stay with us and happy you had such great weather to ride in the mountains/redwoods and for your beach BBQ. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Bella Notte staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our stay at the Bella Notte Inn in Santa Cruz was a great surprise. The location is excellent -one block from the beach and a very short driving distance to nice downtown areas. There also several places w/in walking distance to dine out or order in. The staff was very helpful in advising us where to eat, where to shop, and where to view the whales, dolphins, etc. The rooms are spacious, quiet, and very clean and the grounds are very well maintained. They cook a FULL breakfast on weekends and when the hotel is fully booked -- the scones were scrumptious! We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The two downstairs handicap access rooms are especially spacious with walk-in showers and heated flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear HSsquare, thank you for choosing Bella Notte. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and happy we could share some of our local favorite places to eat and activities with you. We too love the strawberry shortcake scones from Gayle's - perhaps a little too much! We hope you'll come back and see us again if you travels bring you back to Santa Cruz. Bella Notte Inn Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.8 mi away
Dream Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
5.3 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
1.8 mi away
Hotel Paradox
Hotel Paradox
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sea and Sand Inn
Sea and Sand Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Address: 21305 East Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Notte sets a new standard for Inns in the Santa Cruz area. Completed in December 2007, Bella Notte features ten spacious and well appointed rooms. We offer eight king rooms and two double queen rooms. Three superior king rooms also feature a fireplace and walk-in closet. All rooms feature imported marble bathrooms and heated bathroom floors. Bella Notte also provides free in room Wifi and cable TV with premium channels as well as free parking and complimentary hot breakfast. Bella Notte is located in Santa Cruz's Live Oaks neighbourhood, just two blocks from Twin Lakes Beach and close to several great local restaurants. The Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor is a short walk away and the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, lively downtown Santa Cruz and the popular seaside village of Capitola are all just a few minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Notte - The Inn At East Cliff Hotel Santa Cruz
Bella Notte Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.