We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YES! We have found our hotel for all our visits.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Save Saved
You added Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
21305 East Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Breakfast & Parking
Ranked #3 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“YES! We have found our hotel for all our visits.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My hubby and I have family in Santa Cruz and visit a few times a year, we did not have a regular place we stay though -- until now! We were charmed by this place and will stay here from now on when we come to town.

The staff was AMAZING! So friendly, thoughtful and professional. All were very kind to my tiny children. I was made to feel at ease immediately and offered a cold drink from their lobby fridge upon check-in.

The room was super clean, elegantly-casual with its decor and very spacious. The jetted tub in room #4 was a thrill for my two toddlers who had never been in one before. I love the tile floors, no creepy hotel carpeting underfoot, and the use of mirrors to really give an open feel to the room. The bed was comfy and extra pillows were in the closet if you needed them. Dish Network is offered on the TV.

The free breakfast was great: simple, freshly-made and a thoughtful variety. Greek yogurt, fruit, granola, eggs, bacon, potatoes, coffee, great strawberry scones, oatmeal packets, cookies, cereal, english muffins. It was a perfect way to start the day. My In-Laws are staying here now too because it is a nice hotel and we can all eat breakfast together outside on their lovely patio area without the hassel/cost/time of the restaurant crowds. Their coffee is good and real half-n-half is stored in the lobby mini fridge at the breakfast station.

There are other food places close by for easy fueling later in the day, the Aloha Grill down the street had an amazing beef teriyaki plate that hit the spot. The Windmill Cafe was next door as was an Italian Food place and both looked good. A mini market is about a block away and can help fill your mini fridge in the room. Also, the Inn offers complimentary bottled waters in your room -- such a nice greeting after a long car ride.

I am so glad we found this place while our kiddos are tiny, it will be a nice landing pad to make memories with them as they grow up and our visits to the area become more frequent. A+

Room Tip: We stayed in room #4 on the ground floor and it was not loud. The bedroom window opened up behind th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Heidi, thank you for your review of Bella Notte. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you and your family again next time you are in Santa Cruz! Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    17
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
45
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We loved this small motel just outside the city limits of Santa Cruz, CA. We've been visiting Santa Cruz for the past 4 years while our youngest daughter attended UCSC and have never been impressed with the hotel stock there. This is the only motel/hotel I can recommend whole-heartedly to travelers. We had to pay a premium because we stayed on graduation weekend, so I can't comment on the value, but all the hotels overcharge then just because they can. Otherwise, the rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. It's walking distance to the beach. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The free breakfast is great and included bacon, scones, fresh fruit, many choices of teas, etc. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Ethel, thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bella Notte. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, but sad to hear you found us right as your youngest daughter graduated from UCSC. We have many guests with children at UCSC who book with us year after year and we look forward to seeing them each year and catching up. We believe Bella Notte's rates to be very competitive for the amenities offered, but your are correct in that UCSC graduation week(end) is probably the most expensive time to stay in Santa Cruz as all hotels will be full regardless of price or ratings. Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was the perfect hotel and after some bad experiences on our Honeymoon this completely saved us! The Staffw ere brilliant, always helpful and would offer advice and suggestions on where to go and what to do. We had the room with the bubble tub (no 4) and this was excellent. I couldnt recommend this place more. Also has the advantage of being in one of the collest places we have been to, a perfect stay

Room Tip: Get the room with the bubble tub, amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Dynamo, Thank you for staying with us during your honeymoon trip to the US and sharing your experience at BellaNotte on Tripadvisor. We enjoyed having you and your wife stay with us and wish you both all the best with your future travels and a long and happy marriage! Sincerely Bella Notte Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is the first time i have ever written a review ever -that tells you how great our stay here was. We found Bella Notte on the internet and decided to take a chance and we're so glad we did. When we arrived we found the outside beautifully kept and clean. We were greeted warmly and allowed to check in early. Our room was #8 and I would describe it as exceptionally clean, fresh, beautifully and thoughtfully decorated, comfortable, roomy, with extra seating, large bathroom, nice tub and shower, extremely comfortable bed, very quiet, and reasonably priced. First day breakfast was nice bakery fresh baked goods and fresh strawberries, blueberries and blackberries as well as cereal, juice, coffee and english muffins. Second day breakfast was the same PLUS scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon and sausage. We were new to the area and the host offered help and advice during our stay. This inn truly defines the definition of "wonderful hospitality."

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Sandy, thank you taking the time to share your experience staying at Bella Notte. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll come back and visit again soon. Staff & Management, Bella Notte Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Every once in awhile the stars align, magic happens, and you find the perfect hotel.....Bella Notte is just such a place. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, we thought we would find a good hotel and instead found a truly excellent one where the owners have paid attention to every detail and are on the premises to make sure their guests needs are truly satisfied.
We arrived after a long flight from the East Coast on April 17th to a warm and friendly welcome and with an offer of refreshments from Carol. We then checked out our room, and to our surprise it rose way beyond our expectations. Our initial amazement came from the sheer size of this room.....from the reviews on this board every room is unusually large. It was quickly followed by our personal ‘must haves’, which is a clean quiet room. Bella Notte is a quiet, spotless, well-appointed room with a comfortable bed and deluxe linens. This is a family run hotel that was built from the ground up with only the best materials. From the furniture to the heated bathroom tiles, everything is high end and clearly no expense was spared to make this that elusive ‘perfect place’ to call your home away from home. The longer we stayed the more we noticed the little details inside and outside of the hotel that separate this from the big chain hotels.
These owners genuinely care about this hotel and their guests, and it absolutely shows in every single thing they do. They offer a well thought out breakfast, bottles of refreshments, luxurious robes and more importantly, the one thing that seems to fall short in the best five star hotel these days, and that’s the feeling that you...that your stay in their hotel, matters to them.
This is a remarkable hotel, run by owners and a staff that greet you like old friends, and by the time you check out, make you feel as though you left family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Edge23, thank you for your kind words. We are truly humbled by your review and so happy to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and if your travels bring you back to Santa Cruz we look forward to seeing you again. Staff & Management Bella Notte Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stressed out? Try a room here with a bubble tub and then fall into a comfy bed with great linens and dream on! We enjoyed our stay here. The room was large, well furnished, and quiet and the owners were lovely people. Continental breakfast was excellent with pastries from Gayles, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, Numi teas and good coffee. Located in a great location away from the crowds and near Twin Lakes State beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear J L, thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bella Notte. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll stop by and see us again if your travels bring you back to Santa Cruz. Bella Notte Staff & Managmement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We really liked this place. So often we pay a lot of money for coastal places and leave feeling that it wasn't worth it. This place was different. The room was very large, well decorated, and had a few extra little things that I appreciated. The bathroom floor was heated! How cool is that. There was mirrow that was magnified for putting on makeup. The body products were of good quality. But what we really appreciated was the so-called "continental" breakfast that was actually a full breakfast, eggs, bacon, potatoes, the works. The host was gracious and thoughtful. The location was good, but as it is a short walk to the beach and about a 10 minute drive from the Rio Theater where we saw a great concert. Were glad we had room #8 because it was away from the road and very quiet. Just really a nice place to stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Mtncpl06, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bella Notte. We appreciate your feedback and happy you enjoyed the hot breakfast we serve on weekends. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Santa Cruz. Regards, Bella Notte Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Also Known As:
Bella Notte - The Inn At East Cliff Hotel
Bella Notte - The Inn At East Cliff Hotel Santa Cruz
Bella Notte Santa Cruz
Address: 21305 East Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Notte sets a new standard for Inns in the Santa Cruz area. Completed in December 2007, Bella Notte features ten spacious and well appointed rooms. We offer eight king rooms and two double queen rooms. Three superior king rooms also feature a fireplace and walk-in closet. All rooms feature imported marble bathrooms and heated bathroom floors. Bella Notte also provides free in room Wifi and cable TV with premium channels as well as free parking and complimentary continental breakfast. Bella Notte is located in Santa Cruz's Live Oaks neighbourhood, just two blocks from Twin Lakes Beach and close to several great local restaurants. The Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor is a short walk away and the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, lively downtown Santa Cruz and the popular seaside village of Capitola are all just a few minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.