We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and Elegant, Beautiful Rooms, Quiet and Convenient Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff to your Saves list
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
21305 East Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Danville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“New and Elegant, Beautiful Rooms, Quiet and Convenient Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bella Note in January, with the goal of a quiet romantic weekend getaway. WOW were we pleased with our choice of Bella Notte! This Inn is obviously new and modern, with very tasteful European decorative flair. Our room was quite spacious and was decorated in a way that made us feel luxurious and comfortable, including a faux electric fireplace, sharp looking carpets, expensive looking floor tiles, refrigerator, flat screen TV, fine touches all the way around. The bathroom was very clean and neat, and decorated so nicely, way beyond that of a standard hotel room. The owners of the Belle Notte Inn were so pleasant and friendly, and offered us very good advice on local restaurants and things to do, including a short five minute walk to the beach/state park nearby. Needless to say, my wife was so happy with our stay she can't wait to spend another magical weekend at Bella Notte!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Nina,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying at Bella Notte. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    26
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
61
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Bella Note is a great hotel. The location is perfect and a mere two blocks from a great beach. Getting to the harbor, Boardwalk, downtown is quick and easy. Capitola is also a easy drive.

The rooms are beautiful (My wife loved the heated floor in the bathroom....).

The owners of this establishment have created a real oasis. I would recommend Bella Notte to anyone. You will not find a nicer room in Santa Cruz. And the cost of a room is a super bargain.

We will go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Eastman85. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bella Notte Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

There are general expectations when you stay at a hotel. Then, there are the little things that make you smile. After that, If your lucky you find a hotel that goes above and beyond to make your stay unbelievable.

The story begins by finding this hotel by chance. I had taken my significant other to Santa Cruz on Vacation. We are pretty young and spontaneous. We decided to stay here. Mainly because this hotel is very close to one of my favorite beaches my folks took me to when I was little.

There was no reservation. In hotel language we were a "Walk-In" yet, I can be assured that I will make a reservation to stay here again.

Check In was extremely pleasant. The man who checked us was extremely welcoming. And, since it was December, we had a very modest rate.

The room was top-notch. It was large, new, beautiful and welcoming. I even had taken pictures of the bathroom so I can use it as a model when I remodel the bathroom in my house.

The property is small. Less than 50 rooms. I can Imagine if this hotel were larger and had a restaurant. It would be a Five Star resort.

My girlfriend was overwhelmed about the interior design.


I would have to say, that this hotel is something that a couple would want to keep secret. It is something special, and its something unique.

I will most definitely plan a visit here again.

Room Tip: The best rooms have fireplaces. Pay for the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Vegas1824 thank you for taking the time to write a review of Bella Notte. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great location, beautiful rooms, very clean and very close to the beach. There are restaurants and a cafe within walking distance and it's less than 15 minutes from the boardwalk and downtown. Although it's on a major thoroughfare, the rooms were very quiet. We did have an issue with the room, but the management took care of it. They were professional and courteous throughout. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Santa Cruz. I know I plan on going back there.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Hojaka. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience staying at Bella Notte. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Santa Cruz!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

With such wonderfully decorated rooms and the most comfortable beds and only a shirt walk to a gorgeous beach, who could go wrong?

The service was wonderful, we got chatting to the owners who were very helpful in arranging a taxi to take us to our booked restaurant and it turned out they had dined there a few nights before and could give us menu recommendations too.

They have thoughtfully placed a fridge full of free water and fruit juices in reception for you to help yourselfers to and the free continental breakfast was wonderful too. My husband loved the muffins, they were huge.

All in all, if you want friendly, efficient and thoughtful service and a very luxurious room at a great price, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Louise, thankt you for taking the time to share your experience at Bella Notte. It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we made a good starting point for your trip south along beautiful highway one. We hope you'll come and visit us next time you are this side of the pond and if you ever open that B&B in Cornwall let us know and we'll come visit you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Called for a last minute and late booking. We were pleasantly surprised with this property. Very comfortable room...especially the bed which was WONDERFUL! It was very comfortable!
Nice and clean bathroom as well. I reco this place for a night in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear WBM. Thank you for taking the time share your experience staying at Bella Notte. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a safe trip home to Atlanta. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had booked into the Bella Nottte for our 50th wedding anniversary. Our room was spotless, well appointed, and very roomy. Our kids had taken the touble of ordering champagne and sending a special card and both were waiting for us when we checked in. Our host said he'd had the room ready and the champagne chilling in case we got there early.
We had a lot of questions re: where to get gas, how to get to the beach (a quick 5 minute walk), etc. and he was so patient. We were so welcomed and the hospitality was great. Our only small disappointment was that breakfast was an extremely basic continental breakfast and a bit awkward.

Room Tip: Room 3 was huge and really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Notte_95062, Owner at Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Dustysand,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bella Notte. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the feedback, it enables us to improve, so you can enjoy your next stay with us even more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Address: 21305 East Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Notte sets a new standard for Inns in the Santa Cruz area. Completed in December 2007, Bella Notte features ten spacious and well appointed rooms. We offer eight king rooms and two double queen rooms. Three superior king rooms also feature a fireplace and walk-in closet. All rooms feature imported marble bathrooms and heated bathroom floors. Bella Notte also provides free in room Wifi and cable TV with premium channels as well as free parking and complimentary continental breakfast. Bella Notte is located in Santa Cruz's Live Oaks neighbourhood, just two blocks from Twin Lakes Beach and close to several great local restaurants. The Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor is a short walk away and the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, lively downtown Santa Cruz and the popular seaside village of Capitola are all just a few minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Notte - The Inn At East Cliff Hotel Santa Cruz
Bella Notte Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.