We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a quiet area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Save Saved
You added Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff
21305 East Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Breakfast & Parking
Ranked #1 of 52 hotels in Santa Cruz
Glendale, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a quiet area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 2 week nights during the second week of June. This is a lovely small hotel with some nice features.

There isn't a lot of beach front accommodation in Santa Cruz, and this is only a block or two away from a very nice beach, Twin Lakes. It is on a busy street but we didn't hear any traffic noise. (Except when we were packing up on Saturday morning, we got to see a huge vintage car club go cruising by. An unexpected pleasure for my car nut husband and son.) We did have to drive places, but I liked that the hotel was away from the busier areas. We ate at a Hawaiian restaurant which is within walking distance of the hotel, and it was very good, and very Santa Cruz casual. There are also a few other restaurants withing walking distance that we didn't try.

We stayed in a very large upstairs room, #8, that had a King bed and plenty of room for a roll-a-way bed for our son. Everything was very clean and new, with an elegant feel to the furnishings. We appreciated the fridge and the large walk in closet with shelves to keep all our things. The bathroom was nicely appointed, and we loved the heated floors! I also liked that there is a window in the bathroom for ventilation, though it faces the parking area. The staff was friendly and helped us carry our (excessive) luggage up the stairs! I didn't have any of the included continental breakfast, which is very basic. But the owner gave my young son a homemade cookie that was not part of the regular breakfast. He was thrilled!

The only downside was that the room only had one window so it was a little dark inside. And the bed was a little soft for my taste, but I prefer a firm mattress. Otherwise I would highly recommend this hotel to those looking for a nice place away from the Boardwalk, and withing walking distance to a nice beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    21
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
52
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here a weekend with my wife and found it to be a wonderful gem. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and the rooms were clean and well-decorated. The LCD tv with hdmi was a delight as I had brought my own system to play videos.

No, the inn is not on the beach but just a few blocks from one, which kept the area quiet and peaceful.

The only thing I couldn't find nearby was a vending machine for drinks which could have been handy but the restaurant next door solved this problem.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF,CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I was nervous about staying just because I thought the pictures were doctored up a bit, but it was a very pleasant stay. We paid 149/nt which was the cheapest I could find in the area. The rooms are just as pretty as the pictures and they were very clean too. It looks as though the place may have been recently renovated because it smelled new. We aren't too familiar with the Santa Cruz area, but having closer to the boardwalk before, this place was just a bit of a drive more....maybe 7 minutes more. It isn't a big deal and you drive through a couple of nice beaches on the way. It's closer to the harbor restaurants, an area I never knew existed. It's in a quiet neighborhood and while there were a good amount of cars driving through the road in front of the hotel, it wasn't too noisy where we weren't able to fall asleep. If you are staying here hoping to get the free breakfast make sure to ask if they'll have it. They told us that since there weren't too many people staying in the inn they weren't going to serve breakfast. It didn't matter much to us, but if this is a must for you make sure to inquire before you book. Inn keeper was friendly and helpful. If you want to stay on the second floor like we did just call and ask which rooms those would be. We were in 7 and 9. Room 7 was very spacious while 7 had a smaller square footage. Both were perfect for double occupancy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Clean, warm, pretty and comfortable. The Bella Notte fit the bill on our trip that was a combo business/pleasure. We decided to stay in Santa Cruz since we were doing business with our 3-year-old and Nanny along. They could enjoy the area by foot/bus and we could commute over the hill. The commute was a tad long, but so pretty, we didn't mind. And the hotel fit the bill. And we really appreciated the friendliness of the hotel staff. We'll likely stay here again.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

We stayed one night when moving our daughter out of UCSC. Nice, quiet residential neighborhood. Lovely owners (I assume they're the owners) Carol and Alan were cheerful and efficient in getting us in and squaring us away about how to work the WI-FI. The room was quite large, and so welcoming that we decided to get take-out and have dinner in our room rather than eat in a restaurant. Heated bathroom floor - great! I am a usually a chronic bargain-hunter but I didn't at all regret spending the few extra bucks to stay here. Comfortable beds, bathrobes, HDTV, wet bar and fridge - all added up to a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

If your looking for comfortable, clean, well appointed and modern ammenities while staying in the Santa Cruz area, look no further. I've stayed at the Bella Notte Inn on several ocassions and I am never dissapointed. I put out of town guests there frequently and they all have enjoyed their stay. The owners treat you great and the rooms are comfortable. This is the newest hotel in the area and it's in the right location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierras
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We had a delightful overnight stay at the Bella Notte Inn. We found the room to be exceptionally clean and welcoming with wonderful decor and soft linens. The host allowed us to pick our room once we got there and we chose the one with the fireplace. The room also had a small kitchen area with sink and refrigerator and we felt like we could have stayed there for a week! The bed was firm, which my husband likes, and the pillows were soft, which I like. It was also about a three block walk to beach access (You have to walk down stairs) and was in a nice part of Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff

Address: 21305 East Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Cruz
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Cruz
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Notte sets a new standard for Inns in the Santa Cruz area. Completed in December 2007, Bella Notte features ten spacious and well appointed rooms. We offer eight king rooms and two double queen rooms. Three superior king rooms also feature a fireplace and walk-in closet. All rooms feature imported marble bathrooms and heated bathroom floors. Bella Notte also provides free in room Wifi and cable TV with premium channels as well as free parking and complimentary continental breakfast. Bella Notte is located in Santa Cruz's Live Oaks neighbourhood, just two blocks from Twin Lakes Beach and close to several great local restaurants. The Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor is a short walk away and the famous Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, lively downtown Santa Cruz and the popular seaside village of Capitola are all just a few minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Notte - The Inn At East Cliff Hotel Santa Cruz
Bella Notte Santa Cruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.