We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food , great service, small restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Tail Seafood Market and Grill

Fish Tail Seafood Market and Grill
28104 Newhall Ranch Rd, Santa Clarita, CA 91355
(661) 295-3474
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 373 Restaurants in Santa Clarita
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Fresno, California
1 review
“great food , great service, small restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

the food was great and the service was excellent , however it was located a little bit out of the path, but its easy to find with a gps. I had the Ahi Tuna poke bowl , and it was really good , also the green tea mochis for desert were amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eldersburg, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great find in Santa Clarita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stopped here for dinner on a business trip through town. Difficult to decide what to choose from the menu. Had absolutely delicious crispy fish tacos with sliced avocado. Prices are great for food this good. Portions were ample but I didn't leave feeling overstuffed. Server was polite and quick. We'll definitely be stopping by on our return trip through town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had the Ahi Tuna Poke Bowl and it was really good. If you like fresh fish, this is the place for you, reminds of a place I love in San Diego. Folks next to me got the fish and chips... good portion, looked and smelled fantastic, they raved about it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fresh fish in a fast food restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great poke - unbelievable Fish and Chips. Great salads. A little pricey, but a great value for the taste and freshness.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Refreshing Breath of Fresh Cuisine Air in Santa Clarita”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I don't know that we've ever enjoyed fish more than at Fish Tail, and we've had plenty of opportunity. It's nothing short of fantastic. Fresh fish from the local sea food markets in L.A., prepared by real pros in a family-restaurtant environment. Everything we've tried has been a real treat and made us wonder how we're so fortunate to have such a place in Santa Clarita where the normal faire is chain restaurants. Fresh Ahi bowls and dishes... even their grilled fish sandwich was to die for. The flavors are out of this world. You must try it - you won't be disappointed.

Unfortunately, there is a caveat. On a couple occasions, we had the seafood soup - which was so truly fantastic, they make it fresh (as anything they do) for each serving with ingredients cooked in view (I learned great cooking tips by watching them) - and I noticed from looking in my bowl on these occasions that they had not devein the shrimp - full on fully loaded vein.

I realize that globally, this can be subjective whether to devein or not, but for us, it was a real turn off. We mentioned this to one of the family members hoping to remedy this once and for all, for an otherwise incredible eatery. Whether true or not, this family member said that they did this purposefully, that it was the owner's prefered method of preparation. Not what we wanted to hear, and we haven't been back since. I'm hoping they've changed this practice.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tail Seafood Market and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Fish Tail Seafood Market and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Tail Seafood Market and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.