We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky title, great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rattler's BBQ

Rattler's BBQ
26495 Golden Valley Rd., Santa Clarita, CA 91351
(661) 251-4195
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 427 Restaurants in Santa Clarita
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Funky title, great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

On a recent trip to California, we stayed in Santa Clarita. On checking out what was available to eat nearby we came upon Rattler's BBQ. The reviews seemed favourable, so of went, and we are glad we did. Upon entering we discovered an open plan country style interior that was decorated quite imaginatively. All around the restaurant were cowboy boots that were individually decorated, some with cowboys scenes painted on them, others with knives and forks and still others with beads, bedazzled, buttons, flowers etc, you name it someone had decorated a boot with it. They also had cool light fixtures that looked like they were made of wagon wheels and colored bottles, everywhere you looked was something unique to look at. On to the food; we ordered a combination platter. You can choose between two or three meats and choice of sides. We ordered the Tri Tip, the Ribs and Boneless Chicken Breast with the twice baked mashed potatoes and baked beans. We only ordered one combination,and when you factor in the delicious buns that are brought to each table it was plenty between the two of us. All the meat choices were tender, flavorful and had just the right amount of bbq flavor. The service was great, the ambience was fun and a different experience that I would recommend anyone try, especially if you like bbq.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a local place that has been around for years. The food is good and consistent. The service is also good. Rattlers is part of a family of BBQ joints located in So. Cal under a variety of different names such as Stonefire and more each run (so I am told) by a different family member. The ribs are good as is the brisket. They have a great salad bar for those that would rather stay away from the meats but yet have a family of meat eaters.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Some of the best ribs I've tasted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

When our family drive south we always try and make a trip here. They have some of the tastiest beef ribs around. I once got a full portion and it was enough to feed me for two days...The roll they serve are the best Ive ever tasted. Everything on the menu is very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“it's fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was surprised at how many rave reviews. Lucille's at Valencia Town Center is far better. The food was average, the prices average, the service was good, the ambience is good, the parking is great. I would not steer people away from it, but I wouldn't exactly send them there either.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This restaurant started in another location in the SCV. The decor at the old location was more western, the newer location has a few painted boots, but otherwise a more modern look. The salad bar, which used to be much more comprehensive, still has the basics and serves well as a meal accompaniment.

You get butter garlic rolls while you wait, which are slathered in butter, so as long as you don't mind the carb/cholesterol combo they are oh so good.

The attached picture is what I ordered, half a BBQ chicken with a small serving of tri-tip and a side of mashed potatoes. I know the picture isn't great, but that's how it arrived. Not a terribly exciting presentation, with a lot of empty plate space.

I know BBQ taste is a personal preference. That being said, I prefer a sweet BBQ sauce over more spicy versions, and Rattler's serves what I like. The chicken is what you'd expect, and the tri-tip was very tender. Slopping it up with the sweet BBQ sauce is what makes it (for me) better than your average BBQ joint.

The specials at Rattler's mean they have a meal at a great price, not like other places where it is an expensive out of the ordinary selection.

I've been here on numerous occasions and will surely return, as the food is predictably good and the specials at Rattler's have yet to disappoint.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rattler's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Rattler's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rattler's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.