We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Druggies, Prostitudes, Bad motel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Santa Clara

Vagabond Inn Santa Clara
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Santa Clara to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Santa Clara
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3580 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Sacramento
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Druggies, Prostitudes, Bad motel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I was I impressed by their nice lobby, was I wrong upon going towards my room there were a few low life guys standing around having a Mary Jane party being loud and using many curse words they were also drinking alcohol since there were tons of beer cans on the grounds. The young girl next to my room was a prostitude as many men went in and out of her room slamming the door all day and night long followed by many headboard banggins go figured. I call the desk to request extra pillows they never answered I tried various times and nothing so I went to front desk to request pillows but the office was closed with No Vacancy sign they really mean it. It seems like some guest live there since they have Halloween decorations on the windows and door it looks cheap and tacky. Breakfast is simple but good to start the day. The clerk was half asleep and grumpy still in his pajamas he must live there, he never asked about my stay just took the keys and said OK. The only good thing is the cleanning ladies do a very good job the rooms were clean no hair or dust. Also they have dirty towels and carpet was filthy. I would never stay here again not for $90.00 so not worth it!! My advice stay away look else where.Io

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We want to genuinely thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It’s unfortunate it wasn’t such a pleasant one, however, we have hired new management and we guarantee that this would not occur again. A lot has changed since 2011 and it’s our pleasure to greet each guest with a warm smile, whether it’s 3am or 3pm. Our guests are very important to us and we hope to have our future guests experience that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    44
    25
    11
    29
See reviews for
24
24
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

After reading the reviews for this hotel, I phoned the property to book our reservation as opposed to booking online due to our need for a handicap accessible room. They could not give us a handicap accessible room but we booked a downstairs room with a king bed, however when we got there we found out that the room we were “guaranteed” had been given away because they had a large party book AFTER we had already made our reservation. We were given a room with 2 queen beds instead. Note: there are no elevators on this property. The room was relatively clean although had a musty/mildew smell. The room was missing the coffee maker and NO bath towels! The alarm was left on from the previous guests so we were awoken much earlier than we preferred. The room is just bare basics, nothing fancy but the beds are fairly comfortable. There is a small pool but no hot tub. The continental breakfast is just minimal bare basics, NO waffles as had been mentioned in a previous review and there is nowhere to sit, you have to take your meager meal back to your room. If you just need a basic room for a night and don’t care much about the amenities then it’s fine but we will not be returning to this property and definitely do not recommend this place for anyone handicapped or with accessibility issues. I really have to wonder if many of these reviews have been seriously inflated by hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Each comment allows us to improve. Upon reading your comments I would like to share that we were happy to upgrade your room at no extra charge. Our housekeepers go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure every room is in exceptional condition for each and every guest, we’re sorry we fell short of your expectations. In regards to the free continental breakfast, it is not supposed to be a buffet breakfast but instead a quick and convenient pick-up-and-go to start to the day, as we write this to you it is also being reviewed by the food and beverage department. Also, please note our staff would never make or post false comments posing as guests. This would be considered as dishonest; we pride ourselves on being a company with integrity and honesty. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations, with that being said I would like to not only extend another heartfelt apology but also a free night stay with us so that you will see that we do improve always. Thank you again for your feedback, we greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I was in Bay area for Business trip and stayed at Vagabond Inn for 3 nights and i just had excellent stay. I had experienced such a service which you can expect from a 4 star or 5 star hotel. Staff is excellent here, rooms are very clean and in such a value they provide good complimentary breakfast as well as high speed internet which was surprising. I will definitely come back and stay in Vagabond Inn when i will be visiting bay area and will also recommend to others very clean and comfortable beds. :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for you feedback. As you mentioned, we are an inexpensive hotel, however we offer great quality, our housekeepers guarantee a clean and neat room for each guest, outstanding customer service and delicious free breakfast in the morning! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed 4/25. So satisfied stayed again 5/4 and 5/5. Rooms very clean, staff very pleasant, location excellent. Planning to stay again early June.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. As you mentioned, our location is amazing, very convenient and “close to everything”. We are glad to know you were able to go to places you wanted to with no hassle. We guarantee to maintain clean and comfortable rooms for each and every single one of our guests! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

The staff was very friendly, the service was really good. For a single person, who eats out mostly, I found it better than renting an apartment in the Bay Area. You have restaurants, pharmacy, grocery stores - all within walking distance of this place. Inside the room, there is a little wall separating out the living space from the cloth hangers and microwave, fridge / sink, so if you have guests coming to meet you, there is a little privacy for your personal belongings. There is free continental breakfast. Vagabond Inn, Santa Clara, CA provides you good value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, we’re glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one. It’s always good to know that a guest has left our hotel satisfied with our staff and room quality. Our location was chosen with that purpose in mind, convenient and accessible to all sights. We’re also happy to know you enjoyed our delicious free breakfast; it’s our pleasure to make your stay with us, incredible. Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderale, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

I found Vagabond hotel from just a web search - no discount hotel sites, or any of that hassle. But Vagabond's prices were as competitive as the hotel discounters. Weekly rate worked out even better. The desk staff are friendly, and i was surprised that even the cleaning staff were friendly (sign of good management)
Room had Refrigerator and microwave, good TV and remote, two double beds (me on one, my stuff on the other), located at a good intersection but still quiet. Desk setup, free wireless internet, free simple breakfast in am (cereals, coffee, juice, breads, fruit, yogurt, etc.
I have stayed in countless hotels over the years, business and pleasure. I am a fan of this place because it meet the needs of the traveler, all the basics plus competitive price.

Room Tip: i lucked out and got a room in the back corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we’re very happy to hear about your experience at our hotel. It’s with great pleasure that we provide outstanding customer service and warm friendly staff. We’re glad you enjoyed our room and amenities, as everything is for the comfort and pleasure of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We were very disappointed with this place. The room was small and dingy and smelled musty. The bedspreads were falling apart at the seams and had burn holes. The towels were very thin, hard and scratchy. There was an overflowing garbage can near our room. When we got up in the morning, there was no water! We were told the water would be off for several hours. Unbelievable!

We were never able to get the internet working.

This place is overpriced. We could have stayed at the Motel 6 for less. We thought if we paid more, we would get a little more but this is the equivalent of the Motel 6 but charges more. Never again will we return to this place.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your response, any responses we receive is an opportunity for us to improve. Were very sorry for the water being turned off during your stay, unfortunately progress has its consequences, the water was turned off because we are in the middle of completely renovating our hotel. As explained to you during your stay we will be more than happy to offer you a complementary free night after the renovations are completed. Once again thank you for the time you took to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Santa Clara

Address: 3580 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Santa Clara 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location and friendly service! Close to Great America Theme Park, Winchester Mystery House, Downtown, Santa Cruz Boardwalk, Santa Clara University, Stanford University, and the San Jose Airport. Our amenities include, but are not limited to, Free Breakfast, In-room coffee, Microwave and Refrigerator available, Free Newspaper, Swimming Pool, and On-site Restaurant. Great value - visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vagabond Inn Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Vagabond Hotel Santa Clara
Vagabond Motel Santa Clara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Santa Clara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.