We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had no idea how good I had it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stan's Donut Shop

Stan's Donut Shop
2628 Homestead Rd, Santa Clara, CA 95051
(408) 296-5982
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 365 Restaurants in Santa Clara
Restaurant details
Virginia Beach, VA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“I had no idea how good I had it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

As a small child in the early 1960s I used to walk to Stan's Donuts, crossing Homestead Road after attending catechism at St. Justin's Church on Saturday mornings. My mom would give me $2 for a dozen donuts, which I would carry the 1 mile, very carefully, all the way down Homestead Road, the change stuffed into my pocket.

I no longer live in California, but every year when I fly back to visit family, I stop in at Stan's. Last month's trip for donuts was as amazing as it is every year. I had no idea how good I had it when I could get a Stan's Donut whenever I wanted. How do they do it? Their jelly filled is like no other. Large and flaky, slightly crisp on the outside (it's a texture, mouth appeal thing--I haven't found anything close anywhere around the United States), soft and cloudlike on the inside, with just the right amount of red jelly, and copious amounts of mouth-watering powdered sugar that coats the front of your shirt with tell-tale white puffs--the way a jelly donut should. All the other donuts and bars, in all the usual classic variety, are just as memorable.

Stan's is known as a greasy spoon kind of place. One long old counter. Dreary walls. A big deep fryer, a cash register, glaze-drippy donut racks out front and a very focused donut maker in the window wielding huge wads of cream-colored dough. Need I say more? It's been the same for decades. I hope it never changes. Stan's donuts are just that good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic donuts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stan's has been around forever and the inside has been preserved so it's fun to just look at. There is still a lunch counter with old fashioned signage and a glass case for the donuts. The donuts are out of this world! If you go early on the weekends, the line is out the door. Yes, it's that good!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing donuts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I've been going to Stan's since I was a child. Their donuts have stayed as moist and delicious as ever! For an extra treat, try to go first thing in the morning..you won't be sorry!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
1 review
“Best Donuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Worth the drive for that big Glaze Donut Fix. We get them and make sure you get a dozen to cure the fix. It will do the job! You will tell everyone how good they are .Thanks Stan's Donuts for all the years and what you have done for the community.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Still going strong after more than 50 years - THE BEST DONUTS.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have not found a better donut in the world. Stan's are cake-y, moist, sweet, and delicious. Taste one and you will see why donuts are worth eating. They make Krispie Kreme, Dunkin' Donuts, and all of the other so-called "gourmet" donuts seem like sugared cardboard.

The shop hasn't changed much; it's just a long counter and a glass case of donuts. You will probably just order to take out.

Try to just eat one!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stan's Donut Shop also viewed

 

Been to Stan's Donut Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stan's Donut Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.