We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, solid Embassy Suites. Good for Business Travel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2885 Lakeside Drive, Santa Clara, CA 95054   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Santa Clara
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good, solid Embassy Suites. Good for Business Travel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times, most recently October 2012. The layout and decor is the same as every other Embassy Suites - so, solid, wearing well, usable, functional, a little boring although the hallways are a little ... depressing at times (see photo). But ... that's the way it goes.

Reception staff were extremely helpful - I'd just flown in from the East Coast trying to leave before Sandy struck and was delayed a bit. The staff didn't charge me for the night I wasn't there, and then let me check in early to leave my bags. Very friendly and caring of them!

Room service was a little slow but they warn you about the wait over the phone. The portions are large though - so go easy!

Gym: Functional - gets busy in the mornings.

Breakfast: A good breakfast with really friendly staff - particularly the hot breakfast chef. Free omelettes every morning with a smile.

Bar: Some free snacks served in the evening. A nice touch. Bartender was very professional.

Rooms: Clean. Well maintained, Hilton / Embassy Suites standard. One note: the cleaners, while extremely polite and helpful, do tend to chat and talk quite a bit in the hallways when they're doing other rooms which can get noisy if you're trying to do an early morning conference call from your room.

Overall: A good business hotel if you need to be in the area, nice to have the extra space and the free hot breakfast is a really nice touch to look forward to in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    99
    48
    14
    9
See reviews for
95
32
18
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Good solid Embassy Suites. My room was at the end of the hall and very quiet. I would recommend asking for a room not on the freeway side. Room service was very slow, but the food was good. Surprisingly though, no Hhonors amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Embassy Suites was just as expected. The room was well appointed with a separate desk/living room. The bathroom was a bit sparse, but certainly efficient. Breakfast was above average for a business hotel with made-to-order hot breakfast every morning. The business center was sufficient for printing boarding passes. The pool was so small it would take about 3 strokes to make it from one end to the other. Staff was very courteous at every encounter. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the hotel parking lot are better than those with the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent 3 nights at this Embassy Suites. My stay was enjoyable and I received excellent customer service from "Wally" the manager.

Hotel restaurant food is not that great - However, breakfast omlettes were very good and made to order. A few restaurants near by - but basically you need a car.

One point to note - lots of construction around the hotel. A little noisy at times but not unbearable. Also - some traffic noise due to location.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors to minimize construction noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I travel to this area a few times a year for work and this is where I love to stay. I have tried other properties and this one never disappoints me. Request a room on the side away from the main road for a nice, quiet stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The property is what you would expect from a Embassy suites property, and then probably a little better maintained than most. The room had the latest Hilton amenities, and nice updated flatscreen TV's. The happy hour, and free breakfast was everything you come to expect from Embassy. The only complaint I had was the wireless cam to a crawl around 7pm each night, so if you are trying to do work in the room it can be difficult.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just got back from a stay at this hotel. Have to note that in Room 311, the sliding windows doesn't close properly and that gap let in a lot of outside noise from Hwy 101 (right next door) - including the delivery trucks at 5am (this room is right above the loading dock on the rear of the hotel). That made for a less than stellar night's sleep and unfortunately, I never got a chance to request a different room. The mix of smoking and non-smoking floors (again floor 3) is disconcerting, and my request for a non-smoking room ended up with me in a smoking room, though to be honest, there was minimal smell. Agree with a previous poster that the hallways are a bit dark.

Overall, a high-quality hotel with a dynamite breakfast. Extremely convenient to the previously mentioned Hwy 101 and the San Jose Airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbSuites, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind feedback regarding the quality of our hotel and are glad the smell of your room was not an issue. We do sincerely apologize for the level of noise you experienced while you were attempting to sleep. This window is something that will be addressed and repaired in order to make sure this is not an issue for future guests. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara

Address: 2885 Lakeside Drive, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 257 spacious rooms and two-room suites features a master bedroom with king-size bed, separate living area complete with wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffeemaker, hairdryer, full size iron and ironing board, queen-size sofa sleeper, two televisions with remote control, two telephones with voice mail capability, High Speed Internet Access and a well lit dining/work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Santa Clara
Santa Clara Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.