We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Front Desk Manager” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2885 Lakeside Drive, Santa Clara, CA 95054   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Santa Clara from $164
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Santa Clara
San Jose, California
1 review
“Outstanding Front Desk Manager”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Outstanding Front Desk Manager " Wally" . He was so pleasant and profesional. Throughout our stay he always asked how we are.. if everything is okay.. We feel like I am Honored guest. He always cares about his guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    98
    46
    14
    9
See reviews for
92
32
18
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Overall this property proved to be worth every cent. We were close to friends, a wedding and a great area. The cocktail hour and the a.m. breakfast were the real draws for us this trip. The hotel starts serving early, which was great for our early out mornings. My one complaint was that the closet in the main bedroom was not able to open to its capacity because it was blocked by a bed???poor design.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Considering the many other hotels in Santa Clara/Sunnyvale, this is the place to stay. Rooms seem to have been redone recently; in typical Embassy Suites fashion, they are two room suites. Bedroom (with a king bed) was a bit small, but living room was larger. Refrigerator was included in room. Only issue with the room was the air conditioning: Living room would get nice and cold, bedroom would not.

Stayed on Friday night, and place was packed. Really. Cocktail reception was crowded, but plenty of chips and beverages were offered. Service was efficient.

Parking is convenient and free. There is a McDonalds and other shops a minute's walk away.

If you find yourself in the heart of Silicon Valley, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms could have highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Nice hotel, rooms and location in Santa Clara. I was in town for one night on business and heading home the next morning. Typical Embassy Suites and what I always enjoy about this line of Hilton Hotels. The suite was nice and roomy giving one plenty of room to unwind. I did find it interesting that the hotel didn't have the typical Atrium that Embassy's are known for.

Had a group dinner at El Torito's and as always enjoyed the complimentary cook to order breakfast buffet. I do wish that the internet was free but Embassy hasn't made that part of their amenities which is the only negative that I have about the chain.

Overall, I recommend this Embassy Suites to any traveler going to the Santa Clara area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This Embassy Suites is fantastic, as it includes all of the niceties associated with Embassy Suites but is usually around the same price as some of the other hotels in the area that include fewer services. Note that this particular review is more of a general review rather than a specific review - I have stayed here about a half-dozen times within the past three years for business trips in the area.

My review is organized into the ratable categories below:

Service (5 stars):

Front desk staff is quick/efficient. Staff responsible for administering the hot breakfast is excellent. The free manager's reception during the evening (well drinks, beer, and snacks) is always fantastic, and is particularly good at this Embassy, as they usually have one or two microbrewed beers available (at other Embassys, you're usually restricted to the watery domestics).

Value (4 stars):

Price is usually in the upper $100's to lower $200's, which I'd typically consider expensive, but is actually rather normal for the area. In fact, some of the other hotels in the area of lesser quality usually charge around the same price.

Sleep Quality (5 stars):

You get the typical Hilton/Hampton/Embassy quality beds here, which are always excellent. What also helps is that most suites have separate rooms for the beds, which provides an additional layer of sound insulation from anyone who is being loud in the hallways or in other rooms.

Cleanliness (5 stars):

This Embassy is very clean, just like most of the other Embassy Suites.

Location (4 stars):

The hotel is just a couple of turns off of US 101, which is convenient but regularly clogged with traffic. I do feel bad giving it anything less than 5 stars here as I suppose it's not possible to move the entire hotel so that it's right next to a beach or a train station, is it? :-)

Rooms (5 stars):

Rooms are typical Embassy Suites - everything a business traveler needs and more.

Breakfast (5 stars):

This particular Embassy Suites does its breakfast very well. There is a chef available that offers a daily special and also can cook an omelet on-demand. The breakfast is usually quite crowded but they have a back room that can be used for overflow in case it is so busy that all tables are occupied.

A few additional tips for the readers' benefit (not influencing the rating):

- I don't eat here for dinner; the good news is there are several options outside of the hotel within walking distance, including an Indian restaurant and a very good Mexican restaurant (El Torito); also, there is a Faultline Brewing Company brewpub that is only a couple of miles away by car

- If you're interested in going to downtown San Jose or San Francisco, the Lawrence Caltrain station is only about two miles away

- If you're having difficulty finding a parking spot, take a peek on the side of the building closest to the Indian restaurant; for whatever reason, these seem to fill up last but are actually very close to the front door!

In summary, if you're looking for a good hotel (business or otherwise) in the area, you can't do much better than this Embassy Suites!

Room Tip: If it's important to you, there are nice views of the surrounding area if you choose a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was happy to get in and right up to my room (even before the usual 3 pm check in time). Although I did not mention it, there was a bit of a funny smell in the living room (did they redo the carpeting?) but it was roomy, comfortable, and the bathroom was clean with loads of towels.
The staff (esp. in the dining room) took good care of me and as a frequent traveler, I appreciate the attention to make my life just a bit easier.
The buffet breakfast was bountiful with loads of good choices, including freshly made omelets. Very yummy!
I will be back in a few months and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Overall the hotel met my needs in that the location and price were spot on for my work. The rooms appear as if some remodeling has been done but really the hotel still has that old and dark feeling. The suites were large but felt dark. Overall the hotel felt really dark. There were plenty of lamps but not too much natural light and felt gloomy. Other than the dark /gloomy feel I had no complaints. The rooms were huge, clean, big T.V's (yes two as you get a suite every time). The bathroom was a bit small but clean and average decor. The bed was comfy. I had a room on the freeway side but did not notice freeway noise as other have complained. Service was great. Free internet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara

Address: 2885 Lakeside Drive, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 257 spacious rooms and two-room suites features a master bedroom with king-size bed, separate living area complete with wet bar, refrigerator, microwave oven, coffeemaker, hairdryer, full size iron and ironing board, queen-size sofa sleeper, two televisions with remote control, two telephones with voice mail capability, High Speed Internet Access and a well lit dining/work area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Santa Clara
Santa Clara Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Santa Clara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.