We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need major updating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Woodcrest Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Woodcrest Hotel to your Saves list
Woodcrest Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5415 Stevens Creek Blvd., Santa Clara, CA 95051   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Northern California
1 review
“Rooms need major updating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

I was disappointed with the Woodcrest Hotel. I booked directly through the hotel website and paid $145 for the room. The outside looks nice, but the rooms need a major update. The halls and rooms have a musty smell. The caulking in the bathroom was coming up. There were stains on the carpet. The bedspread was torn and thin. The room does not have a microwave or refridgerator. For the price, I expected so much more. I would think $69-$79 would be a more realistic price.

I will say that breakfast was fabulous. There was the sweetest lady serving coffee and juice. She provided excellent service. The tables had table clothes and the dishes were china. They had cloth napkins. There were pancakes, bacon, sausage, eggs, hash browns, fruit, coffee, pastry and juice.

  • Liked — breakfast and breakfast staff
  • Disliked — room outdated and smelled musty
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
1
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

The $85 weekend rate is a real bargain! We had a large, QUIET room (never heard a sound). There is covered parking (helpful in the rain) and the room was most lovely. Nice decor and furnishing and internet port with free service. There were some touches that could have used a bit of upgrade - hem down on bedskirt, no towel rack by the sink, and a few cracks in the plastic and mat area in the tub. These were minor and not inconvenient. Other than the nice large room, very friendly staff, and pleasant feeling, what makes this weekend a bargain is the included breakfast - served on real china and stainless, cloth napkins at already set tables, the buffet includes all the usual hot dishes from eggs to french toast, as well as all kinds of breads, scones, cereal, yogurt, etc. Coffee, juice and a selection of teas are served by the friendly attendant. Better than a restaurant!

  • Liked — Location, quietness and breakfast
  • Disliked — no towel bar at the sink
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

I stayed at the Woodcrest Hotel on my last trip to Santa Clara, based on the reviews that I read here on TripAdvisor. They were correct! It is a very nice hotel. My room had a nice large built-in desk with good lighting, a fast (wired) high-speed internet connection, and above it was a VCR and TV. The king bed was very comfortable, however just slightly on the hard side. The bathroom was nice and clean. It even had a small TV next to the bathroom sink! I was on the west side, which overlooked some trees and an adjacent parking lot. Very quiet! The free breakfast was excellent! Plenty of juice & coffee, with both hot and cold items like bacon, sausage, eggs, fried potatoes, pastries, fruit, etc. Parking was covered, in between the sections of the hotel on the ground level. Access to Stevens Creek Blvd was good, but don't try to turn East from the West exit like I did. ;-) I will definitely stay there again on my next trip.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2004

I stayed here at the recommendation of a friend and am happy to report that she was right. The room has a desk with good lighting, free high-speed internet (a must in Silicon Valley), a pretty comfortable king bed, clean bathroom, a robe, ironing board & iron, plus a TV/vcr and three telephones :) Desk staff and the gal in the small cafe/bar were very friendly, but the maid knocks only once before she tries to barge in (luckily I had the door lock on). I could hear the lull of the cars from the nearby expressways, but it didn't bother me. When the guy next door took a shower, I could hear the water running and it was quite loud. Get a corner room because you get two windows...

  • Stayed February 2004, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2003

I have stayed at the Woodcrest various times over the past few years, starting with an 11-week work assignment in late 1997. I was very happy with the accomodations, and it felt like a home away from home. The breakfast buffet was very good, with hot items like bacon, sausage and eggs instead of the usual continental fare of pastries or juices, although they had that too if desired. The staff was very nice and made sure my coffee cup was always full. I will stay there again the next time I need accomodations near Cupertino. I highly recommend The Woodcrest. .....Scott

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2003

My vacation stay was at the Woodcrest, April 2003. The staff was exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to make my stay pleasant. The room was beautiful, with a view of the 2nd floor peaceful courtyard. (even though it's in the middle of the city) The breakfast buffet was much better than the usual continental offerings. The supper buffet and free drink were a nice surprise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodcrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodcrest Hotel

Address: 5415 Stevens Creek Blvd., Santa Clara, CA 95051
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodcrest Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Woodcrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodcrest Hotel Santa Clara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodcrest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.