We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Santa Clara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1655 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050 (Formerly University Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Santa Clara
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Santa Clara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here 2 times on either end of our driving vacation. We were pleased with the updated decor, comfortable beds, good wifi, great hot breakfast -- with waffles and hot oatmeal and blueberry raisins! - breakfast sandwiches the first weekend ,scrambled eggs, potatoes and sausage the next. There is a nice pool area too. I love that you can drive up and park right outside your room. So easy for unpacking . We will definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
15
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When we first checked into the room for a two night stay, my wife noticed that there was a blood stain on the bed sheet. Pretty significant size. (I took a picture.) Also, the a/c was not working. I explained the situation to David the manager. I asked for a complimentary one night & to switch us to another room. He did both. During our stay in the second room, the electricity kept going in and out. As there are no windows in the bathroom, my wife was subjected to showing in darkness. I did not complain to the manager about the electrical problem. By that time, we just decided that we didn't want to come off as rude. Hope this helps your survey and good luck with your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We found this to be a great place to stay before heading to the Bay Area. Check-in was quick and easy (I think the desk clerk's name was Marisol?), with no hassles. The front lobby was clean, modern, and inviting. The parking is a bit compact, but adequate. The rooms are on two floors and centered around a small swimming pool with a patio and sitting area in the center of the property. From the look of it, we would say this property has been recently renovated/updated; very clean, and very clutter-free.

Our upstairs king bed room was laid out like most BW rooms, but this one seemed to have a bit more room. The bed was extremely comfortable. The mirror and sink are separate from the bathroom, but I think that many BW's have this layout. The thermostat and AC worked okay, but were a bit tricky to get "just right." The room had a nice television w/ remote, but we did not use that. There was a desk and comfortable chair, if one wanted to do use it. Carpeting seemed new and was comfortable to walk on. The mini fridge was convenient, but items on the top shelf (i.e., water bottles) had a tendency to get "iced" (this is something we've noticed in most mini fridges).

This hotel did have a decent continental breakfast, along with hot pre-wrapped Jimmy Dean biscuit/English muffin sandwiches (the sandwiches were okay, not the greatest, but I didn't fault the hotel for this, as they were not the ones actually making the sandwiches). There was fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, three different kinds of cereal, milk, coffee, and fruit juice, and I think I saw hard-boiled eggs as well. The breakfast area was small, maybe with six or eight tables? It was adjacent to the lobby area, but not sectioned off, per se. There was a large-screen television tuned to CNN or other. The staff were very friendly and asked if they could help with anything. There were one or two attendants at breakfast.

Checkout was okay, but the employee checking us out was by herself. I had a couple of questions for her at checkout, and she did want to help, but she was getting inundated by phone calls and such. I could tell that she wanted to help, but did not want to ignore the phone, nor did she want to not give me her complete attention - if that makes sense? If it is at all possible, I think the manager/owner should consider maybe a second person at the front desk in the mornings?

The hotel is near the college, but I would still call this hotel more suburban than urban. Also, from this hotel you can get to just about anywhere in the immediate area quite easily.

All in all, this was a great place to stay, and yes, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello KevinandJamie,

Thank you for the 5 star review. Marisol and the rest of the team thank you for your kind words. We all appreciate the opportunity to provide a positive guest experience.

I apologize that you were not given the opportunity to ask questions during your departure. We recently added an additional front desk associate to ensure we our properly staffed to provide the level of service you deserve.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Comfortable room, good internet speed. Location is very convenient.
Good choice for breakfast.
Air condition does not make much noise.
I did not want to leave the hotel at the end of my stay. It rarely happens, when I travel on business!

I'd like to come here again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello mdmitry,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. I look forward to sharing your experience with our team. Creating experiences like this is exactly what we all strive for. We appreciate the opportunity to earn your business.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOLSOM, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great value, great breakfast. The place was very clean. The only minor issue was the noise from other guests using the ice machine late at night. Our room was just below the exterior ice machine. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Art N,

Thank you for the five star review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, CA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was the Best Hotel in the Santa Clara/San Jose area for the price. CLEAN, FRESH, COMFORTABLE, Great staff. Centrally located to shopping and freeway. The room was very nice. The Breakfast was not just cold muffins. They had a great variety of food. Also, Coffee, Tea, Juices. And fresh Oatmeal. This was a great place to stay for its class and price range.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello David S,

Thank you for the 5 star review. We hope to welcome you back soon.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Given the price and since its just an overnight stay, we weren't expecting much. Too our surprise, it was a great hotel experience!

The room was clean and didn't feel stuffy as most cheap hotel rooms are. The amenities were great; they had a pool, microwave inside the room, and most useful of all for our stay - an ironing board! The bathroom also has a bathtub which was great. We also experience good service from the staff. WIFI speed was good though sometimes it disconnected/reconnected.

The complimentary breakfast was good. There was a waffle station plus some bagels and cereals. Coffee was good and they also served yogurts. Food was what was lacking were eggs and bacons.

Overall it was a great stay and we would recommend anyone who has a business trips or any events necessitating an overnight stay to book at Best Wester University Inn in Santa Clara

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Cholo A,

Thank you for the positive review. I’m glad you had a great stay with us, and appreciate you recommending the hotel.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara

Address: 1655 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050 (Formerly University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Clara
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited - Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Ramada Santa Clara
Santa Clara Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.