We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara
1655 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050 (Formerly University Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Rancho Santa Margarita, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were looking for an affordable place to stay while visiting relatives in Sunnyvale, and were pleasantly surprised by the experience at the BW University Inn, Santa Clara. While the amenities are not spectacular, the rooms were neat and clean, the beds comfortable, the hotel quiet, and the staff friendly. My family particularly enjoyed the complimentary lobby breakfast which had plenty of options and was kept well stocked and clean by the hotel staff. Nothing fancy, but a fantastic value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello John P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back when you visit your relatives again.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    26
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
33
26
10
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Best service I've seen anywhere in a long time. Cannot say enough about the friendly and helpful employees. The room was recently very nicely renovated, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was so convenient with a nice variety.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello Steven W,

Thank you for the great review regarding the hotel, complimentary breakfast, and customer service. We strive to create the best stay possible, and hope to welcome you back soon.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Apparently this hotel was recently added to the Best Western chain. We arrived earlier than expected and staff went the extra step to find a room that was done so we could check in and rest before our family gathering. The renovations that were done were done in a superb manner. Modern decor, quality grade tile, shower surround, wall treatment, lighting and bedding. The location was quiet and road noise was non-existent. The breakfast was adequate and the coffee was particularly good (sometimes this is something that they miss). I filled my travel mug to get that extra "one for the road". Santa Clara is the new home for the San Francisco 49ers football team - we drove by the under construction stadium. This location is handy to the stadium, so if you are going to a game, consider this spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Skip M,

Thank you for the great review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and the many upgrades of the hotel. We are very fortunate to be located close to so many great attractions. The SAP Center, Great America, Santa Clara Convention Center, and as you mentioned the soon to open Levi Stadium are all within 5 miles of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back, maybe even for the 2016 super bowl.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised by the quality and cleanliness of the room. It really did feel like you were staying in a hotel until you stepped out the front door and found yourself in the parking lot. The bed was very comfortable and provided an adequate night's sleep. The room was appointed with a refrigerator, microwave, sitting chair w/ottoman, armoire w/ full length mirror doors, nice sink with marble counter top, an adequate desk with outlets for plugging in laptops and accessories, flat screen T.V., and although small, a very clean bathroom. The back wall where the sink was had a lovely textured design and the mirror was back-lit which provided an attractive ambiance.

The breakfast in the morning included a prepared egg and cheese sandwich (kind of dried out by the time I picked up mine), cereal, fruit, bagels, muffins, waffles, coffee, juices, etc. They even offer the hazelnut creamers that enhance the flavor of the coffee.

The location is a little bit off the beaten track if you're doing business downtown but very close to the airport. You can be in Downtown San Jose in a little over five minutes and save on the high priced downtown parking. There is no charge for parking here and I was able to park my brand new within a few steps away from my room door. There was an unusual amount of activity in the parking lot though, workers drinking beer, and people talking on cell phones?

Also, of note were ample electrical outlets. Usually a problem in hotel/motel rooms. Finding enough outlets for computer, phone, ipad, shaver, etc. is always a problem but not here.

I did my usual research on hotels in this area and I'm not sure if you can get any better bang for your buck. The staff was terrific as well.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the updated rooms as not all are have been upgraded. I've seen photos and read co...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was impressed that they took the effort to cover the T.V. remote as I assumed they sanitize it after each use.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear alicebydesign,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I celebrated your kind words regarding the cleanliness of the rooms with the housekeeping staff. They work very hard to ensure a clean comfortable stay for all of our guests.

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the many upgraded amenities at the Best Western University Inn. We renovated with both leisure and business guests in mind. It’s my pleasure to report that all of our guest rooms are fully renovated and as beautiful as the one you experienced. Some websites still have some old photos posted. All of our current photos can be found on BestWestern.com and tripadvisor.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

A super large room made it easy for 4 of us to move around. The bricked parking lot and other tile work gives a classy feel to the hotel. Everything seemed new and clean, and the staff were very accommodating. They responded quickly when we found our room not made up upon arrival. The beds and pillows were quite comfortable but I wish there had been some hot protein, other than a sandwich, in the "full" breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Judith A,

Thank you for the positive review regarding our newly renovated hotel. I’m happy to hear we had our larger room available during your stay. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this Best Western, the feel of a 1950's motor lodge with all brand new updated amenities. My room was quiet and comfortable, the service was great. Definitely check this hotel out when you're in the Santa Clara area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear scottsM1122TK,

Thank you for the great review. We work hard to ensure most surprises are of the pleasant variety. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed here for a 3 night visit. The quality of service at this location was excellent. Really, not much to complain about. The only thing I would want to improve is the breakfast: it's really just a continental breakfast + a waffle maker, and there aren't any healthy options. It also would be nice to have real cups, etc in the rooms instead of the disposable plastic stuff. Still though, a very pleasant visit and wonderful staff.

Green Features: It would be nice if they had recycling bins next to the garbage bins.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello Jonathan E,

Thank you for the feedback and the opportunity to improve the experience for all of our future guests. Breakfast is a challenge in most hotels. We spent a great deal of time planning our breakfast to appeal to as many guests as possible. While we have items such as a breakfast sandwich with ham or bacon, fruit loops for kids, pastries, bagels, waffles and hardboiled eggs, we also wanted to add a healthy variety as well. We offer yogurt, wheat toast, raisin bran, apples, oranges, and bananas. Last month we added freshly cooked oatmeal with organic dried blueberries, cranberries, and raisins as a topping. We also added a fruit salad with melon, strawberries, blueberries, pineapple, and grapes. These items were added after receiving feedback from our guests. Our breakfast will continue to evolve based on this wonderful feedback.

Recycling in the guest rooms is a great idea. We currently recycle at the front desk and back offices. Housekeepers also recycle bottles and cans. I will look into adding bins, but in the meantime, the front desk would be happy to recycle any items.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a good experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara

Address: 1655 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050 (Formerly University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Clara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited - Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Ramada Santa Clara
Santa Clara Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.