We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Renovation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1655 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050 (Formerly University Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Certificate of Excellence
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Apparently this hotel was recently added to the Best Western chain. We arrived earlier than expected and staff went the extra step to find a room that was done so we could check in and rest before our family gathering. The renovations that were done were done in a superb manner. Modern decor, quality grade tile, shower surround, wall treatment, lighting and bedding. The location was quiet and road noise was non-existent. The breakfast was adequate and the coffee was particularly good (sometimes this is something that they miss). I filled my travel mug to get that extra "one for the road". Santa Clara is the new home for the San Francisco 49ers football team - we drove by the under construction stadium. This location is handy to the stadium, so if you are going to a game, consider this spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Skip M,

Thank you for the great review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and the many upgrades of the hotel. We are very fortunate to be located close to so many great attractions. The SAP Center, Great America, Santa Clara Convention Center, and as you mentioned the soon to open Levi Stadium are all within 5 miles of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back, maybe even for the 2016 super bowl.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised by the quality and cleanliness of the room. It really did feel like you were staying in a hotel until you stepped out the front door and found yourself in the parking lot. The bed was very comfortable and provided an adequate night's sleep. The room was appointed with a refrigerator, microwave, sitting chair w/ottoman, armoire w/ full length mirror doors, nice sink with marble counter top, an adequate desk with outlets for plugging in laptops and accessories, flat screen T.V., and although small, a very clean bathroom. The back wall where the sink was had a lovely textured design and the mirror was back-lit which provided an attractive ambiance.

The breakfast in the morning included a prepared egg and cheese sandwich (kind of dried out by the time I picked up mine), cereal, fruit, bagels, muffins, waffles, coffee, juices, etc. They even offer the hazelnut creamers that enhance the flavor of the coffee.

The location is a little bit off the beaten track if you're doing business downtown but very close to the airport. You can be in Downtown San Jose in a little over five minutes and save on the high priced downtown parking. There is no charge for parking here and I was able to park my brand new within a few steps away from my room door. There was an unusual amount of activity in the parking lot though, workers drinking beer, and people talking on cell phones?

Also, of note were ample electrical outlets. Usually a problem in hotel/motel rooms. Finding enough outlets for computer, phone, ipad, shaver, etc. is always a problem but not here.

I did my usual research on hotels in this area and I'm not sure if you can get any better bang for your buck. The staff was terrific as well.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the updated rooms as not all are have been upgraded. I've seen photos and read co...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was impressed that they took the effort to cover the T.V. remote as I assumed they sanitize it after each use.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicebydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear alicebydesign,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I celebrated your kind words regarding the cleanliness of the rooms with the housekeeping staff. They work very hard to ensure a clean comfortable stay for all of our guests.

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the many upgraded amenities at the Best Western University Inn. We renovated with both leisure and business guests in mind. It’s my pleasure to report that all of our guest rooms are fully renovated and as beautiful as the one you experienced. Some websites still have some old photos posted. All of our current photos can be found on BestWestern.com and tripadvisor.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

A super large room made it easy for 4 of us to move around. The bricked parking lot and other tile work gives a classy feel to the hotel. Everything seemed new and clean, and the staff were very accommodating. They responded quickly when we found our room not made up upon arrival. The beds and pillows were quite comfortable but I wish there had been some hot protein, other than a sandwich, in the "full" breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Judith A,

Thank you for the positive review regarding our newly renovated hotel. I’m happy to hear we had our larger room available during your stay. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this Best Western, the feel of a 1950's motor lodge with all brand new updated amenities. My room was quiet and comfortable, the service was great. Definitely check this hotel out when you're in the Santa Clara area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank scottsM1122TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear scottsM1122TK,

Thank you for the great review. We work hard to ensure most surprises are of the pleasant variety. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed here for a 3 night visit. The quality of service at this location was excellent. Really, not much to complain about. The only thing I would want to improve is the breakfast: it's really just a continental breakfast + a waffle maker, and there aren't any healthy options. It also would be nice to have real cups, etc in the rooms instead of the disposable plastic stuff. Still though, a very pleasant visit and wonderful staff.

Green Features: It would be nice if they had recycling bins next to the garbage bins.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello Jonathan E,

Thank you for the feedback and the opportunity to improve the experience for all of our future guests. Breakfast is a challenge in most hotels. We spent a great deal of time planning our breakfast to appeal to as many guests as possible. While we have items such as a breakfast sandwich with ham or bacon, fruit loops for kids, pastries, bagels, waffles and hardboiled eggs, we also wanted to add a healthy variety as well. We offer yogurt, wheat toast, raisin bran, apples, oranges, and bananas. Last month we added freshly cooked oatmeal with organic dried blueberries, cranberries, and raisins as a topping. We also added a fruit salad with melon, strawberries, blueberries, pineapple, and grapes. These items were added after receiving feedback from our guests. Our breakfast will continue to evolve based on this wonderful feedback.

Recycling in the guest rooms is a great idea. We currently recycle at the front desk and back offices. Housekeepers also recycle bottles and cans. I will look into adding bins, but in the meantime, the front desk would be happy to recycle any items.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a good experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel was terrific. Refurbished but like new. Great furnishings. Great breakfast. Egg sandwich with ham, bagels, rolls, oatmeal, orange juice, all great! Separate toilet/shower from sink area. If we are in the area we will stay here any time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Joseph S,

I appreciate the great review. We hope to see you again soon.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We decided to try this hotel based on the reviews from Tripadvisor. Let me tell you - I was so impressed! (As a BW Diamond member for so many years, I could say if the hotel is a hit or miss!) First when you walk into the lobby area you are greeted by friendly staff as well as a warm and clean environment. The check in process was quick and smooth considering it was 7:00 PM and there were 6 other guests to check-in, still the girl who worked alone that night was quick, prompt and professional in handling our request. When we arrived at our room we were happy to see that it was clean and inviting. The bed was so comfortable! We decided to check out the pool area. Again we were very impressed! The water was so clean with perfect temperature. As we are not familiar with the Santa Clara area we asked the front desk attendant Edith for dinner recommendations. She was friendly helpful and recommended this great little Italian restaurant that was to die for! In the morning we ate the hot-breakfast that is provided in the lobby area. There was such a good array of quality items ranging from home cooked-oatmeal, cereals, pastries, waffles, juices, breakfast sandwiches, apples, oranges, bananas. I definitely have to say one of the best breakfasts I have had offered at any Best Western hotel! We very much enjoyed every aspect of our stay and really had a great time at Santa Clara. Fairly priced and a clean room- great breakfast bar and to top it all, one female staff member Edith could not do enough for us- she was great and a true asset to the Best Western Chain. Will definitely stay again when heading that way.

Room Tip: get the room away from the street noise and ask for a room overlooking the pool area. we were in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripperbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtis C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear tripperbabe,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel. Edith and all of us thank you for the opportunity to earn your business.

We hope to welcome you back when you’re in the area again.

At your service,
Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
3.6 mi away
Hilton Santa Clara
Hilton Santa Clara
#2 of 33 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 stars 887 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
HYATT House Santa Clara
HYATT House Santa Clara
#5 of 33 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
Hyatt Regency Santa Clara
#3 of 33 in Santa Clara
4.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara

Address: 1655 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050 (Formerly University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Clara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited - Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Ramada Santa Clara
Santa Clara Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing