We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average with some updates, loud fridge,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1655 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050 (Formerly University Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 hotels in Santa Clara
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average with some updates, loud fridge,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Pro:
- It seems that some renovations have been made in recent times. The bed seems to be pretty new and is quite comfortable.
- free wireless with reasonable good speed.
- ok prices for this area
- efficient and quick reception
Cons
- Very loud fried. And I not talking about the noise that you might know from minibars. It is a constant very loud noise. Switching off does not seems to be a option because the freezer is completely iced up, so I guess when you switch it of and open the fridge the next time you will have a mini Tsunami in your room
- Beside the bed and the TV the room is old overall. Especially the bathroom sink and shower needs an update

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    15
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
12
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed there because I needed a government rate. The place is fine, the reception is efficient, the beds are too firm. Excellent, almost complete choice of channels on TV including many fine FM stations. Super-basic breakfast, with OK coffee. The real downside is, there's no "there" there in Santa Clara. For the same price you could do better across the line in San Jose, and be able to walk to interesting bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Pretty much all of the rooms are off the highway and reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

As I round the bend of my 6+ month stay here in my "village" I can safely say that the rooms are nice for pre-renovation, standards. Bedding nice which is a plus for a less expensive hotel.
The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping and maintenance staff great as well. Traveling M-Th and staying at a hotel has been taxing for a half of year but they did their best to make me feel welcome and at "home". I haven't had a bad experience in the 6+ mo I've been here!
Location is good with plenty of good restaurants within a few miles.
Good bang for your buck!

Room Tip: If you like street noise, as I do, let them know as some rooms windows open to the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel September 2012. It was clean and tidy and very quiet. Complimentary breakfast. Service at front desk was very friendly and easy check in. We usually like to stay at the Days Inn Mission Inn, Santa Clara but it was fully booked. Both properties very similar in standard. Short drive to Santana Row shopping mall and restaurants, close to Mission. Chain restaurants and take-out food closeby.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naalehu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here because I had an overnight layover in San Jose, and I used my Wyndham Rewards points. It was on par with the Super 8 motels. The good news is that it the room was clean, but it was definitely old. The air conditioner was located up high on the wall above the bed, and after I climbed up on the bed to try to figure out how to turn it on, I finally called the front desk. They instructed me to look for the switch on the wall behind the tv! Still had to climb up on the bed again to turn the dials on the a/c. Left too early for the breakfast, but judging by the size of the room it probably wasn't much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for one night and wanted to be close to the airport. The room set up was a little odd, but it made for a quiet room. The tile in the bathroom area looked a little dirty, but that could be age. The room had a futuristic look, circa 1987. Beds were clean and comfy and that's what mattered. The breakfast was toasted bagels and cold cereal. Nothin' fancy. No waffles. No waffle maker. We like waffles.

Room Tip: No elevator. 2nd floor rooms not facing parking lot are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Definitely recommend it to anyone who get here for business trip / travel. I've stayed here for 5 weeks, and the service is always super nice. The room itself is clean, and quiet even in the fully booked night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara

Address: 1655 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050 (Formerly University Inn)
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited - Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Ramada Santa Clara
Santa Clara Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.