We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quite Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stratford

Hotel Stratford
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stratford to your Saves list
Hotel Stratford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2499 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051 (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Belvidere, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Quite Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Decent for the money, especially in this high rent area. Good location, easy access to the freeway system. Nice friendly staff. Clean Good sized room. Refrigerator microwave and coffee maker very handy. Pink Berry less than a block away

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
7
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place needs to be closed down !!! We had checked in and are room smelt like smoke, the lady said that the rooms are smoke free (yeah that is why there are cigarette burns on the bathtub. We asked for a different room which they gave us "Right next to a room full of guys partying,smoking, drinking and using language(N****) that wasn't appropriate for our son" We asked to be refunded (even half of it) and were told NO. We had to leave it was a nightmare. We "HIGHLY" don't recommend staying here. And what is so hard to believe is that we have lived in Santa Clara for 30 years and never knew a place like this existed. What a disgrace to Santa Clara someone needs to look into this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for proximity to Great America theme park (just under 10 minutes drive away). Very friendly staff.
Rooms a little small but clean and well appointed. Reasonably good neighbourhood with restaurants and supermarkets nearby.
Continental breakfast was decent.
Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Not the Intercontinental hotel - but a good solid old-school motel. Decide is you want the quiet one flight of stairs up (lug your bag up the stairs) or if you don't mind the noise of cars parking near your room's front door.

A good basic motel - we think it is the best of the four we have stayed at in the area.

Room Tip: It is important to understand that this is an old-school motel & not a hotel. As seniors we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel was clean and in what seems to be a good neighborhood. It was pretty small and a bit older furnishings. Overall a decent place if you just need a place to sleep, which was what we were after. Nothing fancy and the breakfast was basic but fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles area
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The first thing that is important to know is this is no hotel, despite the name. This is a two-story, old-school motel, the kind with an exterior stairway (no elevator that I saw), exterior room doors and parking places that front each ground-floor room. Thank goodness we got a second-floor room. That's the only thing that made this place bearable. I would not want to be the poor people below us. As hard as I tried, I could not help causing all kinds of floor creaking as I walked around my room. The room itself was OK, but certainly nothing to write home about, as other reviews here would have you believe (I'm wondering if they were written by employees). It was clean, that is true. But other than that, very basic. It had an old-style bedspread as opposed to comforters you tend to see in modern hotels. Very cheap and minimal toiletries. And we had all kinds of problems with the air conditioner. Not worth the price we paid for it. Would definitely not stay here for more than one night.

Room Tip: Demand a second-story room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento,Ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is a fabulous, quality hotel. The rooms are very nice and have an appearance of a fancy hotel suite. Breakfast is standard continental: mini muffins, fruit (apples and oranges), cereal, toast, o.j. and apple juice, instant oatmeal packets and coffee (I don't recall any tea though). The TV is a 30+ inch flat screen with a lot of satellite channels (most of which you will not watch as they are the standard fluff channels found in every TV market) plus a few movie channels. Microwave and fridge in room, marble counter for sink, closet for clothes (and it has a bench for your suitcase). Shower was nice, but the shower head didn't appear to be adjustable in the angle of the head. My only complaint was that the bed was stiff and flat, causing me to keep turning over through out the night due to pressure points on my shoulder and hip. If the bed was better I would stay here again. However, if you are a back or stomach sleeper you probably won't have any issues with the bed and pressure points. Other than that it is a great value motel to stay at and I recommend it to anyone. The room was spacious and quiet--just be aware that the mattress may be too stiff/flat for your sleeping habits (I'm sure it may depend on which room you get as well. I was in 214).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Address: 2499 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Santa Clara
Santa Clara Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stratford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.