We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in the heart of Silicon Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stratford

Save Saved
You added Hotel Stratford to your Saves list
Hotel Stratford
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stratford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2499 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051 (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Santa Clara
Fairfax, Va.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Gem in the heart of Silicon Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I found this place through a coupon magazine, which tend to offer deals on two star (or less) motels. The Hotel Stratford was a big, big surprise. The room sparked and was extremely clean. Everything looked new. Satellite/flat screen TV. Continental breakfast. Quiet, well sound insulated rooms. Helpful, courteous staff. I would definitely recomment this motel to both business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
7
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011 via mobile

This place is perfect for travelers I arrived late at night and Rena checked me in with a huge smile on her face, that makes my whole trip I arrived from a 8 hrs trip and no smile in any place but she was happy all the time and make ne feel welcome I must say I had a couple friends staying at the Biltmore they complain on everything so I told them to stay here, the hotel has cont breakfast really good clean and lcd HD TV great for the star rating they have, I will come back and will keep recommending this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We opted to stay here instead of in a "hotel" and am for the price it was a great stay. We checked in after midnight and the gal in the office was most helpful. If we ever travel that way again, I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We just needed a room for the night before our flight out the next day. This hotel was just fine. The room was spacious and clean. The place was quiet and we slept well. Breakfast was your typical one for this tier hotel, but with the nice addition of fresh bananas and hard-boiled eggs. Only one caveat -- we did not see a good place to eat supper and the neighborhood seemed a bit run down. We had a bottle of wine with us and ordered pizza, so all was fine, however. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Hotel Staff GREAT! check in fast and room NICE! free internet! comfy BIG BED! close to a lot of stores! me n the hubby wanted to get away from the kids and have some quite time. But needed to stay close this was PERFECT we will be back. : )

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

my first visit and i have stayed at other Silicon Valley lodging places. within its category (2 star) it is fine. if you are on a budget, this should be your place.

not a hotel, a two story motel but exterior clearly remodeled and interior neat and apparently remodeled, including new wall heating/cooling system.

adequately sized square studio room, neat with king bed, 40"+ Sharp flat screen, attached dvd system, frig, microwave, coffee and coffee maker. i liked the office chair which i could raise or lower. pillow was hard.

at first smelled like a smoking room, but sign said non-smoking room and odor dissipated

kayak.com not the best price; check the rest of the internet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Stayed there for one whole month for a business trip to SV.

Had a very nice room, comfy bed, coffee maker, microwave, fridge and ironing board. Photos on their website are accurate. WiFi internet was surprisingly fast and reliable; definetely a big plus. Also, it was rather quiet despite being on the El Camino Real.
Service is also very good and friendly. Had a problem with the toilet once and it was immediately taken care of. Two thumbs up!

There's no on site pool or work out room or such, but I don't care for these ameneties on business trips. Can't comment on the complementary breakfast, never went there since I don't eat breakfast. Laundromat can be found about a mile away on El Camino.

Would definetely stay there again. Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sampatelca, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Our location is very convenient to being close to the Santa Clara Convention Center and San Jose International Airport along with several large technical companies such as Yahoo, Cisco, MacAfee, Nvidia, making it very easy for business clients to reach their destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Address: 2499 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Santa Clara
Santa Clara Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stratford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.