We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From a business user perspective...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Clara Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Clara Marriott to your Saves list
Santa Clara Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Mission College Blvd, Santa Clara, CA 95054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
san diego
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“From a business user perspective...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

From a business user perspective...

Great location, cannot beat it. Two restaurants, very ideal. Huge downstairs area for working, meetings, hanging out working on your laptop, getting a coffee, whatever. The pool and spa area is huge and spacious. The rooms are remodeled similar to a Courtyard, simple, nice desk, nice flat screen, most comfortable hotel beds in the industry, and straight forward clean bathrooms. For work travel you cannot beat Marriott.

Negs: charging for parking when your rooms are $200-400 a night is ridiculous, seriously. I get free WiFi through work agreement but it should be included. I made the mistake of stopping at a liquor store to get water and a snack and didn't grab some wine, well that cost me $17 for a mini bottle at Marriott snack shack. This was maybe a $4 bottle of wine. That is an insane upcharge. Felt like I was at a 49ers game.

Overall I enjoy the property and will continue to use it when visiting the area. Just wish they would be more competitive on pricing with amenities.

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the lobby, and facing the inside pool courtyard, as they have mini balconys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Santa Clara Marriott, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay; we appreciate your input. I will share your comments with our management team and our associates, your positive review of our hotel is important as well as the constructive comments regarding the room accomodations. We are a hotel that serves many markets, the business traveler, the group customer and the weekend leisure customer. Our goal is to provide all three segments with a memorable experience.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Sincerley,
Tim Herrmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    188
    90
    27
    7
See reviews for
56
31
36
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

For $400, the room was not worth it.
* Weird smell trying to be covered up with cheap fragrance
* Cramped room
* tiny bathroom
* 1st floor room opened up to the parking lot like a MOTEL! Blinds had to be always closed as I was looking right out at walkers by.

The social areas, that is bars and restaurants are nice. There is a closet for a gift shop if you need anything extra.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Santa Clara Marriott, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your input regarding your recent stay, we appreciate the feedback. My sincerest apologies if our Courtyard Room did not meet your expectations. We have two room types available, one the Courtyard where the access from the car is easily accessible and our Tower Rooms which are on floors 3 -14, both have attributes designed to appeal to the travellers specific tastes. In your case I would suggest a Tower Room, please let us know when your travels take you back to Santa Clara and we will ensure that you receive a Tower Room. Thanks for staying with us!
Sincerely
Tim Herrmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Good location, helpful staff. Room was good sized and had plenty of places to plug in tech devices if needed. The air conditioner in the room was noisy and didn't cool the room so well. The closet rack to hang clothes on was in sad shape with one side so loose and unstable you really couldn't hang up clothes. The room I seemed to get a fair amount of noise and they only had decaffeinated coffee so that was disappointing. Business travelers know that hotels in the Santa Clara / San Jose area can get full quite quickly and that high demand drives prices up. Case in point this place was double the price it should have been. Families and vacationers beware of supply and demand price inflation. Won't stay here again unless I have to. Value for the money is not there, nothing special about this place.

Room Tip: Business travelers know that hotels in the Santa Clara / San Jose area can get full quite quickly an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Santa Clara Marriott, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay, we appreciate the comments. We will immediately follow up and ensure that the room you occupied is in perfect condition. The Santa Clara Marriott prides itself on great service and a memorable experience and we apologize if we failed to deliver on that promise.Room rates in the area are moving higher weekday but the property still offers great value on the weekend and we would ask that you consider us again in the future.
Thank you
Tim Herrmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I spent some nights in that big hotel, it was very quiet but the room furniture is quiet old.
Moreover, it's located too far from interesting spots.
Anyway, i appreciated the restaurant within the hotel and the good staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Santa Clara Marriott, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the feedback regardng your recent stay, we appreciate the input. Next time your travels bring you to Santa Clara please allow our concirege team to advise you of the great things to do or visit in our area; we boast many exciting activities in the area.

Sincerely
Tim Herrmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family and I stayed there for a week, as my husband had to train some of his fellow employees. We had driven from another state and they were able to accommodate us, by letting us check in earlier than expected.

The hotel itself is very nice, everything is clean and well taken care of. The maintenance staff is extremely friendly and will go above and beyond. The room was nice, the beds were on the (very) hard side, plenty of pillows, linens were very clean. The bathroom is small and they don't provide a hair dryer. I found it a bit odd that we had to pay for internet services, instead of being provided free wi-fi, considering the rate of the rooms and the location. The pool is large and they provide the towels.

On-site restaurants were extremely expensive... $14 for a margarita? So we opted to eat elsewhere. Self Parking is $9, what a joke...or you can choose valet parking, which is $12 (plus tip).

Other than that we had a nice stay in Northern CA.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with 2 queens, so you can get a better view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Santa Clara Marriott, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience from your most recent trip to Northern California. I'm glad to see that you had a nice stay with your family and that everything went extremely well. We do provide blow-dryers in each guest room which are kept inside the closet. Although we try and offer the best options for our guests, sometimes they may choose something else. Our goal is to provide excellent service and a product you enjoy staying at. Hopefully, this is the type of experience you had. We hope to see you in the near future, thank you for choosing Marriott!

Sincerely,
Tim Herrmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Booked this hotel through Priceline so the price was excellent. Sometimes when you check in you are not greeted like a full paying guest but this hotel's customer service was very,very, good. The hotel is a little dated but absolutely clean, comfortable and in a good location for any event in the San Jose Area.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms facing the courtyard/pool area are the best. There is not any really good view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Santa Clara Marriott, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay. We welcome our Priceline guests, and understand the value they are looking for. Offering a clean comfortable stay with exceptional service is key to each of our guests, and it's just as important to us. Thank you for chosing our hotel and we look forward to having you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tim Herrmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife, son and I stayed here for one night with a AAA rate. We asked for and got a courtyard room facing the pool. I wanted 1st floor but none were available so we got a 2nd floor room. The room had 2 queens and was clean and well appointed- nothing special. The bedding and linens were clean and more than met my expectations. The room had a small balcony- just enough to step out onto and nothing else. The noise level from the pool/ spa area was not that bad and there were quite a few people out. The noise from Great America was minimal.

The bathroom is small and tight but works. The hotel soap, shampoo and conditioner were of good quality. The AC in the room worked very well. The Friday night that we were there, they had a kids movie night and we caught the last bit of one. Microwave popcorn and water were provided for everyone there.

This is a large hotel and as a result there are lots of people going around. It is close to Great America and the new Levi Stadium and it was my impression that was what many of the guests were here for. The on site restaurant is expensive but there is an IHOP right across the street.

The cons are that they charge an arm and leg for Wi-Fi and parking is $9 per night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Santa Clara Marriott, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thnak you for your feedback regarding your recent stay; we appreciate your input. I will share your comments with our management team and our associates, your positive review of our hotel is important as well as the constructive comments; all will be reviewed and considered.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Tim Herrmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Clara Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Marriott

Address: 2700 Mission College Blvd, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Clara Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The second largest Marriott in Northern California offers an Ultimate retreat feel in the Heart of Silicon Valley and conveniently located between Monterey and San Francisco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Santa Clara Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Marriott Hotel Santa Clara
Marriott Santa Clara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Clara Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.