We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Clara Marriott

Save Saved
You added Santa Clara Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Clara Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 Mission College Blvd, Santa Clara, CA 95054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Game Day Package
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Santa Clara
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Stellar service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference on the company dime, so my review is based on that fact (not sure what the going rate is). The service here was amazing. Very friendly and speedy. You can tell the staff has been well-chosen and well trained. Room was very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was a bit tight, but everything worked. There is a nice on-site casual dining place, as well as a more upscale one. Very close to Great America, and about a 10-minute walk to AMC theaters, In & Out, and some shopping, but otherwise there is not much close by so if you don't have a car you might feel a bit stranded. Nice pool and hot tub. $13/day for internet but it was fast and functional. No complaints, I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    171
    81
    25
    5
See reviews for
52
25
35
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Staff, beds, Elite zone and pricing make this the best of some top grade hotels in the Great America area, like most Marriotts the staff has been well trained and is ready with a greeting at any time just to make you feel important to them, that is meaningful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific palisades,CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We used points for a free room stay while visiting local universities. Since we didn't pay for anything other than parking the room was 'fine' though it was annoying that we asked for a quiet room and we were placed on a corner room next to the freeway. So much for quiet. Had I payed the listed rate I would have been disappointed. This is nothing more than a business basic hotel. Bed was comfortable enough but the bathroom was very small.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay here, room was nice and clean, bathroom great, service good. staff friendly, especially the guys from food service and restaurant team. had a tasty dinner and a fantastic breakfast - santa clara marriott is 100% recommended, stay as long as you can

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I just returned from a weekend trip at Marriott Santa Clara. This is large hotel with 2 buildings. The hotel was full of middle school & high school debaters from all over the country. These are really good kids, but there were hundreds of them. They assigned me a room on a floor with a team whose coach thought the hallway was his office. When I asked to change rooms, they happily moved me to a quieter floor with no students. The room was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. I ordered room service and was thrilled that they got my protein intense low carb order right the first go round. The breakfast buffet and omelet bar (that had oil spray and egg white as optons) was fantastic. They also accommodated my request for whole beans at breakfast.
But, the very best thing about the hotel was that every person (front desk, restaurant, room service, hotel operator) was truly engaged & sincere in their effort to provide excellent service!!! It was so refreshing.......

I will 100% stay at this hotel next time I go to San Jose or Palo Alto.

Room Tip: I like quiet rooms so ask for a quiet room. Mine was on the 11th floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at this property for a convention up the street, and it is a good 20 minute walk. I recommend the Hilton or Hyatt adjacent to the convention center for proximity and better quality rooms if your company approves. There are a couple of food options in walking distance if you dont have a rental car.

The room I got was in the courtyard in the back at ground level. It was dated, dark and the bathroom was cramped; but I would consider it clean. There is a charge for parking, and the hotel would not budge on this even though the convention hotels up the street offer free parking.

At the end if the day, this hotel was slightly cheaper than hilton or hyatt and company policies required this booking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This Marriott Hotel is fine, but the cost just too high for what you get back. You can find within the vicinity (2-3 miles radious) hotels that don't fall on the room comfort and give you a much higher value.

The room is relatively small. The shower is very small, you hardly have room to close the door when you go in, or use the toilet. I didn't feel like I was in a luxurious hotel.

You have to pay for parking, I only had to pay for parking in downtown hotels. But this is a hotel in the suburb. Granted it is in the heart of Silicon Valley, but you shouldn't have to pay for parking. As a matter of fact there are many hotels around that don't charge you for that.
You have to pay for Internet, this is also a service that should be, and is, in most hotels, like getting electricity. Imagine a hotel that you had to pay for the water you use to shower and the electricity you consume, in addition to a very high cost of the room. This is what you get in this hotel. Needless to say it didn't include breakfast.

I am a Marriott's Rewards member. They have a room, where you are supposed to be able to get coffee and printing services and seating room. The coffee machine doesn't work, the water is not being cooled. The room is empty because there is nothing to get there. This is very different from what I have seen in other highly priced Marriott's.

On the positive side. The facilities are very well maintained. The fitness room is in very good shape with very new equipment. The lobby is nice.
The room was very clean, all the equipment (TV, remote, lights, etc.) worked perfectly.

In summary: Too Expensive, low value

Room Tip: Don't take this hotel, there are very good hotels around that don't charge this much and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Clara Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Marriott

Address: 2700 Mission College Blvd, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Clara Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The second largest Marriott in Northern California offers an Ultimate retreat feel in the Heart of Silicon Valley and conveniently located between Monterey and San Francisco ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Santa Clara Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Marriott Hotel Santa Clara
Marriott Santa Clara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Clara Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.