We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in a great town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot in a great town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a new hotel, so the amenities are in great condition, room size is great and very comfortable. I can't speak to the rate, as we went on a law school competition at Santa Clara University, and the tab was covered by the law school. But I can say that the location is terrific, smack dab as it is between Santa Clara U, Santa Clara CalTrans train station, and a pretty darn good bagel shop. I went to school at Santa Clara, and I can tell you that if you are visiting there, you can roll in here without renting a car, visit Santa Clara University and then hop the train to Mountain View or Palo Alto for a great supper. (Santa Clara itself is rather spread out and restaurant challenged).

Room Tip: ask to be in a room away from the rr tracks, the rooms on the southwest side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritzie D, Guest Services at Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear dadamsplsjd2b,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with our hotel. I'm glad to know that you were able to maximize your visit, benefiting from the accessibility of Santa Clara University, along with other Silicon Valley spots based on Candlewood Suites' location. We hope to welcome you back again soon, where you may not only appreciate the convenience of our "great spot" but also realize our company's aim on meeting customer's value for high quality service and accommodations.

All the best,
-Fritzie D. | Guest Services
Candlewood Suites ~ Santa Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
6
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have stayed here numerous times, but this is the first time that I ever had a room on the back side of the hotel facing the train tracks. I won't accept a room there again - the trains are too close and too noisy ( notwithstanding that the front desk advises that nobody complains about the noise since the double windows were installed). And the ever-present large gathering of smokers at the front entrance is a bit of a turnoff. Otherwise, the place is clean and convenient.

Room Tip: Avoid the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritzie D, Guest Services at Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear KAP,

Thank you for writing a review based on your recent stay with us here at Candlewood Suites. Our staff will be pleased to note your high rating on our hotel's cleanliness. We are sincerely sorry about any discomfort that you have experienced with the train noise and the smoke(ers) outside of the building. Given these factors, as inevitable as they may be, we will continue to show diligent attempts to ensure that each guest has a pleasant experience, as we have demonstrated with the newly added double-paned windows. We truly appreciate your business and hope that you will continue to realize the benefits of our central location, along with our honest intentions to accommodate you, as best as we can, every time. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm regards,
-Fritzie D. | Guest Services
Candlewood Suites ~ Santa Clara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

In general the hotel is comfortable and cheaper than many in this area. The room and common areas were spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. On the down-side the fridge and AC unit in the room were noisy and I had to unplug the fridge and turn off the AC at night.

Also, the lack of a cooked breakfast was disappointing - I know that this is a 'long stay suite' with a full kitchen but other similar suites provide breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear lgmd2005,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the noise issues you had with the room you received. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have stayed here before over the years, being a season ticket holder from out of town, this place is an excellent location for games at Santa Clara University.
Checking in was a dream, very friendly, quick and easy.
It was very nice to see the upgrades with the rooms, beds and bathrooms. The hotel shop is always great for a quick snack or drink.
Another stay here is in the cards.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stay here when we visit our daughter who is a student at Santa Clara University. The property is clean, and the rooms are very functional for working on business: Wifi, large desk area, lots of electrical plug-ins. The exercise room is clean and well-equipped (2 treadmills, an elliptical, a stationary bike, some rack weights, a TV, and towels). The front desk staff is very accommodating.

We have stayed at several other hotels and a B&B in the neighborhood, and this is by far the best property.

A couple of negatives: There is no breakfast service (but Starbucks, Quiznos, and Cramers Bagels are 100 feet from the front door of the hotel), and there is no swimming pool.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by train noises, ask for a room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Location:- In front of Santa Clara CalTrain Station, very conveniently located
Room:- Corner rooms are specially very spacious, better to choose rooms facing El Camino, to avoid the noise of the train, but the rail track facing rooms offer a much better view of the Mountains.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are specially very spacious, better to choose rooms facing El Camino, to avoid the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our room was very nice and clean. The bed was comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room for the price. The hotel clearly caters to a business trade, more independent travelers. The train noise was an issue, so request a room on the front of the hotel. Great location to visit Santa Clara University. Added plus with a Starbucks in the parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara

Address: 481 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Santa Clara Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Santa Clara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.