We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay just outside Santa Clara University gates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   481 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay just outside Santa Clara University gates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A great option when visiting Santa Clara University. Very convenient to the CalTrain and the no. 10 bus to and from San Jose Airport. The suites are well appointed and had been redone since my last visit. Convenient Starbucks just steps away, and a little commissary downstairs provides basic foods to get you by. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: I hear the rooms on the train track side are noisy, so fyi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
6
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

stayed at Candlewood beginning of November 2012 for a week. I had specifically asked to have a room facing the parking lot and not the railway since I am a light sleeper.

Reception was helpful every time i had questions and didn't take long to get settled in the room.

Keep in mind that this is not a hotel so certain services like room service are not available also housekeeping is done once a week, but if you require more towels you just ask at reception.

They also do not serve breakfast or have a restaurant, but just across the parking lot 1 minute walk away there is starbucks, quiznos, and cramer bagels which was my favorite breakfast place.

They also have a free gym and free laundry service which being free is pretty awesome.
Although there is no restaurant or bar they have a room where you can get coffee, microwave food, there fridges stocked with drinks, fresh fruit at times and what not, you fill in what you took and this is added to your room bill on checkout.

As for the room, well i loved the room, crisp linens and comfortable bed, good room size, big lcd tv and a full kitchenette with hotplate and microwave and full size fridge. Air-conditioning was good and bathroom was nicely finished. Windows were double glazed, so much of the outside nose was eliminated.

Location was good for my needs and being so close to the railway, I could get a Caltrain to San Francisco just walking to the back of the hotel. This was especially good on the weekend for sight seeing when I wasn't working.

Recommended

Room Tip: as for a room facing the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stay here every time we take our daughter to college - she attends Santa Clara U., right across the street. Our suite this time seemed to have new furnishings. Nicely appointed kitchen where we made bacon, eggs and coffee for breakfast (there's a Safeway nearby) and sandwiches for the drive back home. Comfortable beds. So close to the school that we can't imagine staying anywhere else. The hotel is right near both the train station and the airport, but it's very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great place to stay - close to downtown, remodeled contemporary rooms and affordable price. We liked that the cleaning service is weekly. As one of those people that cleans the room before room services has a chance I appreciated that someone wasn't coming in everyday. The staff was super nice. And…an honor system snack and sundries area. Nice touch.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel is close to San Jose airport, but not subject to aircraft noise. Rooms feel very clean and recently decorated/refurbished. Price was very reasonable for the area and the staff were very friendly and efficient. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I am a frequent visitor to San Jose, and this is one of my go-to hotels. I'm quite satisfied. It's pretty well located right next to the CalTrain and close to the SJC airport. The Santa Clara University campus is directly across the street. There are plenty of decent places to eat within walking distance, and a bunch more that are only a short drive away.

The rooms are in good shape. I tend to come here with my wife and infant son, so we usually splurge and get the 1 bedroom suite as opposed to the studio. They are only slightly bigger, but it makes a big difference having the 2 rooms for us.

It seems that they are renovating the rooms slowly. The first time we stayed there, the room had an old CRT television ("daddy, what's that?"), but the last few times, there has been a newer LCD one. The rest of the room has probably been renovated too, but I haven't really noticed.

Overally, a perfectly reasonable place to stay if you have business or family in Santa Clara or downtown San Jose.

Room Tip: For me, at least, the 1 BR suites are worth the cost difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The suites are 10 years old and overall could use a little perking up. They are just outside the front gate of Santa Clara University where we went to take in a basketball game. Our room was fine - clean, spacious and quiet. We heard no train noise. We had a third floor room facing the street away from the tracks. We did hear the refrigerator humming at night but not a big deal. The front desk people were cheerful and friendly. An easy walk (less than a mile) to an excellent Italian restaurant, Mio Vicino.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara

Address: 481 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara Hotel Santa Clara
Santa Clara Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Santa Clara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites - Santa Clara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.