We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice extras.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Plaza Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Plaza Suites to your Saves list
The Plaza Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 Lakeside Drive, Santa Clara, CA 95054   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Santa Clara
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good value, nice extras.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

This hotel is nice for business trips within the Santa Clara region of Silicon Valley. We were there to attend a conference at the Santa Clara Convention Center. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the convention center, as well as to and from the airport. There are probably other places they will take you as well, one morning we rode with a guy they dropped off at the Yahoo building.

You get three drink tickets each night, which is a nice perk. You also get a free cooked-to-order breakfast with a breakfast bar. We dined for dinner there one night. It was ok, better than average hotel food, but nothing to write home about.

Some of the staff was great, some could be a little more friendly. There was one male front desk worker/shuttle driver who, quite frankly, was kind of rude. Most others were great.

There is free wifi in the common areas but not in the rooms. The business center is nice for checking email and has 2 computers with internet access. I noticed a significant slowdown in the internet service in the evening hours. I will say it smells bad - note to management: Change that air freshener! The best I can describe it is "traveling salesman with too much cologne". (Why does a room that small need an air freshener anyway?)

The bed was super comfortable, the housekeeping did a great job and everything was very clean. It's nice having large flat panel TVs in the bedroom and the living area. There is a refrigerator and microwave, as well as a coffee maker in the room.

All in all, the price was very affordable in this area compared to the hotels at the convention center - for a short ride in the morning/evening, you can save big bucks by skipping the Hyatt or the Hilton that are recommended for convention center attendees. There is not much nightlife, but I would imagine most people staying here are on business, not vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    110
    43
    8
    9
See reviews for
80
33
23
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed at the Plaza Suites between December 25th to January 3, 2010, a total of 9 nights. We can honestly say that it was a great experience. The rooms are clean and new. Two TV's in the Suite. Made it great to watch TV at night, while our son was sleeping in the next room. They had a great staff. Very friendly. We had a room overlooking the pool. We did not hear any noise and it was a quite room. The daily breakfast was very adequate. Eggs to order with bacon or sausage etc and buffet. There is no waiter to serve beverages. Self serve for everything, but that did not bother us at all. The hotel was not overcrowded. Parking at no cost. We highly recommend it and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5291 prospect road
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

It was a wonderful experience to stay at the Plaza Suites. The Exterior is beautiful. The rooms were spacious and very clean. I really enjoyed the quality bedding provided. I was very pleasantly surprised what a nice variety the Plaza Bistro provided. The location of the hotel is very convenient for shopping which is what people enjoy doing. I also liked the movie theater, Great America Park being next door. The convenience of the San Jose International Airport being just a few miles away it fantastic. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my customers. By the way the Sales Staff was very helpful. Front Desk Staff provided great customer service as well.

In my opinion this hotel is 4 diamonds.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Pro: Great location and nice touches
Con: Rates were higher than other hotels in area, no free wi fi in room, and not part of a larger hotel chain (loyalty program)
Summary:
Never stayed here before but really glad I did. The King Suite consists of a living / work area, bedroom area, and bath room. The nice touches were separate vanity area with full length mirror, makeup / shaving mirror with magnification, really good dryer (one of the best for hotels), and cook to order breakfast with an additional buffet bar. There was a flat screen TV in the living & bedroom area. Just wished this hotel was part of a larger chain so I could get loyalty points (perks for a business traveler). The fitness room was OK, no individual TV monitors for cardio equipment, just 2 corner mounted TV screens so had to wrench your neck to watch TV without falling off equipment.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Highly recommended. The hotel offers free transport to the Santa Clara Convention Center and the SJC Airport.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waternhorses
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

The room was so nice, and the beds very comfortable. The room was actually nicer than my home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We loved our room at the Plaza Suites - it looked exactly like the hotel photos. Sometimes there's really no point to a suite becuase the walls are so thin that you might as well be in the same room - not the case here. It was nice and quiet so our daughter could sleep while we could watch tv in another room (perfect with her early bedtime!). Decor was updated and the entire hotel was clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Suites

Address: 3100 Lakeside Drive, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Location: United States > California > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Clara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Clara
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Plaza Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Santa Clara
Plaza Hotel Santa Clara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plaza Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.